We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sunset, drinks and poisson cru!!!”
Review of Le Sunset

Le Sunset
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Haapiti
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
longIsland NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing sunset, drinks and poisson cru!!!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We rented a car and drove from the Hilton- the original plan was to just go for sunset and drinks since we had reservations to eat somewhere else but we decided to split an appetizer. We ordered Poisson Cru & thought the server misunderstood us that we wanted to share, as she brought us 2 tremendous portions of amazing food. She explained that it was one order, they just served it on 2 plates. It was the best tasting and value for the portion size BY FAR of poisson cru in our 14 day vacation. I would highly recommended coming here to hang out on cozy patio, watch sunset with some drinks and at the very least try the cru. If you share it and get a dessert it would probably be enough for a light dinner.I can't comment on the other items on the menu but we had a great experience here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rossell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    93
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Only Beachfront restaurant in Moorea”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Nice location, good food and friendly helpful, if a bit slow service. They have very good pasta here. We had the fresh mahi mahi special. It was grilled with butter and garlic and was very good but a little heavy on the fresh garlic. We were a group of 7 who also tried their steak and pasta and all of us were pleased with our meals. The prices are very reasonable for Moorea. As others have mentioned, shuttle service was provided from our hotel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ibjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Pasta I have ever tasted”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Loved the setting on the beach and walking through the "resort" area to get there. We had a lovely lunch and the best pasta I have ever eaten. The price was good too and there was lots of food. The service was slow, but the meals came out quick.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CynIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, beautiful setting and great food!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went to Le Sunset on our first night in Moorea - we were able to make a booking for six earlier in the day. Some of the restaurants on the island offer free or minimal charge pick-ups and due to the fact we didn't hire a vehicle we took up the offer.
We were picked up by the chef who was very friendly and gave us tips for our trip.
We were seated on an outdoor table with a view out across the reef to the setting sun - we had left our reservation and pick-up time a little late for the sunset (so we recommend going earlier rather than later) but the outlook was still beautiful.
The service was fantastic and on sitting down we were given a pile of complimentary breads and olives. For a main I had the Tuna Carpaccio which was fresh, delicious and was generous in size. A few of us decided to trial the cocktails - but I would definitely give this a miss.
Amazing views - extremely fast and attentive service and great food - worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandAKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Good food, simple setting, nice people”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoyed a very nice (and very large) meal at Le Sunset. We were picked up and taken to the restaurant and had a great 3 course meal with local beer and water. We felt that the prices were not a lot lower than in the hotel, but the quality was high, the service good and the portions substantial. We also had the exotic salad, which was delicious, and the chocolate mousse was pretty special. All in all, very enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy_hobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sunset also viewed

 
Moorea, Society Islands
 
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Le Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing