We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the thick of the rainforest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I had a living social deal which included one off-site and one on-site activity. As others have written, this hotel is about 20 minutes from town, 8 of which are on typical terrible unpaved Costa Rica roads. Hospitable, clean, friendly. Let you borrow for free big golf umbrellas, golashes, walking stick, rain ponchos. Off-site activities thru a great company...if you're going to do more than one check prices to have hotel pay for more expensive one. Highly recommend the waterfall rapelling and hanging bridges tour. We were a little unhappy that they only had one horse for the on-site activity of horseback riding and they wouldn't credit us since we couldn't go as a family like we wanted. They said we could choose another activity, but they were day-hike which we do plenty of on our own, nite hike which we weren't interested in since you only see frogs, lizards and snakes. Did see toucans from our deck one morning. Breakfast was wonderful. Had dinner there one night, it was fine, but we prefer to get out and experience different places. Four nights for my family of 4 with 2 teenagers was one night too many....and we left the property every day in search of a new adventure. GPS took us straight to hotel from San Jose airport, would not have found it w/out GPS (one that's programmed in the country). Hotel got a little pricy after taxes and the $25 per person (for each of my 2 kids) per day extra charge.

Room Tip: Rainforest bungalow was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne15066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 581 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

I took my younger sister here for her birthday and I have to say all the accommodations were truly amazing. We did the night hike am horseback tours and found them to be very fun and David to be informative with answers to all our questions. He was very generous and we appreciated the entire experience from everyone at the hotel. There are so many trails and adventures to be had here, so don't miss it!!! Best spot to stay in Costa Rica hands down.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A beautiful hotel/lodge located in a private forest. There are 4 rooms with private baths to each building. Corner rooms had a picture window over the bed which brought light into the room. The bathroom had huge picture windows to view the forest while taking a shower. Nice toiletries were offered. Rooms had AC. The gardens contained trees and plants with beautiful flowers and there is a waterfall on the property as well as a stable. The pool is of good size and next to the building that contained the bar and restaurant. Best food during the trip! The service was excellent.

there was only 1 other family present during our stay so it was very quiet and private. Not sure if it was due to our stay during the wet season.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank koabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our family have stayed in Chachagua from July 28 though August 1st. It was our first time in Costa Rica. We were very impressed with the jungle grounds of the hotel. Especially, our huge thanks to David Barboza, the tour giude in Chachagua hotel. He is one of the most pleasant, educated , and nicest tour giudes we had in Costa Rica. He guided us though the imazing night walk. Without him we would not be able to spot all those animals and insects. Also, my eight year old son have decided to take a horse ride lesson as well. Thanks to David, now my son loves to continue his horse riding lessons back home. We had absolutely wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in July 2014. I found the staff friendly, but not all that accommodating. When we checked in, the resort was empty. They refused to move us to a king bed room because it would be a premium room and I didn't want to pay. Give me a break! Once we checked in, we had to carry our luggage down the hill, over the bridge, up a hill, up the stairs and around back, REALLY.... You would think at a premium resort like this one, they would have a vehicle to at least bring our luggage the could of thousand feet. Also, you really should have an SUV to get there. The last 10+ minutes of your drive is down a path (I can't call it a road), which will not allow travel above 10 miles an hour.

The food was 3 stars, the room was probably 4 stars, the staff was 3 stars. What saves this place is that it truly is in a spectacular location.

Room Tip: Good luck on that one. Make sure you request a room that does not overlook another room. Ours had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This place is beautiful. It's in the middle of the rainforest, so insect repellant is a must. The staff is amazing, I really enjoyed coming here. I went on a horseback ride ( one of the on sight activities), the view was incredible. you get to see Costa Ricas back country. Very cool. But it is very far away from anything. Quiet, not a lot going on. just FYI, I'm younger so this wasn't my scene but great for families and couples.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelcity87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We loved Chachagua Rainforest Hotel! We had a tough time finding it with the GPS (coordinates didn't work for us), but a friendly man on the main street helped us get there. I can't imagine getting there without 4-wheel drive, especially with the rain, as the road is quite bumpy. However, the property is absolutely beautiful, and the private cabina was lovely and comfortable.

We did want to visit La Fortuna and Arenal while in the area, so it was a bit inconvenient as far as driving the 20-30 minutes into town, but if you just want to stay on the property, there is lots to do- horseback riding, fishing, swimming, eating/drinking, hiking, etc. The woman at the front desk was helpful when we asked her questions, and she arranged a white water rafting experience for us, recommended restaurants in town, etc. Great for couples and those small families who don't need to stay in town. I would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LimaBean1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chachagua
1.9 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#11 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
265 reviews
9.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,091 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#24 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
888 reviews
5.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,402 reviews
9.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge

Address: | La Fortuna. Arenal Volcano National Park., Chachagua, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > Chachagua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Price Range: $85 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to surpass your expectations of a positive interaction with the rain forest, pampered by the friendliest local staff and with fantastic organic food production highlighted with extraordinary cuisine. Rest and relax or experience all you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel And Hacienda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing