We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is another review raving about this location. The lodge area is beautiful and the rooms are well kept. The only sounds are those of nature. This isn't a volcano lodge so don't expect those views but it's excellent in all other ways.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room but if you might want a room close to the restaurant if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    114
    38
    11
    13
See reviews for
149
265
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel was so different - the rooms were surrounded by wildlife, the pool was one of the coldest on our journey, fed by water straight from a spring. You could hear my breath leave my body when I first jumped in , but it was wonderful and I swam every day. We decks outside our rooms ended up as quite a place to gather and we had many a good drink and conversation there. Loved the detail of towels folded cleverly daily like cute little animals - elephants, swans etc. Good food here, eaten outdoors under a roof and very fresh. Rooms big and comfortable beds. Worth the trip up the dirt road.

Room Tip: You have to walk here to your rooms, so if you want to be lower down the hill ask for room with numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micheleielliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from an OAT tour of Costa Rica where we stayed in about six different places and by far this one was our favorite. The road in is a challenge, but one that is well worth the trip. You must cross a creek to enter the compound which is deep in a rainforest. Besides all the flora and fauna of the rainforest this hotel also has a farm with horses, goats, sheep, geese, pigs etc. The bungalow that we had which I believe is standard was spacious rustic and clean. Attached to our large room and very large bath was a lovely porch with couch, rocking chair, hammock and small dry bar with stools. The breakfast buffet and dinners were very good as was the room service. The staff very friendly and helpful. This would be an ideal place for a family or a honeymoon couple. Very romantic and secluded. A peaceful and beautiful place to get back to nature.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Washington
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lovely landscaping and opportunity to birdwatch. Our rooms were amazing! We had views of the trees from all our windows, including the shower! We were greeted with towels folded up as a heart with flowers decorating them as well. The deck in front of our room begged us to sit and relax. Wifi was available all over the grounds, including to our room, altho they say it is only available in the restaurant and reception. Great furnishings in the rooms and restaurant. This was my favorite hotel on my trip.

Room Tip: We had a corner room so the shower had a window on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We loved chachagua!! It is a little off the beaten path (about 15 mins from the center of town) but we loved that it was not as touristy. The rooms (cabins) were lovely but our hot water was not very hot. We went on a rainforest hike with Christian and it was incredible!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katfwhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Very secluded, quite spectacular and lovely. The hotel isn't necessarily the best base for exploring the Arenal region because it is fairly south of La Fortuna and the volcano (and the 2 km rock road from the main road is truly abysmal!) but when you are there, it is truly heavenly. Good restaurant, wonderful nature walks on the property (including toucan and hummingbird sightings) - you really feel like you are away from it all. Yet the bungalows are quite comfortable and fairly luxurious, considering the seclusion. It was a great way to start our vacation to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel. If you require all of the latest technology at your fingertips in order to enjoy your stay, this is NOT the hotel for you. On the other hand, if you appreciate incredible landscaping, toucans overhead, and quiet serenity, you will LOVE this hotel. The room (and bath) are huge, and the additional covered porch makes it feel even larger. The pool area is gorgeous, and the onsite restaurant is open-air, making it an especially unique and lovely setting.

The entire staff was warm, friendly, and professional. Anything we needed, it was taken care of within just a few minutes. As an added bonus, this hotel is part of a working ranch, so if you love animals/gardens, you'll be in absolute heaven. While there, we visited baby piglets, chickens, horses, ponds, banana orchards, riverbeds, and even petted the resident farm dog.

Of all the places we visited, this is the one we would absolutely come back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow near the creek/ponds. They offer an unobstructed view of incredible gardens and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chachagua
1.9 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
244 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
9.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
821 reviews
5.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,323 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge

Property: Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge
Address: | La Fortuna. Arenal Volcano National Park., Chachagua 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Chachagua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to surpass your expectations of a positive interaction with the rain forest, pampered by the friendliest local staff and with fantastic organic food production highlighted with extraordinary cuisine. Rest and relax or experience all you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel And Hacienda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing