We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night in Costa Rica - So didn't know what to expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Bay Village, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First night in Costa Rica - So didn't know what to expect”
Reviewed February 27, 2010

After a two hour trip through the cloud forest from San Jose Airport, we were not expecting the bumpy rocky gravel road. We scheduled this location because it was in the book "1000 Places To Go Before You Die". The book was correct. Although it was raining in the rain forest, it was an absolutely beautiful location. After checking in, you drive through a shallow river to your individual cottage. The cottages have no phones or TV's which was absolutely perfect for us. Also, your Blackberry will not work here... again, ok with us as our vacation was to get away from work.

Carlos Salazaar cooked a wonderful steak dinner for us. Since we were one of three couples there at that time it was very intimate. In the morning we woke up to sounds of the toucans and had a traditional Costa Rican breakfast, which was also excellent. The service from the entire staff was excellent and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohioaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainf0rest, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Our nature as it's best for you!
We are grateful with you, for recommended us. As always, our place is running great, but, you have to see the work that we have made in order to improve it. Totally breathtaking!
Our arms are wide open toward you, we are happy making friends every day.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    114
    38
    11
    13
See reviews for
149
265
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Bosques de Chachagua for two nights and loved every minute of it. Yes, it's 30 minutes away from touristy La Fortuna, and yes, the 3K road to the hotel is rough (although we did it with a regular sedan with no problems), but that is the whole point. The idea is to be in the rain forest and to be up close to nature and it succeeds wonderfully in this regard. A couple previous reviewers commented on the difficulty in getting here and some bug bites (although the reviewer said she never saw bugs). I would respond by saying that you are in a rainforest and should expect some of that.
We thought the rustic yet modern bungalows were great, with plenty of space, including a huge covered deck for lounging. Even better was Carlos and the friendly staff who treated us so well while we were there. The food at the restaurant is good, which is important since you tend to have to eat here because of the remote location. The food isn't necessarily cheap but the setting that you're eating in is spectacular.
Finally, a couple random notes:
Don't let the slightly worn look of the entrance (part of it is a working farm too) deter you. Once you get to the grounds where the bungalows are, everything is beautiful and manicured.
We had no bugs to speak of and the rooms, while not air-conditioned, were more than tolerable temperature-wise.
My wife left her bag with cash and passport in the hotel restaurant... it was promptly returned to her by the staff.
It is a little quiet at the Hotel Bosques de Chachagua. We hope this is because of the environment and the separate bungalows and not because of any lack of business. We hope they are doing well because it's such a unique environment to stay in.
In our two weeks of traveling around Costa Rica, Hotel Bosques de Chachagua was our favorite accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CircusBoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainf0rest, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for your review about us.
Sure, our place is located into the tropical rainforest, that's why we are listed as '1000 places to see before you die'. Besides, our goal is to involve our guest into a real Costa Rican experience, that makes us different from the others! We are absolutely agree with you.
Here we are, waiting for your next visit. We'll be glad to show you the remodeled Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

I was bymyself and it is an ideal place to disconnect from daily routines and city rush. The hotel is fantastic for those who love nature and do not mind being away from everything.
I arrived with a rented car, the instructions were correct. Is only 30 minutes away from Arenal area.
Nature in everywere, horses are friendly and funny!!!
The swimming pool is fild with natural water, no chemicals, it is emptied and cleaned once a week. When I arrive a man was cleaning it and it was realy fresh the next morning.
If not raining the sky is beautiful, you can clearly see the stars.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIMUSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainf0rest, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you!
You are absolutely right, if the sky is clear, you'll see the stars, but, if not clear, any ways you'll see them all: Each and every one of our guest! You are the real stars for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saginaw, MI
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We found this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews around the La Fortuna area. Previously stated is the fact that it is a $20 cab ride each way and is NOT near the town, nor did some cab drivers even know where/ what it was. Our cab from Fortuna did not make it all the way to Chachagua as the road was VERY bumpy and he could not get the cab up the deep road ruts and steep incline. We had to get out with our luggage and would have had a very long walk had a delivery truck not happened by that offered us a ride ($60 US) the rest of the way. This place is very remote and there is a lot of wildlife to see, they have a farm and lots of nature for you to photograph. When we were there there was a whole group of birdwatchers and guide and they had a great time.

We had a cute cabin, as stated before, no A/C no TV, which I knew going in. I was bitten by something at night (bedbugs) and the welts and sores left by whatever it was itched terribly for the rest of our vacation. Went to a pharmacy and got some ointment, but this was a disappointing addition to our trip. Cabins have open floorboards and many ways for insects to access the room. Did not SEE any bugs in the room, but in the bathroom they would congregate around the shower and stool. Kind of unnerving, and we camp a lot in the US and expected a certain element of "roughing it" for this portion of our vacation. The bites were very unsightly and continued itching for several months after we returned to the states.

The restaurant was very good and there was a bar right next to the pool that did not get a lot of traffic. This is not a place for partiers; it gets quiet after dinner hours and that was a good thing. They close the gate way out at the entrance at 11 PM so if you are in Fortuna and plan to come back late you must tell them otherwise you will get dropped off by your cab and have a LONG walk into the property from the service "road". I cannot stress enough, these roads are DIRT and they are difficult to navigate. Prepare for a bumpy and jostling ride each time you want to go back and forth to Fortuna.

You can horseback ride for very reasonable rates but the guides and the horses speak Spanish only so if you want to have an informative tour you should be bilingual in order to take advantage of the explanations of the sights. Also, the trails are somewhat advanced and if you do not understand basic commands this can get very frustrating.

They have a very nice pool which also was not crowded but at the same time it was not very clean either. We were there 3 nights and I got out there early in the AM and never saw anyone maintaining it. Same for the cabins, it seemed like they might have quite a few that are not rented on a regular basis.

Took LOTS of pictures this place was amazing for scenery etc.
They have ponds, tons of wildlife, and it is a beautiful ranch setting at the edge of the forest. This aspect did not disappoint.

Breakfast every day was very good, and there were LOTS of birds (TOUCANS) eating the fruit the staff put out right next to the table area.

Would recommend for people who have time to do several types of CR destinations but it is very remote so once you are there you are basically forced to take advantage of their meals, etc if you want to eat. These are added to your bill and you pay when you check out. We were supprised by the large tab we had at checkout, but it was difficult to look back over 4 days of charges and dispute anything. Booking over the internet was somewhat difficult, and took MANY e mails to straighten out, as you pay through a 3rd party and cannot confirm your reservation with the hotel itself. We would have cancelled after the first night or so if it was possible, but we could not get any money back as we already gave our credit card #. Also, we booked a cab for our final departure with the reception desk, which had limited English as well, with a specific time to depart, and it was over 2 hours late and it seemed that maybe the reservation was not made in the first place. I realize when visiting a foreign country one cannot expect everyone to cater to English speaking people, but the majority of the guests were US and Canadian,. so it would make sense to have someone on hand that could communicate with us.

Overall if you are an adventurous type and love nature and don't mind being far from all the action, this place might be for you!

  • Liked — Abundance of Nature and Wildlife
  • Disliked — Misled about how far it was to Fortuna; bed bugs
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank goodbyemoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainf0rest, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you so much, your review was very important for us, and we made some changes in all of the items you had have mentioned.
Moreover, our rooms were remodeled, the horses are much nicer, and now we have a bilingual naturalist tour guide giving the tours that we offer.
Our guest nowadays are so happy, please check the newest reviews, and, we can say that all of the improvements we have made are because of you and your comments.
Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I stayed at this hotel because it was Lonely Planet's choice for a Top End hotel. I will say the folks at the Hotel are incredibly sweet and very helpful -- but, it's too bad the hotel is in the shape it's in. The hotel may have been beautiful in its day, but it felt run down. The cabins are cute, but the problem is that the bathroom floorboards are not sealed to allow drainage, which means that creepy crawlies can come into your room -- which they did in our case. The cabins also do not have AC, which means you will bake in the day time, and may feel uncomfortably warm at night. Also, the bathroom windows have no curtains and people can see in while you shower depending on the time of day -- yikes!
If you don't have a car, you shouldn't stay here. A cab costs $20 each way, and it will 1 add hour to your day just in commuting from La Fortuna. We didn't factor the extra $40 per day into our budget, so it was quite a surprise.
I think this hotel is overpriced for what it is, and would advise people to stay elsewhere if they are looking to mainly do activities in La Fortuna.

  • Liked — Service. Staff was incredibly friendly!
  • Disliked — Location!!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank karla0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainf0rest, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thanks a lot!
Now, because of the recent remodelation, Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda looks better than ever!
We invite you to check the pictures on our web site, and, also, the recent reviews from our clients.
We are waiting for your visit, amigos, we are sure that you will love the new Chachagua!
Thank you for your comment, that help us in order to be better and better, for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

For those going to Arenal and wanting to stay somewhere different and the beaten path, this place is for you.

My wife and I recently stayed here for five nights, based on the positive review provided by the Lonely Planet. The the hotel is really more of a private reserve than a traditional hotel, as its about three kilometers off the main road into La Fortuna, so this gives it a really private feel. However the road to access the hotel is pretty rough, and you'll definitely want a four wheel drive.

If you are staying here, make sure you request one of the Cabana's and confirm that you will be staying one. When we arrived, we actually put in one of the few "rooms" they have, and to be honest it was not great. However, after speaking with the Hotel Management, they agreed to move us to a Cabana for the remaining four nights of our stay, which was incredible. If you get a chance, request #11, which was the cabana we stayed in and in my opinion it was a bit nicer than the others...my opinion. However, if you are going to stay here, just be sure to confirm that you will be staying in a cabana...I can't stress this fact enough.

The hotel has all you basic ammentities...restaurant, bar, etc., but the greatest thing about this place is its remoteness and connectedness with nature.

I will say that Chachagua is about 15 drive into Fortuna, and combined with the rough road you need to traverse to access and leave the hotel, the whole ride takes around 30 minutes. With this being said, if you are going to stay here, I would highly recommend that you rent a car, as its off the beaten path, and because of this fact, you need to be a little more self-relaint than if you were staying right in Fortuna or directly around Arenal. However, we found renting a car was one of the best things we could have done and were glad we did. Additionally, we actually liked the fact we were not right in Fortuna and Arenal.

All in all, this hotel is more for the "traveler" than the "vacationer", but if you do stay here I think you'll really enjoy it...we sure did.

  • Liked — Remote, Rain Forest Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greece06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainf0rest, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Sure, this is the place for the nature's lovers!
And, so far, this is exactly why more and more people like us.
But, for sure, watching the changes we made on the rooms and the improvements on our staff, people see the reason we are listed as '1000 Places To See Before You Die'
Thank you for visited us, we enjoyed every moment with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2007

This is a real find. You will not experience anything like this in Costa Rica. Tucked away and deep into the rain forest this resort is on a very large ranch. When you arrive you are welcomed by smiles the resident cat and the resident dog. Everyone goes beyond what customer service is all about. The rooms are large and more than adequate for what you will experience here. The bird life is the best. A beautiful pool, bar and restaurant. The food at the restaurant is great and they will make anything you desire if they have the supplies. If you need to get laundry done they have these services. We loved this special find and it is worth going off the main road to get to.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Taupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainf0rest, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you very much!
You are wonderfull too!
Regards from every one here, including the resident cat and dogs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chachagua
1.9 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
244 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
9.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
819 reviews
5.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,323 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge

Property: Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge
Address: | La Fortuna. Arenal Volcano National Park., Chachagua 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Chachagua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to surpass your expectations of a positive interaction with the rain forest, pampered by the friendliest local staff and with fantastic organic food production highlighted with extraordinary cuisine. Rest and relax or experience all you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel And Hacienda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing