We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't be a better Christmas vacation”
Review of Fogo Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fogo Island Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Joe Batt's Arm
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“couldn't be a better Christmas vacation”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The response we got telling friends and family we were off to a remote island in northern Newfoundland for the holidays was hilarious, but this proved to be the best decision ever. The friendly atmosphere of the inn, the community of Joe Batt's arm and the island in general absolutely won us over. During our 3 night stay we did not have a moment to be bored; activities and special events were offered continually (all included in the price of our stay, too). We had a full tour of the inn, and learned its history and that of its parent charity; a full-day, highly informative tour of the 4 artists' studios (which also included some great hiking in the snow & terrific exercise!); a snowmobile trip into a pond "cabin" with gourmet lunch and gorgeous, peaceful snowshoeing; stockings with our names hung "by the chimney with care" on Christmas eve (and filled with treats Christmas morning); and the highlight of all, an authentic/historic "mummering" experience the evening of Boxing Day. Add to that chef Murray's terrific food (lots, and lots of food) and our room with its perfect sea and village views, soaker bath and woodstove - oh, and the private sauna on the roof - plus the fun we had on the transfers to and from Gander - and it was the best of a vacation all rolled up with the best of a "family" Christmas. I would highly recommend a winter, and especially a holiday, stay!

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view, and they are all unique. The pricier rooms come with more space, wood...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cantravnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper C, General Manager at Fogo Island Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Cantravnut,
Thank you for your review. Wonderful to have had you spend Christmas with us. It's great to hear that the friendly atmosphere of the Inn, the Joe Batt's community and the Island in general "won you over". Your review truly captures all that we have to over in the winter and over Christmas and New Years. Best wishes, David Curell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    15
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
205
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have stayed 5 stars from LA to New york to Dubai our bill for two nights was almost 2,000$. You cant compare the Inn to anything in NL so you have to comapre it to property's world wide and the location is nice but the rooms are not near as fancy or have the ameties of other 5 stars still a nice place but over priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank compguy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper C, Manager at Fogo Island Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
"Dear Compguy125,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review from your visit last September. We're glad you recognized that our experience should be compared with other like world-wide properties. We've noted your comments and do feel our rates which include accommodation, all meals, and gratuities do provide great value on a global scale. Feel free to reach me at ambassador@fogoislandinn.ca"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A January morning is a perfect time to go for a snowshoe tromp along the shore, to ponder the interaction of waves, ice, and rocks, and to feel small beside the power of the North Atlantic Ocean. A January afternoon is ideal for sampling the intriguing library beside a cozy wood fire. Any evening it is a treat to dine on the muti-courses that chef Murray has created from local foods. The Fogo Island Inn is the unique and memorable creation that makes all of this possible. The architecture, design and furnishings leave no doubt that something important has been accomplished here. The meals alone would make this a foodie destination. The welcome and attention we received from the warm and friendly staff knitted everything together.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper C, General Manager at Fogo Island Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear FMW2014,
We appreciate your review and visit during our first winter season. I have to admit the snow-shoe experiences have been amazing along with the sights of the ice formations and "slob ice" as is slides in and out of the coves and harbours. So glad you enjoyed the literary collection in our library, and even more rewarding are your comments about our friendly staff and creative cuisine.....Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We were called "crazy" by our friends and family for going to Newfoundland in December. After a 5 night stay in the dazzlingly beautiful Fogo Island Inn, we think you are crazy if you don't go in the winter! Every turn, inside and outside of the Inn, had a refined wonderment to it. Each moment, from beginning to end, was spectacular. From the first glimpse of the surreal visual of the Inn that overlooks the North Atlantic, to the super warm reception of the staff upon arrival, to the interior of the elevator and then, to settle into a warm, immaculate, cozy room, confirmed that our decision to come all this way was correct. My wife and I amused ourselves by pointing out the obvious and sometimes not so obvious sensitivity to the detail that imbued the inn, the staff, the decor. We loved the mouth watering menu by Murray McDonald, the chef, who takes great pride in describing to you, in wonderful detail, what part of the island the food is from and how it is prepared. There is a gem of an art gallery inside the Inn that had on display a challenging exhibition for even this NYC gallery goer. The waves crashing on the rocks just outside the Inn, the scurrying red fox, the bald eagle hovering outside our window and the caribou crossing in front of us seemed typical for this place. Our Christmas week stay included a few feasts, a few live musicians, mixing with the locals, drinking some strong eggnog, Christmas morning breakfast in bed, individualized hand made stockings over the fireplace filled with gifts from the island and voluntary participation in a fun, traditional and social event called Mummering. The Fogo Island Inn is an experiment in civility and celebration. A unique concoction of old and new. It has set an unknown course for itself into the future. It would be wise for travelers looking for an Earth experience to jump aboard.
See you in another season Fogo!
PS I highly recommend taking a tour (free of course) to see the extreme architectural artist studios around the island.

Room Tip: Room 9 and 22(?) have views on three sides. All the rooms look over the North Atlantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper C, General Manager at Fogo Island Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hello Lawrence,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your Christmas week experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. Thank you!
I'm so pleased you were able to enjoy so much of what we have to offer. The holiday and winter season are a special time here and we, too, think one is crazy not to visit us in the winter, but we are so glad you're thinking to visit us again in another season. In the meantime....safe travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

What an absolutely spectacular jaw-dropping spot!! Have you been? If not, get on it!!...This is an experience all lives-well-lived need to make happen!

For those of you who travel with; a love of fine aesthetics both indoor and out; a desire to tap into local communities to get a flavour of "real-life"; to eat local cuisine; to try new foods (newfoundland cuisine - to live for!); to meet local woman, men and families who are willing to share their memorable life stories wrapped in a big warm smile; to connect with fellow travellers/new friends from all over the globe; to touch different weather patterns all within the same day; to meet artists steeped in their craft, and to do this without compromising an ounce of luxury - wow, Fogo Island Inn is a destination to put on the bucket list and to visit over and over again.

Congratulations to all of you who have created this incredible spot. Bravo!

Room Tip: I had an opportunity to view a number of rooms and will say that all are unique and spectacular! I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper C, General Manager at Fogo Island Inn, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Safrata,
Thanks for your review. So glad you appreciated our "Jaw Dropping" location, "the fine aesthetics" and the "ability to tap into the local communities". We agree you'll want to visit over and over again, and at least experience more of our seven seasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Fogo Island Inn is nothing short of magical! From being greeted by Make 'n Brake, the resident Newfoundland dogs, to the most sublime view on the planet, not to mention the amazing staff whose humour and hospitality are outdone only by their generosity and charm. My stay was truly fantastic and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aurora552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper C, General Manager at Fogo Island Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Aurora552013,
Thanks for your review. So glad to hear your experience was magical. What you felt is similar to what many guests have enjoyed during and after their visit. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed with friends in November for three nights during gale-force winds and driving rain. The weather was challenging but exuberant, more than compensated for by absolutely outstanding, friendly service, where just about every need was anticipated and more than met. Intriguing world class meals with local ingredients; calming, inspiring interiors with pops of colour from beautifully locally made mats, cushions, quilts, and more; knowledgable and welcoming staff -- the best you will find anywhere. A lovely treat of a stay in the midst of the darker days of autumn, well described by other reviewers. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have outstanding views of the ocean, with waves crashing not far from the floor to ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LRR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper C, General Manager at Fogo Island Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear LRR_11,
Our location on the Labrador Current in the North Atlantic does provide for some exciting and exuberant weather during the fall season. We're so pleased you found great comfort inside with our service, architecture and "calming and inspiring" decor. Thanks so much your visit and review. Come back again in one of the other seven seasons here on Fogo Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fogo Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fogo Island Inn

Property: Fogo Island Inn
Address: 210 Main Road, Joe Batt's Arm, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 2X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Fogo Island > Joe Batt's Arm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Joe Batt's Arm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fogo Island Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fogo Island Inn sits on an Island, off an Island, off one of the four corners of the Earth. Every one of our 29 one-of-a-kind guest suites has dramatic floor-to-ceiling windows that open onto the wildest and most powerful ocean on the planet, located less than 100 feet from your organic natural-fibre dream bed. Most suites have a wood burning fireplace stove; all are furnished with quiet luxuries and handmade furniture and quilts - a stimulating relief from the numbing uniformity of modern times. Built on the principles of sustainability and respect for nature and culture, the award-winning Inn belongs to the community. And all surpluses from the operation are reinvested in the community to help secure a long-lasting resilience for Fogo Island, Newfoundland.Accolades: Travel + Leisure Global Vision Award, Culture, 2013.EnRoute Magazine Canada's Best New Restaurants, 2013.TIAC National Cultural Tourism Award, 2013. Tatler Travel Style with Soul Award, 2013.Architectural Digest Ten Daring New Buildings Around the World, 2013.Travel + Leisure It List, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fogo Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing