We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than home...”
Review of Moorea Surf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moorea Surf Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Haapiti B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than home...”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I spent five nights at Tama and Mari´s place and I felt myself like in heaven. The breakfast is superb. You cant make a mistake, because their hospitality is just excellent. Moorea is magical. There is no beach but just few steps from the shore there is wonderful spot for snorkeling with perfect corals and deep blue lagoon. Howgh!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
37
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Moorea Surf B&B was a pearl found in Moorea, and it was crucial in determining the quality of my stay in this magic island.

The B&B has a good structure: the kitchen is functional, and the bedrooms and common areas are clean and airy. The location is also fine. As Moorea is a fairly small island, nothing is too far. If you rent a car or a scooter you'll be fine, but most nearby places can be reached by bicycle. The B&B is away from most big resorts and there is plenty of natural beauty around it: there is a sunset viewing deck in the backyard, and from there you can walk, swim or kayak less then 100 metres to reach a gorgeous snorkeling place with corals and colorful fish.

I found that staying at Moorea Surf was a great value for what you pay (especially when comparing with other accommodation options in the island). Besides the good structure, guests can use the snorkel equipment, kayaks and bicycles, or have a brilliant Aikido class included in the price of the accommodation. They can also opt for day tours (with a pro surf guide included) and delicious Tahitian dinners cooked by Marie for very reasonable prices.

But more than anything, Tama and Marie are great hosts (and the other reviewers here are also witnesses of that). They are friendly, good-natured people that provide for a warm and laidback environment, as well as the chance to learn a little about the local culture of Polynesia. I could not have asked for more.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mipontal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadmans Cay, Long Island, The Bahamas
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I cannot thank Tama and Marie enough for their true Polynesian hospitality or recommend their Bed and Breakfast enough! One of the best experiences of my life! They both go out of their way to make anything happen for you. You want to rent a scooter, it's there the next morning. You want to go surfing, Tama will put you on the best waves. Whatever you desire they will provide. And Marie's fresh fruit and fresh baked bread breakfast will have you wishing you could eat that healthy everyday.
Tama & Marie - Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianPucella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

i recently spent six days surfing at haapiti and nearby spots with tama and had a wonderful experience. i have surfed in a variety of places around the world and it is hard to find one that compares with haapiti -- the quality of the wave, the natural beauty, and the friendliness and stoke of the local surfers. tama is an excellent guide to the spot and i would highly recommend that you look him up if you want a boat ride out the to break. in my experience, if the waves are good the currents out there are cranking and you really don't want to have to paddle back after a session.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and me lived 3 nights there, they always can organize everyday schedule for you! They live here and have a family here, so they can support you everythings. The room is clean, even kitchen and public areas are also clean! Don't forget stay here when you come to Moorea, it's really a excellent place for living!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennethYeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Tama, from Moorea Surf, gave me one of the peak experiences of my life when he took me surfing out at Haapiti Pass, a reef pass break on the West side of Moorea. He is very knowledgeable about Moorea, surfing, and every break on the island. The surf spot may be the most gorgeous place in the World. And Tama, Marie, and Tahiti, their daughter, live there. The water and waves were clear, warm, blue, and perfect. The view from the water was beautiful and mesmerizing. The Tahitian surfers in the lineup paddled up to me, smiled, said hello, and shook hands with me. Haapiti is a true paradise. Any surfer, paddler, diver, or waterman simply has to go to Moorea, and visit Haapiti with Tama. You will have a great experience as well. I will definitely return there. Maaruru to Tama and Marie.

Room Tip: It is a very lovely setting. You can't go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blusurf333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 6 days with Tama and Marie. Tahiti and her cousin are adorable little kids. I really felt like part of the family. They made phone calls for me, helped to organise diving, scooter rental. Borrowed their bike to head to Pineaple beach and for food at the roulotte. They made a delicious tuna sashimi dinner for me one night. This is really an "Eco-lodge" kind of place. I asked for a tour of the garden and was amazed to see what they have growing. Seems they are almost self sufficient.

One day Marie got out this HUGE knife and cut open a coconut for me. We drank the water over ice then scooped out the inside with a spoon. Cut up the rest into a salad with her homemade ginger dressing. Mmmmm.... Delicious!

Breakfast always included fresh fruit, bananas from Tama's grandfathers.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogan3490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haapiti
7.7 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
6.7 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
289 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
6.7 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
6.9 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorea Surf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorea Surf Inn

Property: Moorea Surf Inn
Address: PK 20 cote-mer | Baie de Vaianae, Haapiti 98728, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Haapiti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Haapiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moorea Surf Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ia Orana! The Moorea Surf Inn is situated on the west coast of Beautiful Moorea with dramatic sunset views and scenery. Guests at the Moorea Surf Inn can enjoy free use of the cruise bikes, kayaks, snorkeling gears and the fully-equipped kitchen. The Moorea Surf Inn offers free parking, free unlimited high-speed Wi-Fi access. Breakfast, lunch and dinner can be served at an extra cost. Facilities include a covered BBQ with seating, a library with cable TV, books and a large observation platform to check the surf, sunbathe or explore the night-sky during night time. All rooms include a fan, a wardrobe and an electrical mosquito-repellent. Guests have access to shared bathroom facilities and a patio with mountain, garden and sea views. Concerning activities, we are specialized in customized private boat and lagoon tours. Obviously we love nature, and we don't mind sharing the stoke of it by guiding travelers on one of the many hiking trails the island offers. From the easy and short hike to the more hardcore ones, there is a trail to suit everyone's need. Last but not least, we organize surfing trips daily according to weather conditions and have rental surfboards for hire. And when the ocean is flat, we like to keep active by riding our mountain bikes in the wonderful valley of Opunohu. Yes, we rent mountain bikes too! Boating, snorkeling, surfing, SUPing, mountain biking, hiking... You name it, we've got it! Booking is essential. Mauruuru maita'i. Nana, Tama at Moorea Surf Inn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Moorea Surf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Surf Inn Haapiti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing