We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loire a velo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Roches a Renards
Ranked #1 of 3 Huismes B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loire a velo”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just returned from cycling the Loire a velo route and stopped here for one night. Slightly off the recommended route but well worth the diversion. Pascal and Odette could not be more welcoming. The rooms and service were impeccable and the breakfast superb. We were given a tour of the amazing caves under the house and chauffeured into and back from Chinon by Pascal. Fantastic place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here in July 2013, the week after Pascal and Odette had taken over. They were perfect hosts! The rooms are really clean and nicely decorated. The "special" wine cave is a real surprise. We will certainly be back. Great for couples and families. Great spot to base yourself for exploring Chinon and all the other towns along the Loire.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riberac, France
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The position of this B&B is perfect for visiting many of the medieval chateaux and towns around.The rooms are a good size, spotless and tastefully decorated. We stayed in a studio which had it's own little kitchenette. Nice character although no views out apart from the sky through the veluxes and a little oeil de boeuf in the gable end. As we were there to sleep this wasn't a problem. The truly outstanding part is the helpfulness of the hosts. Having had a few very offhand experiences in France, it was a delight to have Pascal and Odette give advice (very good advice) and be so charming. The breakfast is copious and fresh, truly excellent croissants, and their own honey is very good. This place is not cheap but the service is five star. If I had a piece of advice for them it would be to put bathroom products in the bathroom for those of us who do not always travel with them. The bed is a good 160 and very firm. A must see on the premises is the 'cave' as Pascal modestly calls it. A fascinating old stone extraction cave more recently used to store wine. A gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mittxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stated for 4 nights and could have stayed longer. The accommodation was fantastic, but what makes "Les Roches a Renardes" so special are the hosts Pascal and Odette. They couldn't be more welcoming or helpful. Pascal's home baked surprise was different every breakfast and always delicious along with his home made preserves, honey and bread. Pascal's dinner recommendations in Chinon were excellent. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The rooms (including the studio ) are lovely, beds comfortable, bathroom absolutely fine; surrounded by nice countryside. Nothing grates - it's all in immaculate taste with lots of nice touches. Breakfast is fantastic - fresh fruit salad, home baked cake, croissant, pain au choc, orange juice, yoghourt, good coffee, home baked wholemeal seedy bread, baguette, delicious jams, home produced honey - all served by the charming Pascal or his wife Odette. Hugely helpful and chatty(in French at least - we didn't really test their English but Pascal's seemed pretty good) they kindly booked local restaurants for us and generally were the perfect hosts. So much nicer than staying in a hotel in town though it would perhaps have been nice to have had the freedom to drink with our dinner: a small price to pay not to have to worry about parking and a car full of goodies. Altogether highly recommended.We reckoned we'd fallen on our feet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Puerto de Santa Maria, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We've been for only one night, but we felt as home. Nice place, good room, fantastic breakfast with own-made products, and specially the attitude of Pascal and his wife, always trying to help. In our case, they bring us to Chinon and picked up us (at 23.30h!!!!) with their car, cause we haven't a car (we were travelling on bike).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiguelAngel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently spent a glorious week at this lovely B&B. The new owners, Pascal and Odette, are wonderfully attentive hosts, who made us feel welcome throughout our stay. The property is beautiful and there are different areas in the back, with tables, where different visitors can relax and enjoy the view and still have some privacy. Our room was immaculately clean and bright, as was the wonderful breakfast area. We loved our breakfasts and must make special mention of Pascal's croissants, which are the best in France! And his homemade honey is also fantastic.

They have two beautiful horses, which our children loved watching. There was free WiFi, which we found worked best in the vicinity of the breakfast area, which was always open for guests, so it wasn't a problem.

As for the location, we used it as a base to tour many of the Loire Valley sites, including the nearby castle at Chinon (less than 10 minutes away), Fontevraud Abbey (20 minutes away), Villandry, Angers Castle, Chenonceau (about an hour away, but an easy drive on great roads), etc.

This B&B offers the best of both worlds - an idyllic country setting, with conveniences like the grocery store a short drive away (about 3 minutes). A must-see on the property itself is the underground wine cellar and tunnel. We hope to go back someday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_two_boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huismes
3.9 mi away
Manoir de la Giraudiere
Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
166 reviews
6.3 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
283 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#8 of 15 in Chinon
185 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Val de Loire
Hotel Val de Loire
#6 of 10 in Azay-le-Rideau
82 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Roches a Renards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Roches a Renards

Property: Les Roches a Renards
Address: 8 Route des Caves Sautys, 37420 Huismes, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Huismes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Huismes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au coeur des chateaux de la Loire, à 5 minutes de Chinon, propriété en pierre de tuffeau du 18ème, entièrement restaurée.5 chambres d'hôtes au confort sans concession, 2 studios avec accès indépendants ont été aménagés dans l'ancienne écurie. Venez découvrir nos séjours à thèmes. Œnologiques, pour découvrir notre cave de plus de 1500 m² en dessous de notre propriété mais aussi Truffes, à quelques centaines de mètres, un agriculteur y cultive des truffes.Toutes nos infos sur le site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Roches a Renards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Roches a Renards France/Huismes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing