We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing break in a beautiful cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
the cottage on the left is our Nest. The wonderful log burner for cosy nights in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
63 reviews
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
the cottage on the left is our Nest.
The wonderful log burner for cosy nights in.
The compact but well equipped kitchen area.
A nice cup of tea in the morning, or even a coffee is just what is needed on holiday.
Glass of wine or beer watching the world go by. The sun is always outside the Nest
Our huge duckdown sofa, perfect for two people to stretch out after a day on the moors.
to the side of the cottage is the green on Primrose Hill, a great place to sit and watch the world
the view down towards Danby
from the hill looking down into the village
perfect walks on the doorstep
the beautiful landscape
not far to the pub
the power shower....bliss after a days walking on the moors. Perfect for two.
the mallyan spout, a must to walk and see
Goathland and a ride on the steam trains
love at the Nest
photos courtesy of a guest whom was lucky enough to go when it snowed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Castleton, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beccyspic...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing break in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our second visit to the Nest, we explored more of the local area this time, walking in Farndale( well worth a visit) ! We cooked at the cottage this time and everything was there we needed. The fire was a joy in the evenings as was the bed and sofa. The train to Whitby is a must and so are fish and chips on the beach. A great cottage and will defiantly return, for the cost it is a bargain, 5 stars for a 3 star price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
I am sooo glad you had a lovely time again, hope to see you again in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break in Whitby”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Nest is a VERY SMALL compact cottage. It's in a beautiful rural location very close to Whitby, Sandsend and Scarborough. It is very well stocked with crockery and kitchen utensils. Very clean and lots of hot water etc. It could do with a bit of TLC though. There is a pub opposite which was closed on the Monday night so we bought curry's from the local Co-op which is very well stocked. We ate in Sandsend on Tuesday at a gorgeous pub called The Hart Inn (dog friendly) When we arrived back at the cottage we popped over for a drink to the Downe Arms but they were out of cask ales altogether which was disappointing. There is also a Tea room which we didn't visit unfortunately. The cottage is lovely and very old as described. We had a problem with the kitchen lights which seems to be an ongoing problem according to the visitors book. If you like your space then this isn't the place for you. All in all a nice stay but I would not stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
I am sorry you didn't like you're stay, the lights are being fixed at the start of May , we couldn't do it before then due to floorboards going up, the cottage is also being redecorated , I do describe it as small, hence the Nest , I am sorry all was not to you're liking and you won't be coming back,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulesWule...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“As cosy as its name.”
Reviewed April 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Nest is just splendid. The host Annette was kind to call to check we got there okay and let us know where was good to go etc etc. The weather was very kind which helped. The sofa is just perfect for schooching up on with a book whilst the fire roars. Having the small supermarket a few steps away is just so handy. Considering its location, it is quiet. Having sheep on the doorstep is lovely too. The surroundings are just stunning and The Nest is perfectly located whether by foot, car or train. It is compact but everything you need as a couple, alone or with a hound. We shall return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NickO1369
2 reviews
“Small yet perfectly formed”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Nest is a great little snug! It is beautifully located and pretty near perfectly formed.The facilities are high quality and perfect for a couple. It is located in the middle of the village and close to a shop and other local amenities making a stay at The Nest really easy and comfortable.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn v
1 review
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Comfortable cottage with good amenities and easy to travel from to visit places of interest. Road through village during day a little busy but nice and quite on evenings. The owner rings to see if all ok which is nice. In all we had a relaxing week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Im so glad you had a lovely time and hope to see you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandaatk...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat for me and my little dog.”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A beautifully decorated and equipped cottage. A stone's throw from some stunning walks on the North York moors and close to Whitby and Scarborough. Located in a quaint village with lovely local pubs and village shop and tea rooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect little cottage in lovely location, pet friendly.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2016
I'm so glad you had the break you needed so much, hope to see you back again soon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing