We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience MOOREA MOANA TOURS
from $94.24
More Info
from $934.51
More Info
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
109
7
4
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
109
7
4
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching trip an amazing experience humpback whales marine biologist these guys deep blue water lemon sharks thank you so much pineapple once in a lifetime fruit sophie punch calf surface mother briefing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been twice with them during our stay in Moorea. The team on and off boat is superb in terms of communication, support and information. They have a big eye on a respectful interaction with the animals, especially the whales. Which we find super important in times when more & more operators flush Moorea. And the guys are from Moorea and know it inside out!

Keep up the good work, also with your foundation and hopefully Moorea stays such a paradise for interacting gently with the beautiful animals!

Cheers
Benno

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BennoSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEYBALD P, Owner at MOOREA MOANA TOURS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you guys
We really appreciate, hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I did this twice with this company during our time in Moorea because we loved it so much! The first swim we got to spend time with a mom and baby. Afterwards we found another mom and baby that were breaching and slapping their tails and we watched them for quite awhile. The next time we went we found another mom and baby who was followed by a male escort. We watched them for awhile and the male was just below the mom singing! Incredible! Thanks for the amazing opportunity!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank alyshag888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEYBALD P, Owner at MOOREA MOANA TOURS, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Happy you got a great time with our team and enjoyed the marine wildlife of Moorea
thanks for choosing our company and share you re experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Did this today with my wife as part of our honeymoon and it was amazing; a small group of us and got to swim with a mother humpback and her calf. After this we watched the pair breaching the surface and frolicking around for about 30 minutes before heading to the lagoon and swimming with sharks and rays. An unbelievable experience.

The crew were extremely friendly and helpful with one of them helping me when I got into a bit of difficulty swimming. Would highly recommend this tour!

Thank Q7475TOroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEYBALD P, Owner at MOOREA MOANA TOURS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Yesterday was really good!!
Thanks so much for sharing you re experience and join our expedition

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hello fellow travellers!
If you choose not to do any other tours while in Moorea during humpback whale season, you have got to do this tour! Pierrick and his team run a wonderful 1/2 days tour which will take you for a swim with some stingrays and blacktip sharks. Then you'll look for some whales. We were lucky. Gael stopped the boat at a safe distance from a mother and her calf. We swam to get a better look and they swam towards us. Then, the mother went to rest underneath us while her little one came to play with us. He breached and dove over and over and felt comfortable to come pretty close to us. Then he joined his mom for a cuddle. Thank you to all of you for such a special morning!
Although they mostly speak French, English speakers won't be left out because both Gael and Olivier make it a point to translate everything. Their English is quite proficient. Gael actually gives you a briefing about how to proceed in order not to stress the whales, how to come up close without being too close, how to be at a respectful and safe distance.
After spending some time with the whales, the team will take you into a lagoon between 2 "motus" for a snorkel with the local fish... and you may meet Marguerite the moray eel!
At the end of the morning, you will be served some punch and fresh coconut and pineapple as you make your way back to Moorea.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Happy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEYBALD P, Owner at MOOREA MOANA TOURS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for you review, happy you get a great experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had booked the tour for the 2nd of septembre in the mornings.

The pick up/drop off, organized by the tour operator after my request through facebook messenger, went well and our driver was very friendly. ☺️

The tour was held in a small group of people; we were about 9, which still felt intimate and not touristic at all.
Our tour guide was very friendly and gave us some helpful and interesting information about the humpback whales, plus some safety instructions in case we would spot some whales during the trip and would go for a swim with them.

We were very lucky on our tour :

At first, we stopped in a lagoon where we could swim with rays and sharks. ☺️ (We were the only group of people at that time as it was early in the morning, that‘s why you should book the morning tour)

When the boat tour took its course, we were able to spot a big group of spinner dolphins swimming right next to our boat.

After a while and with a very dedicated captain, we encountered humpback whales right next to us (1 mother with her 2 babies, accompanied by 2-3 other small whales). One even swam underneath the boat
Even the captain couldn‘t hide his joy about having found the spot

The last stop was in a lagoon where we could go into the water again and snorkel around.

The tour ended with served fruits and beverage.

Thanks for an amazing and unforgettable trip (Plus, if I hadn‘t been seasick, I would have enjoyed the whole trip even more .)

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Tree_froggy_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEYBALD P, Owner at MOOREA MOANA TOURS, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much to share you re experience with us
cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews