We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A tasty bowl of Cullen Skink"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pennan Inn Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Pennan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
202 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“"A tasty bowl of Cullen Skink"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Enjoyed a light lunch last week,The Cullen Skink was particularly tasty-a good plateful of smoked fish soup with onion ,potato and cream.Service was very attentive.Belhaven Best beer was served to perfection.Can certainly recommend.Very quaint hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewencrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
53
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Pennan Inn has been transformed into a lovely clean & quaint establishment since being refurbished by the current owners. The atmosphere is warm & welcoming, the staff are friendly and the freshly prepared, locally sourced, food not only tastes great but is excellent value for money. This is by far the best place to eat in the local area!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Well, we were here to follow in the steps of Bill Forsyth's Local Hero movie (no doubt like many other 'tourists'), and we got all that we expected. The phone booth (relocated of course) is there, the stone 'beach' etc. etc. All good.
Let's face it, the village is nice, nay beautiful, but as a traveler, the movie IS probably the only reason you would stay here - if you are a nut like my friend and I who find the film iconic and worthy of tribute. We just had to stay a night.
Look, I've read the other reviews and they are all pretty much glowing. The Pennan Inn is the only real place to stay, and it's OK. I wouldn't rave - the owners do a pretty OK job of maintaining two nice rooms, albeit severely over-priced. Yep, stayed in better accommodation in the same region for less - they are clearly fleecing their advantage of being the only place in town, and the iconic nature of the legend of the movie. But fair enough, wouldn't we all in the same situation?
Just be prepared for a very very very very quiet time...but that's the beauty of it I guess.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudeDudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monifieth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

It is our good fortune that visit the area twice yearly on business, we view the business trips as an opportunity to enjoy the excellent facilities and surroundings at Pennan, to date we have used the Pennan Inn facilities three times and simply would not consider an alternative venue, the owners and staff are warm and friendly and nothing is too much bother to them, the rooms are clean, crisp and warm and we always awake well-rested.

We would highly recommend this establishment without reservation and completely understand why many make the worthwhile trip from far and near to seek out this fine establishment and outstanding setting.

Alan E. Masterton.
Monifieth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanMasterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Having not been to Pennan for a number of years, it was great to see the Inn again and meet its new owners. It's truely one of kind, and the service and food is brilliant. Rooms are newly refurbished and of very good standard for this type of small seaside hotel. If your looking for a hidden little gem with a great local atmosphere in a quiet place by the sea, then it's well worth the trek.

Will be back for sure. :)

Thanks!
- Randall Rickabaugh

Room Tip: Go watch the movie 'Local Hero' !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandallRickabaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Spent a Saturday night at Pennan Inn along with wife and another couple. The rooms are comfy, freshly decorated albeit not the biggest, but that was only expected given the location. Had a lovely meal which was freshly cooked and reasonably priced.

Hospitality was limited and the owners never took part in any chat with my group even though we were the only residents and folk in the bar. I aked how long they had the Inn and was told it was around March this year. I wish them al the success in the future but the luke warm reception has certainly put me off returning and I would advise them to learn what hospitality is.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjmacAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

My wife and I are retired company directors and drove over 100 miles to visit Pennan. We entered the Pennan Inn at 2pm for lunch in the restaurant that was still serving. We pleasantly asked to be served lunch but in the best of surly attitudes the oriental lady snapped at us "we don't serve lunch from 2pm" . No "sorry" or alternative offered of something simple like soup or sandwiches. A couple of people in the restaurant were still eating their meal so the kitchen was very clearly still open and the chef had not gone home. We asked again for some hospitality as we we had travelled a long distance but this time we were told in the rudest terms that she was the owner and basically to clear off as our conversation meant we had now passed her 2pm deadline !!

The last time I had surly rudeness like this was in a Chinese Restaurant in Hong Kong. We know hospitality had gone a long way to be highly professional in Scotland but there is a backwater still around---The Pennan Inn owned by rude and unwelcoming incomers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RUDHACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennan
13.1 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
10.4 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
10.1 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
13.2 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
0.5 mi away
Mill of Nethermill Holidays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennan Inn Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennan Inn Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Pennan Inn Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Pennan Harbour | Fraserburgh, Pennan AB43 6JB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Pennan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pennan
Hotel Class:3 star — Pennan Inn Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pennan Inn Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennan Hotel Pennan
Pennan Inn Hotel & Restaurant Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing