We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hogmanay”
Review of Birnam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birnam Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Birnam B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Had a great ceilidh here on Hogmanay. The band were great. Food servings were just too much!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
Thank ScotlandElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 291 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

Thanks to the super-friendly staff and the great veggie breakfast this place has gone up hugely in our estimation since our last stay. Even though we still had a blast the last time, some re-furbishment and re-jigging the breakfast means we'll be looking at bumping the nearby Dunkeld Royal in favour of this hotel.

Our twin room had full tea-making facilities, a sink in the room and a the beds were really comfy. As the hotel is directly opposite the road up to Birnam Hill (a slightly steep, but thankfully short hike of less than two hours duration) it makes an ideal hostelry for budding walkers. Also, as it is less than a mile from Dunkeld and its cycle paths and spectacular cathedral, we'd really recommend it to all outdoor types. Also, it was considerably less expensive than our other similar hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank We_are_Ali_and_Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This rather grand looking hotel provided an excellent, reasonably priced night's stay. We booked at a day's notice en route and the hotel matched the cheapest price on booking sites (which was less than the hotel's tariff). The room was pleasant (and I understand it was one of the ones not yet updated), clean and well equipped; the staff we met were very friendly, helpful and efficient (one offered options for our bike - it could either be locked away back of house, or we could take it up to our room if we wanted to. One of us did want to!); we had a decent meal at the hotel's 'inn' next door (I think they also do posher restaurant food), and the breakfast was wonderful - my husband's kipper and my haddock were among the best we have had for a while.
The location is also great - very pleasant, quiet spot - and, overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Lucky to get the last room available as it was a spur of the moment trip. Arrived at the hotel and was met with extremwly friendly reception staff memeber. Given the honeymoon suite at an excellent rate. It was beautiful, with four poster bed as well. Completely pet friendly and made us feel extremely welcome. They even set up a special breakfast area for us as the dog wasn't allowed in the main breakfast area. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Colin Ferrier

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We booked a one night stay here just as a last minute night away before returning to work. The hotel is in a lovely location opposite Beatrix Potter Garden and it has plenty of parking around the hotel as well as a few areas of outside seating. There are nice walks around the hotel and down by the river. We booked for Bed and Breakfast and when we checked in were advised to reserve a table for dinner if we intended eating in the hotel and so after looking at the restaurant menu in our room decided to eat in the hotel. We booked to eat in the restaurant but when we went down for dinner discovered they were only serving in the Scots Bar which had tables set but was a bar and not a restaurant. The food was good although the service was not as we were served 1 starter and about 5 minutes later after some discussion, the other one appeared. No problem with the main course but the menu was slightly different from the restaurant and when I asked for biscuits and cheese for dessert as it was on restaurant menu I was told it was not on theirs so was not served. Breakfast was quite basic. I ordered scrambled egg and got just that although it did say it was served on hot buttered toast but as they had a toast machine they obviously assumed you would just make your own. My husband had the full Scottish and it was adequate. Again the service was not good as there was only one lady serving while we were in.

Room Tip: Room we had was very clean and spacious but toiletries consisted of a bottle of hand wash and a bott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuneandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Very good value for money. A quiet spot which is ideal if you want to chill out away from the world but not so ideal if you need internet and mobile signals ! Clean, comfortable and food of a high quality. Grumpy barman could learn a lot though from his much older colleague Margaret who was extremely helpful, friendly and lots of fun.

Room Tip: Ground floor appears to be refurbished and better quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsguy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Enjoyed my stay and decent location. Good service at the hotel reception. I just felt it was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkd82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birnam
1.3 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
0.5 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,873 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
792 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birnam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birnam Hotel

Address: Birnam Cottage Perth Road, Birnam PH8 0AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Birnam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birnam
Price Range: $59 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Birnam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style,elegance and good old-fashioned Scottish hospitality is what the newly upgraded Birnam Hotel is all about. Located in the stunning Perthshire countryside in the heart of Scotland, the Birnam Hotel is the ideal location. It is well renowned for hosting weddings and large functions in the magnificent Baronial Hall and smaller functions in its many other suites - the Birnam Hotel has it all. A truly warm welcome awaits you at the Birnam Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Birnam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birnam Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing