We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chachagua Rainforest Eco Lodge(Chachagua)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 08/02
Book now, pay at stay
$35
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliconias Nature Lodge(Arenal Volcano National Park)
$128
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lavas del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$200
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Book now, pay at stay
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Country Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 08/03
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveler rating
537
91
25
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
91
25
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfarm tourbiodynamic farmchocolate tourfamily bungalowcosta ricayoga retreatobservation toweron sitenight tourhot tuborganic foodmedicinal plantschocolate makingvery special placemagical placetree frogsamazing food
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 662 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2017

Finca Luna Nueva was a wonderful eco lodge committed to being sustainable and eco-friendly. We really enjoyed the farm tour and learning about the plants. Our guide from Spain was very knowledgeable. The pool was a wonderful relief from the heat and humidity as well. The breakfast was very good and filling and there was toast, fruit, eggs, and juice every day, plus a healthy yogurt drink. We ate lunch and dinner there as well because we did not have a car and the food was very expensive. Great early morning bird tour with a guide is wonderful!! A wonderful stay in a beautiful and peaceful place!

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincaluna, Gerente at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Dear Dawn,

Thank you very much for visiting us.

We are happy to hear you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed your meals and tours. We hope to see you again sometime in the future. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017

This property is amazingly beautiful, peaceful, productive, and full of plant and animal biodiversity. Great food. Relaxing pools and hammocks. Great views. Sloths. Biodynamic farm tour (free). Hiking on site. They really go out of the way to reduce environmental impact, while maintaining excellent comfort and service. The farm tour is well worth it on its own. Its like a living, functional museum. We loved this place.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincaluna, General Manager at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Dear Richelle,

Thank you very much for visiting us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our lodge and farm, we try our best to keep our practices sustainable and regenerative. We loved your statement, it really is like a living and functional museum. We hope you can come visit us again in the future. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017

We were looking for something centrally located but not in the tourist strip. The idea of having healthy, delicious and local food at our fingertips was also appealing. Do not miss the homemade ginger ale. Make sure to take all the naturalist tours. We also learned to make chocolate and ate raw cocoa pulp. A true delight. Check out the Casa Barro for the unique room.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank risoleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincaluna, General Manager at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Dear Risoleone,

Thank you very much for your visit. And a special thank you for trying everything that we had to offer. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our tours and Ginger Ale. We hope you can come visit us again in the future. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017

I was blown away by the Farm Tour! Alberto the Spanish tour guide (and advanced degree botanist) was exceptionally knowledgable about biodynamic farm techniques and every plant along our pathway and beyond. I can't recommend it more highly!

Room Tip: Wifi not very reliable
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vchoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincaluna, Gerente at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Dear vchoa,

Thank you very much for your visit.

Alberto is truly a knowledgable guide, we are very happy to have him as part of our Luna Family. Thank you for appreciating our biodynamic practices and we hope you can come visit us again in the future. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

We were so happy to set foot on this farm! We had stayed in La Fortuna, which was far too commercialized for my liking. Finca Luna Nueva encompassed that naturie sustainable wholesome experience I was looking for in Costa Rica. The grounds have forests trails to get lost in, also the farm tour and medicinal plant tour were quite enlightening. Steven, founder of the farm, presented various uses for fruits, leafs, bark, seeds... With a great concern for health he really delved into the practical uses of all of the plants. The food on the farm was very yummy. It was also nice to have a kitchen in the upper house to be able to bring some of our own favorite foods/ drinks. The staff was all very nice and helpful sometimes giving me a ride on the golf cart when I felt too out of shape going up the slope or even hooking us up with some food before our departure to the airport (before the kitchen opened)! We went on a beautiful horseback ride through the jungle with one of the locals, I highly recommend this tour that can be booked at the front desk with Jose Luis.
To say the least our room was beautiful! waking up to a roaring forest was one of my favorite things. The lodging is quite limited meaning you get a lot of space, you are not on top of other guests at all. Also I was impressed with how committed this finca was on conservation and sustainability. You are given Biodegradable shampoo and conditioner very little garbage produced! I learned so much here and enjoyed every day, I wish they had a certificate program here for Biodynamics Farming.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cassandramontaudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fincaluna, General Manager at Finca Luna Nueva Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

Dear Cassandra,

Thank you very much for visiting us.

Wow, this is such an amazing review. We cant thank you enough for sharing your experience with us. You did get to know our farm very well, our staff truly enjoyed your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed all the tours and food. We look forward to having you again sometime in the future. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews