We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage in great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
the cottage on the left is our Nest. The wonderful log burner for cosy nights in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
65 reviews
Our Beautiful Nest, with a small fenced area with table  for you to enjoy the sunshine.
the cottage on the left is our Nest.
The wonderful log burner for cosy nights in.
The compact but well equipped kitchen area.
A nice cup of tea in the morning, or even a coffee is just what is needed on holiday.
Glass of wine or beer watching the world go by. The sun is always outside the Nest
Our huge duckdown sofa, perfect for two people to stretch out after a day on the moors.
to the side of the cottage is the green on Primrose Hill, a great place to sit and watch the world
the view down towards Danby
from the hill looking down into the village
perfect walks on the doorstep
the beautiful landscape
not far to the pub
the power shower....bliss after a days walking on the moors. Perfect for two.
the mallyan spout, a must to walk and see
Goathland and a ride on the steam trains
love at the Nest
photos courtesy of a guest whom was lucky enough to go when it snowed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Castleton, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
berniegar...
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in great location”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A really cosy cottage for one or two people, or in my case one person and a dog. Comfortable, warm and well equipped. Perfect location right in the middle of Castleton village in the middle of the Moors. Shop and pub within 50 metres. Owner called on first morning to check all was OK - a nice touch, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Good location for exploring the local area. Plenty of pubs to eat at and a co-op a few doors away as well as the railway station.
The bathroom contains a good shower the bedroom a very comfortable bed. The kitchen/was well stocked with most items you would need although there a re plenty of local pubs with good food. The lounge has a large sofa great for evenings snuggled up by the log burning fire.
When we arrived we found the owner had gone to the trouble of organising a Xmas tree and some decorative lights for the stairs as well as a little welcome present.
In summary we really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Winter getaway”
Reviewed December 15, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A lovely cottage, in a very good location. It was the perfect getaway for our first holiday as a couple. The cottage has everything that you will need for a short break, including lots of good information on the local area.

The cottage has a wood burner, allowing for cosy nights in, which we did most evenings. The kitchen has everything you will need and there is a well stocked Co-op a few doors down.

We went on a number of day trips from the cottage going to Robin Hood's Bay, Pickering, Yarm, Castle Howard and Whitby to name a few. We ended up going to Whitby twice, using the train once as the station in Castleton is easily in walking distance to the cottage.

Overall our week away was exactly what we wanted and the cottage was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great value and great location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence5...
bedford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“picturesque, perfectly placed, inexpensive, cottage”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

stayed at The Nest with a friend (one on the sofa which was very comfortable to sleep on), the cottage is warm and cosy so we didn't need to light the woodburner. It had everything we needed, incl. very good wifi, the shower was good and even though we were in the middle of the village it was very quiet at night and a good nights sleep could be had. I've stayed in more expensive places and received far less. It is ideally placed opposite a pub, near a tearoom and a co-op for all those essentials. There is a train station in Castleton which takes you to Whitby or York. Being off the North Yorkshire Moors there are lots of lovely walks nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how comfortable it was
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham R
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic, secluded get-a-way”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely spot, right in centre of small village. Groceries, PO, bank, pub, hairdresser and beautician at front door. Fully self-contained except for washing machine. Very comfortable bed with winter and summer doona which made for good nights sleep. Good heating which works efficiently. 20 miles to Whitby. Good internet. Lots of things to see and do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardBi...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint well appointed cottage”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely little cottage situated in the centre of Castleton, great scenery and walks easy drive to local beeches . Well equipped with homely feel and wood burner had a great time

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek W
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really enjoyable break at the Nest, Castleton”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently stayed at the Nest, Castleton for a short break in a cosy warm cottage in a prime village location. We will certainly recommend the property and will definitely be returning. The village has a co-op, Bank, Post Office and two pubs. It also has a very nice tea rooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing