We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Little Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aruba Sunset Beach Studios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aruba Sunset Beach Studios
Certificate of Excellence
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Sunset Beach Studios for 11 days. My husband loved this place immediately. It took me a little time, however, it turned out to be great! It is definitely different than staying in a high-rise hotel. It was more like a Bed & Breakfast atmosphere (without the breakfast). Very small and quaint with wonderful owners that make you feel welcome. We booked the last room available as they were fully booked...it was the smallest room as well. We requested a larger room if one became available but were told that would most likely not happen. To our surprise one did became available and JP and Eve (the owners) upgraded us with no additional cost. This is what made the trip great for me! Having such great service from the owners made this a very special place. It was very private, away from the crowds, but close enough to the High-Rise area. It was very clean and the maids were wonderful. They even brought us a newspaper every morning. The resident cats were very friendly, waiting for their dinner when we returned each night. They like lobster and filet. We enjoyed grilling out one night at the motel...a nice fully furnished kitchen was a big plus. Favorite places: Lighthouse/Italian Restaurant...drinks at sunset...just beautiful (pass on the food). Pelican Pier happy hour (4-6) was wonderful. Their Grouper Bites (Gary's Special) were awesome. Jonathan was a great bartender and the restaurant was incredible. The chef, Carlos, prepared us special red snapper and grouper dishes for our group on two occasions. By all means do a sunset cruise, but not on "Red Sail", go with the Pelican Pier cruise. Bingos Restaurant is off the beach but so worth going to, it's where the locals go. Salt & Pepper is also a must. Get your free drinks at the Marriott Casino whether you gamble or not. All of our friends stayed at the Marriott for $700/night, but we enjoyed our small boutique hotel for $140/night!!! We will definitely go back!!!

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    74
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
59
253
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Sunset Beach Studios is a great place to stay in Aruba. It's small, one story, has a pool and spa, and is across the street from the ocean. This is the kind of place we look for. The grounds and pool are kept spotlessly clean. The staff works very hard on this. JP and Eve are gracious, helpful, and friendly. They also do a great job of cleaning your room. We were in Garden 7, which is next to the pool and directly across from the office. The semi-private patio with table and chairs is also nice. The actual rooms are a bit smaller in person than in the photos, but more than adequate. But there are a few negatives. Sunset Beach is 2 miles from the nearest restaurant, bar, or store. The beach across the street is really not a beach. You definitely need aqua socks if you dare enter the ocean (but there are beaches a couple miles to the north and south that are wonderful). So, there is no bar, restaurant, or food within walking distance, which I consider a negative.

Aruba in general: The weather is spectacular. 84, sunny, and breezy everyday. There is a 20 - 30 east wind day and night, but everything is on the west shore, so the wind is not that bad. The island is only 20 miles long by 6 miles wide, but feels much bigger. The sun is brutal, got sun burned in 2 hours of exposure with 45 sun block on (still hurts). Really, an hour or two per day is all I could take, and I'm dark skinned and tan easily. Very good snorkeling right from the beach (I did it one day). Beaches are very nice.

The negatives: The brutal sun (close to the equator). Tons of cars and traffic, not everywhere
but in the two major cities it can be bad. Expensive. Going out to eat was always at least $50
for two with a couple cocktails. The Pelican's Nest on the pier cost us $120 with two drinks (although my wife had the $55 lobster, which was excellent). Food in general was okay but not terrific. The best meals we had were the ones I made on the grill with fresh fish we caught deep sea fishing. We avoided the high rises and more expensive places. Alcohol is very expensive (~$30+ for a liter of booze or a case of beer). Food at the grocery stores was not bad, and good quality. There is a huge Chinese influence. Tons of small disorganized Chinese food marts, and chinese restaurants. The flies were kind of bad while we were there, but not terrible. Driving around is a challenge as most roads and maps have no signs. I should have brought a compass. We got lost a few times but managed to find the sites we wanted to see. I highly recommend renting a car while there, because of Sunset Beach's location. Our Amigo rent-a-wreck was a total POS, but it got us to where we needed to go. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The ocean views are nicer but more money. We did have an occluded view of the ocean from our garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barrysmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Sunset Beach Studuios was exactly what we were looking for Very quiet, ultra clean property with very intimate atmosphere. Our room was spacious and comfortable A kitchenette had everything we neded to cook all kind of meal what was very important to me because I don't like to go out to eat. We also liked a lot a little patio a front of our studio where we usually had lunch and dinner accompanied by two beautiful cats, they really made us feel at HOME-:)
We can't say enough about the owners and staff. Everyone was so helpful and friendly trying to solve any problem as soon as possible. We would never forget JP (the owner) who made a special ramp for my husband's handicap scooter as soon as he noticed that he was having a hard time getting through the gate. We really always felt that the staff including every single person was truly helpful and sincere in wanting our experience to be the best it could be.
Another great thing about Sunset Beach Studios is Undoubtedly the LOCATION!!! It is absolutely perfect spot for everything! Located between famous Palm Beach and absolutely stunning Arashi Beach Sunset Studios give you a chance to do whatever you fell like at any time. If you miss the noisy crowd and all kinds of Carribean most popular activities go to the left 15 minutes walk will bring you to High-rise hotels area. If you take a walk in the different direction you would have a chance to enjoy crystal clear water, pristine sand and playful wildlife just a few minutes away from the studio. In case you just want to spend a peaceful romantic night with your Sweetheart go to the beach right across from the Studios and enjoy unforgetta
ble sunset.
So another words if you really want to spend some time in the PARADISE surrounded by team of ANGELS next time book a room at Sunset Beach Studio:-)


Arashi Beach Sunset Studios snorkeling, fishing, swimming, kite




We always felt

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 835Elena22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass. Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Having stayed at Sunset Beach Studios three years ago we decided to go back and see if the magic was still there. Yes it was, it was like coming home again. The friendly owners and staff made our stay there a pleasure. We upgraded to a larger room and deck with a view of the ocean.
It's just a short distance form the high rises which allows you the feeling of a quiet island with a short walk ( on the beach-20 minutes) to the activity when you want it. Most of our time was spent either at a small quiet beach just down the street or on our deck reading . It was the perfect retreat after a busy year. The friendly people that were staying there made it even more special. Good to see Walter again after three years. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Book early, they go quick. Try the large garden 1, you won't be disappointed . Large bathroom an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Got home last night from an absolutely wonderful time at your studio apartments. It was everything we were looking for, more of a "family atmosphere". Our studio was just what we needed, and kept very clean by the hard working cleaning staff! J.P. and Eve were terrific hosts and really looked after us! If you're looking for a nice quiet vacation, this is the place for you. We call it our little "gem". Glad we found it! We've already booked for next year and are counting down the days until we get there!

Kerry & Ben White - Bloomingdale, Ontario

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

It was our first visit to Aruba and we were looking for a place to stay away from the bustle of activities in the high and mid-rise hotel districts. We found the perfect place at Sunset Beach Studios! While I was initially disappointed that the larger studios with a view were booked, our #2 studio was the perfect size, and was possibly the most private on the property. Every evening we walked across the road (not very busy) to enjoy the sunset. We liked having the kitchenette, so that we didn't have to go out for all our meals. The location was convenient if you have a car - it was so easy to get around. The owners staff and other guests were delightful. Loved the blend of nationalities.

Very glad we toured Arikok park - even tho we had a small Kia the driving was fine along the main routes as long as we drove slowly - incredible country! We're not strong swimmers, so the best beach for us was Eagle - parking under the trees, sand beach with gentler swells (downside is they are all hotel properties so you can't rent a chair or buy a drink) but you can rent one from the studios and bring it along.

Staff is so helpful with restaurant suggestions and reservations. Hands down the best fish we ate was at Pelican pier - grilled grouper that tastes like they just plucked it from the sea. It's near the holiday Inn so we might not have tried it without the strong recommendation from a fellow traveler. All around a lovely spot!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GWJOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I recently celebrated my birthday in Aruba. It was my 4th time on this beautiful island. My first time at Sunset Beach. I must say I was not disappointed. Eve and Monique went out of the way to make sure I was comfortable. My birthday morning imagine my surprise to a beautiful vase on the patio of cut flowers. Later on a box of chocolate. I really enjoyed my stay at Sunset the room was nice, clean and safe. A female traveling alone that's very important. I would like to say a special Thank you to Monique she made a good trip a better trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Destiny_0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmok Beach
4.7 mi away
Paradera Park
Paradera Park
#1 of 1 in Paradera
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 4,970 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 3,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
Boardwalk Hotel Aruba
#2 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#16 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and Casino
Hyatt Regency Aruba Resort and C...
#12 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aruba Sunset Beach Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aruba Sunset Beach Studios

Property: Aruba Sunset Beach Studios
Address: L.G. Smith Blvd. 486, Malmok Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Malmok Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Malmok Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aruba Sunset Beach Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Beach Studios in Aruba combines Caribbean beauty and tranquility with Dutch hospitality and cleanliness. 14 studio style units are set around a flowering tropical garden with swimming pool and jacuzzi, each with its own patio area. Just a few steps away from the Caribbean Sea with great snorkeling and breath taking sunsets everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Aruba Sunset Beach Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Studios Hotel Malmok Beach
Aruba Sunset Beach Studios Malmok Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing