We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of Le Faitout

Le Faitout
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Berlou
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This little gem of a restaurant, tucked away in the hamlet of Berlou, is well worth a visit. There is a set lunch menu which is cheap and excellent, and in the evening the a la carte menu is exciting. We had the 6 course menu with a different wine presented for each course. A gastronomic delight. We'll be back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sevlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    41
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Languedoc
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quality, just Quality”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This restaurant is in a delightful setting and is charming both inside and out. The food is imaginative and makes the widest use of local and unusual ingredients. I did not know Begonia flowers were edible and had never eaten Purslane! We took a party of nine and all were entranced by the setting and, more importantly, the food. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pure Excellence”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

6 course a la carte with 6 different glasses of wine. Amazing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Major M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What French cooking is all about”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We found this beautiful restaurant in the village of Berlou by chance and ate here on both evenings of our visit to this area, sitting on a lovely terrace by a stream, surrounded by flowers, and the herbs that the chef picked for our meals. The presentation of the food was imaginative and original. Most important, everything we ate was superb - it tasted like good food should. Our impression was that the chef wasn't taking anything for granted - he was really aiming to offer both high quality dishes, and a great dining experience. As visitors to France we felt this was what we came for, and why French cooking at its best has such a great reputation. The restaurant is a little out of the way, and definitely worth it. A good wine list too.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but you'll go out from here really hungry!”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We ate there one evening, the service was really nice and polite and the food was amazing (every single dish we ordered was well prepared with fresh and seasonal ingredients), very good choice of wine. The restaurant is really nice, we ate outside in a delicious athmosphere. Only one thing bad, the size of the dishes: for example, when the Saint Jaques plate with the ratatouille of fish arrived to me, I wanted to cry because it was so small (for 23€ I hope at least to not be starving after eating it, even if it was delicious). In order not to faint we took then dessert (not the ordinary choice but delicious seasonal desserts, I reccomend them all) and the plate of cheese (all of them really really good): we weren't completely satisfied -see full- but fine after them. The best choice will be to take the menu (one entrée, one main dish and dessert), because you won't be hungry at the end it will cost you less (the restaurant is quite expensive if you don't chose the menu).

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofonisba23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Faitout also viewed

Roquebrun, Herault
Vieussan, Herault
 

Been to Le Faitout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing