We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emaciated horses! Don't ride here” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Emaciated horses! Don't ride here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

A terrible end to a disappointing stay. First off we arrived early with only a few hours sleep because we had a tour booked, it was cancelled when we arrived. We were told the cancelled tour would be combined with our tour the following morning. The tours are about 2 hours each so I assumed we would be out for around 4 hours, totally ok with us. We were brought back to the lodge after only 1.5 hours and told the tour was done?? In the afternoon we had a tour booked to the volcano and hot springs. We were picked up at 2:20, right in time. When we asked what time we would be returning to the lodge he told us 10pm, it would have been nice if someone at the resort could have mentioned this so we could have planned on being away for 6 hours. The volcano tour was good, enjoyed the house and saw some animals along the way. The hot springs was, well, disgusting. Big hot pool full of drunks shouting obscenities, not the serene relaxing experience we were expecting and definitely not the kind of place suitable to take our young daughter. We called the tour company to come back and pick us up immediately, couldn't get out of there fast enough. So on our last morning we were looking forward to a nice horse back ride to the next town. I was horrified when the presented 4 evacuated horses, I cried when I saw them with their bones sticking out and looking sad. I refused to get on and am now back at my cabin letting everyone know that this place is not what it pretends to be! With the amount of $$ we spent to come here they could at the very least feed their animals. On a positive note the staff are very nice and attentive, but the good does not in this case outweigh the bad.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OakBayFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChachaguaHotel, Director General at Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Valued Customer:

Thank you kindly for your comments and criticism about two issues that made your stay at our hotel less than satisfactory and definitely less than we procure in trying to exceed our clients expectations. Many times, as Manager, I don't get all the feedback that I like and therefore your comments help us focus on areas we need to improve on.

With respect to the horses, I was very surprised to hear your comments, as we have not had one single complaint on this issue in the past. However, that doesn't mean that your comments are not valid. I immediately went to check on our horses as we have a veterinarian who comes by every other week to check up on the horses, provides us with vitamin supplements, etc., The doctor thinks they are all in good shape and attributes your bad impression to the fact that the horse had diarrhea on that day and so he looked like it, but the horse handler had not noticed. We take our responsibility for all the animals on our farm very seriously and will continue to do so in the future, with even more attention paid to the horses on the basis of your comments. We do apologize for the situation you went through, but you can rest assured that it was just an out of ordinary moment. We would like to invite you, as our guest, any time in the future you would like to come and check them out again.

With respect to the situation on the tour, as you know that is in the hands of a third party and, even though we have never had this problem in the past, we have made the management aware of it and we are sure they have taken the necessary corrective steps.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to make us aware of these things and we hope the entire experience of Costa Rica was a great one for you.

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    105
    34
    11
    10
See reviews for
124
221
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent Thanksgiving week at Chachagua, and loved every minute of it. All of the employees were super nice, helpful and accommodating. A piece of our rental car started dragging the ground, and a maintenance worker repaired it for us. Christian was the best - so knowledgeable about the area and hosted a great night-time hike around the property. Allan at the front desk was great about booking a canopy tour for us. The indoor/outdoor bathrooms were fun. Make sure to have the resort GPS coordinates - we would have never found the place without them! Would come back a thousand times and highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had bungalows 101 and 102. We are concerned at first about being right at the beginning of the p...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Can't beat the location! Cristian, the nature guide, is like a jungle whisperer. He is very knowledgable can spot birds in trees 300 yards away! There are some small, minor inconveniences, like the limited menu choices and the lack of sealant in the rooms, allowing some bugs to get in. Overall, a spectacular experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sin_receta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was an absolutely wonderful experience. We came here with my two children, 9 and 13 years old and we absolutely loved it.The staff is very friendly and most of them speak good English. The hotel is gorgeous, both elegant and natural, overlooking a beautiful river and surrounded by lush rainforest and pastures. The bungalows are extremely nice, roomy and very comfortable. The pool (spring water, nice!) and restaurant are perfect to chill and relax after a day of hiking. Location is very convenient, close to Fortuna and many many hikes and activities (the ziplining arranged by the hotel was simply awesome). Wifi is available on the property but its speed/quality can vary.The bathroom's floor is slightly separated wooden planks so you may see frogs [very cute] and other little critters (if you are afraid of bugs then i wouldn't recommend this part of Costa Rica for you!). This is a very serene, relaxing and seeing nature type of place. It is pretty secluded from the main road. In all it is a hidden jewel of Costa Rica. Highly recommended!!
PS: do not forget to take a guided tour with Christian, very knowledgeable and passionate naturalist, he will show you the rainforest as you never saw it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derekw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a lovely establishment with beautiful surroundings, though the "hacienda" part falls a little short. On another note, what makes this hotel such a delight is actually it's staff. The cooks and waiting staff are superb. Marlene and Ceci overall are two excellent chefs and wonderful human beings who make you feel special. My hat off to them! Marvin, who is a one man show, is responsible for the vegetable and fruit garden. Do not miss out going on the trail that leads to this amazing garden in the mount. What he has accomplished single handedly is way impressive. The hotel has beautiful surroundings and fun trails. The bungalows are spacious and attention to detail is everywhere. It really makes you feel as if you are in a paradise. However there are a few cons with this establishment. First of all, it is very secluded and therefore what they don't mention to you is that every time you want to leave the hotel, it will literally cost you USA $15 per person via taxi and/or tour. If you want to go out to town, the taxi will cost you $15 per person each time and if you are going on a tour, the tour company will charge you $15 extra. Thus a couple will always have to pay $30 just to leave the premises. Secondly, there are no TV's nor telephone in the rooms. And even though one really enjoys nature and it's peace and quiet, at some point you will want to at least see the news. If you need to call the front desk or lounge area, you are out of luck! You will have to walk there every time since there are no telephones in the room. This was very strange to me because even if there was no long distance, you should be able to call the front desk...what if a medical emergency were to happen!!! This was a very scary thought for me. Anyway, because of these cons, I have decided not to give them a 5 star.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odalys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was in one of the attached rooms of the lodge. The room was spacious, well decorated, and had huge windows that looked out over very well landscaped surroundings. The bathroom had two large corner windows that did not give much privacy while showering, but plastic covering were available from the office. Since there was privacy (this was an end room) I did not need the plastic window coverings.
This was a very pleasant and relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: corner rooms of lodge are very bright because of the large windows. Individual cottages looked very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Another quiet, remote place in the forest. The rooms are cottages by itself, with open air shower and a fancy hammock. There is no air conditioner or TV which makes it all the more rustic, having to listen to sounds of the forest. A walk around the hotel is a must. This is one of those hotels that has made in fancy animal shapes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendysdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chachagua
1.9 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#3 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
9.0 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge

Property: Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge
Address: | La Fortuna. Arenal Volcano National Park., Chachagua 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Chachagua Rainforest Hotel & Hacienda)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Chachagua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chachagua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place to surpass your expectations of a positive interaction with the rain forest, pampered by the friendliest local staff and with fantastic organic food production highlighted with extraordinary cuisine. Rest and relax or experience all you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chachagua Rainforest Hotel And Hacienda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing