We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best restaurant on Moorea”
Review of Le Sunset

Le Sunset
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Haapiti
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best restaurant on Moorea”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We ate here twice in 5 days, once for lunch and once for dinner. We had pizza and a salad for lunch. YUMMY. Great view and great service. We then went for dinner. I was going to order mahi mahi when the owner recommended the Papiotte (spelling?). It was FABULOUS. One of the best fish dishes I've ever had. It was simply prepared with a nice green bean side. The value is very great for the price as well, considering it is Moorea. This was an all over great experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deannbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    96
    28
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Don't bother trying the 5 stars restaurants or anything else Le SUNSET has it ALL!

The view is amazing and the food is a bliss

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Celine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pojoaque, New Mexico, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NOM NOM!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I loved everything...but i'm easy to please. i had a delicious pizza -the best I'd had in a looooong time.
Very warm and friendly staff. Always came to check on me everyday i ate

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Romantic Outdoor Seating and Free Shuttle Service”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

One of our adventures in dining away from our Resort was dinner at Le Sunset. This restaurant is part of a privately owned hotel, the Hibiscus.

The concierge at our resort recommended this as a good option for dinner, and arranged for us to be picked up from our hotel. Right on schedule a white Chevy Suburban (quite possibly the only American vehicle in French Polynesia) arrived and a very friendly Frenchman hopped out, helped us into the car, and drove us the 5 minutes to the restaurant. The driver in fact owns Le Sunset and the Hibiscus and was full of information about Moorea.

There is indoor seating that is pretty open to the outside, and patio seating which is what we requested. The patio is very long and roomy so tables are not one on top of another. The patio overlooks the beach and ocean and provides a spectacular view, especially at sunset.

We ordered the rib eye steak and a linguine dish with a blue cheese sauce. Both were cooked perfectly and were delicious. We had a few amusing moments with the language difference (we don't speak French) but everyone had good humor about it. To make a long story short, the shrimp that was missing from the linguine soon arrived, and the shrimp was at no additional charge due to the misunderstanding. The owner does speak excellent English and one of the waitresses enjoyed chatting with us to learn more.

The house Cabernet was an excellent match for the steak, and the Planter's Punch cocktail went nicely with the linguine. The food was plentiful so we didn't have room for desert. When we finished the owner took us back to our resort.

This was an outstanding meal, in a romantic setting, at a beautiful location, with very friendly people.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XlntAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The location is amazing, right on the water! We were fortunate to get one of the 6 outdoor tables for most meals. The best way to start the day is with a croissant and coffee overlooking the water. I miss it already!
The staff was great! Between their minimal english and my minimal french, we did fine!
Pizza and salads were really good as well as the desserts.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HP757FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Sunset also viewed

 
Moorea, Society Islands
 
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Le Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing