We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, beautiful island”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joe Batt's Arm
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quintal House Heritage Guest Home
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, beautiful island”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked here based on the good Trip Advisor reviews and also the fact that it was a renovated house that looked really pretty. We weren't disappointed. The place is beautiful, the rooms beautifully appointed with sea glass, shells, and tons of art on the walls. Our only regret was that we were just there one night--we definitely wished we were staying longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gimli, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Quintal House in July 2013. The house is beautiful and in a great location. Nadine was extremely friendly and helpful and even allowed us to use her washer and dryer which we desperately needed. Our room had a great view of the water and town, was clean and the bed was comfortable. The B & B feels like a home and Nadine gives you free run of the place. Breakfast is self catering but we decided to head out early and skip breakfast. We would highly recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Quintal House is a historic home beautifully restored by Nadine, who is full of knowledge and stories about the island, and one of the kindest people I have ever met. We enjoyed the self-catering nature of the house, and made not only our breakfasts but also a dinner while we were there. The house feels much more like a home than an inn, and there is always someone to chat with in the kitchen, along with all-day snacks and treats. The lack of televisions creates a peaceful atmosphere and engenders conversation. The availability of a washer and dryer is an added bonus. Steps away from Nicole's restaurant and close to the Fogo Island Inn, this is an ideal location to explore Fogo Island.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the most comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Quintal House, in Room #1. Perfectly wonderful to sample Nadine's well-stocked kitchen for breakfast whenever we were ready. We made great use of the sitting room, and enjoyed meeting the other guests who were staying with Nadine. Nadine herself is extremely friendly, and we learned so much about Fogo Island from our chats and the books she shared. Also appreciated the use of Nadine's washer-dryer. All in all, excellent accommodation, and worth the extra dollars for our two night stay. We wouold definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room #1 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne and Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

After exploring the other communities on the island we were please that we chose this lovely B and B in Joe Batt's Arm run by the charming Nadine. Shamus the Irish setter is available for a belly rub is you need a pet fix. We enjoyed the self catering aspect as it allowed us to eat as we pleased. We also took advantage of Nadine's offer to use the washer /dryer, much appreciated while undertaking a long trip. The town has the best restaurant ( Nicole's), an ice cream shop ( Growler's), a historic home to tour (Brett House), a frame shop ( Wall Works), Hart House Museum and Crafts, and a new craft shop in the restored Orange lodge. The Auk walk trail begins at the community park. You can tour the new Fogo Island Inn and have a meal there, too. The heritage town of Tilting with Dwyer's Premises, the old Post office etc is only 10 minutes over the hill...stop at Sandy Cove beach on the way in. Tilting was our favorite spot on Fogo Island.

Room Tip: room 1 is the largest but beware the 2 set of steps to the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Two thumbs up on an excellent stay at Quintal House. We preferred Quintal's House's location in Joe Batt's Arm to other B&B locations in the village of Fogo.

We surprisingly loved the self-service breakfast approach at Quintal House. Using items from the full-stocked fridge and pantry, we were able to make an excellent breakfast consisting of eggs, oatmeal, fruit, etc.

The proprietor, Nadine, is an encyclopedia of knowledge on Fogo Island, its history, its hear-and-now, and made our stay a comfortable one. Her hospitable approach is perfect for the B&B business.

We liked the room we were given and I felt the bed was among the best I've slept in at hotels/inns/bed & breakfasts.

Two thumbs up recommendation

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabbagetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My brother and I had the pleasure of a week long stay at this beautiful bed and breakfast. Nadine the owner made us feel right at home. We were the only guest so it was like having our own place. We are returning to Fogo Island for work soon and hope to be able to stay at Quintal house again. We would strongly recommend Quintal house to any visitors to Fogo Island as a great home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quintal House Heritage Guest Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintal House Heritage Guest Home

Property: Quintal House Heritage Guest Home
Address: 153 Main Road | PO Box 240, Joe Batt's Arm, Newfoundland and Labrador A0G 2X0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Fogo Island > Joe Batt's Arm
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Joe Batt's Arm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintal House is a beautifully restored historic community structure whose original construction dates back to the mid 1800’s. The traditional heritage character and simple elegance of the house is accented with antique and modern functional furnishings and local artisan and craft pieces. This 3-story Heritage Guest Home currently has 3 rooms available, all with serene harbour front views. The house has a warm, ageless and charming character, tastefully decorated with a mix of old world charm and new modern comforts. All rooms have comfortable beds and are equipped with private baths for guest convenience. Quintal House offers quiet, calm, peaceful surroundings in a private, relaxing setting that is family friendly with both indoor and outdoor activities for the young and the young at heart. Situated in the heart of this quaint, picturesque fishing community, Quintal House is located next to Nicole’s Cafe, featuring fine traditional dining and cuisine, Wall Works local artisan shop and Growlers homemade ice cream shop. The Guest House is also located within short walking distance to the local boat dock and boat tour operations, Brett House Museum, traditional foot trails, berry picking patches and other community attractions such as coastal walking trails and remote artisan studios. Within short driving distance to beautiful Sandy Cove Beach and the Registered Heritage Community/District of Tilting, an Irish heritage community offering interpretive museums and scenic hiking trails. Located within the Labrador current from the North, Fogo Island’s geography is responsible for the parade of ice floe and icebergs that make their way South in the spring and early summer months along the Island’s North East Coast, allowing great views of these massive icebergs in spring and early summer months. An occasional winter visit to the Island by the great polar bear from the North, as well as frequent encounters in any season with the local caribou herd can be expected. An array of wildlife, waterfowl, plant life and berries can also be found on the Island. Breathtaking ocean shorelines and spectacular sunsets and sunrises are the geography and art lessons to be experienced here. Go beach combing on our shoreline, pick some berries, enjoy some hiking, take a boat tour, but most importantly meet some of our friendly locals who have a knack for ‘spinning a yarn’ (having a chat). Enjoy high quality entertainment, as these same Island locals have a unique musical and theatrical gift that is showcased at many of the on-going music festivals and theatrical events hosted throughout the year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing