We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!”
Review of Bananas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bananas Apartments
Westport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place ever!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just spend 2 perfect weeks at the Bananas Apartments and you could not find a better place to stay. We have spend the last 9 years at these apartments. The place is beautiful and the owners are the best people in the world. Close to the beach. Beautiful grounds. Beautiful pool and garden areas. Very clean and great cleaning service. We will be back again next year. Perfection!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KEN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My family and I loved our stay at Bananas Apartments - you felt like you lived on the island - it was awesome! We had 2 apartments - clean, functional - simply beautiful grounds and pool. Very family-like atmosphere. Super close to beaches. We plan to come back this year and wouldn't stay anywhere else!! LOVED IT!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I work 50 weeks in a year, 2 weeks i spent on Aruba and always at Bananas Apartments..
I think that says enough, how happy i am to be their !

Nice people, good cleaning service, walking distance from great place to swim in the sea

Room Tip: Spa = swimming pool :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were able to stay here over new years thanks to a last minute calculation. Ton and Angelique were extremely accommodating to us, I couldn't have asked for better hosts. They went above and beyond to help us have the best vacation possible.

The rooms were very clean, the kitchen was equipped and everything worked. Pool was clean and the temperature was perfect. Very quite, even though we were here during the busiest week of the year. AC worked amazingly, rooms get cold pretty fast.

Book a car (preferably a jeep) if you plan on staying here. It is quite north and far from the city which is prefect for those who are trying to get away from the touristy areas. It is only a few minutes of walking from some of the best snorkeling on the island.

Great price and a great place. Highly recommend it for those who want to get off the hotel strip who don't mind cooking there own meals.

Room Tip: Type B Room was good for 4 people. Two in the bed room and two in the living room on a pull out couc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here for 8 days with my girlfriend in April/May of 2012 and I have to say Peter and Tinica were spectacular hosts and their serene enclave is a welcome breather from the oft-overcrowded resort areas of Palm & Eagle Beach. They both were incredibly welcoming throughout our stay and did their very best to make their home feel like ours too.

The rooms at Bananas are actual mini-apartments and they come with much more space and a lighter price tag than the rather pedestrian hotel rooms that typify the larger resorts in Aruba. The property itself is beautiful as well and has two nice pools and an outside area with sun chairs for lounging. It is located a little past the resort area on you way towards the California Lighthouse.

That being said, renting a car to stay here is a must. You will find it very difficult (and pricey) to catch a taxi back into the resort areas or Oranjestad and are much better off having your own wheels. If you do have a car, the location of Bananas is still convenient via the main route to get back to Palm & Eagle Beach (about 10 and 15 mins respectively) and Oranjestad (20-25 mins). We made this trips to the beach, bars, shops, and restaurants on a daily basis, but always had a relaxing retreat waiting for us when we returned to Bananas. Not to mention, renting a car is one of the best ways to see the further flung regions of the island at your own convenience and leisure!

If you are looking for a trip to Aruba that affords you a peaceful retreat, while still allowing for proximity to the bustling resort area, Bananas is the place to be. If you are looking for nightlife and full-scale resort amenities immediately at your fingertips, Bananas is probably not the way to go. Overall, I would highly, highly recommend Bananas and I can only hope that I'll be back sometime soon. Thanks again Tinica and Peter for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemp674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Margarita
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We attend the Aruba Hi Winds windsurfing competition yearly.
This is our third consecutive year staying in one of the Bananas apartments and, as usual, its' great!!
For the value these apartments cannot be beat!!
-One bedroom with large bath, living and dining area with sofa bed-great pool and gardens just out the door-private outdoor covered terrace with dining table, ect.
-The well equipped kitchens have all you need to cook all of your meals (important with the costs of dining out on Aruba) units are kept spotless, towels changed daily-good, fast internet wifi, cable t.v.-all the amenities.
But the best thing about Bananas Apts. is the dutch owners, Ton and Agelik, they are really friendly and helpful hosts!
Why stay in one of the high rise mega hotels where you are just another occupant when you can have your own home away from home?
We will be back again next year!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank info_posadamargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lititz
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My hubby and I start our count down for our repeat visit with Ton and Angelic and Peter and Tinica from the moment the return plane lands!!!! We would not stay any-where BUT Bananas!!!! Over the years we visited other apts.as well as time-=shares and big resorts---but a thumbs up to Bananas!!! Nothing is too much to ask for with these wonderful people! If you don't feel like you are with family---well that is your problem---we needed a Dr.for a minor ear infection---and we recieved a house call--because of these warm and wonderful people!!!! The return visitors we met are also top-notch!!!! Is it Feb 2013 yet???We have our tickets and arrangements made!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenjudyLititz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malmok Beach
3.7 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#7 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
855 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aruba Beach Villas
Aruba Beach Villas
#1 of 1 in Malmok Beach
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aruba Sunset Beach Studios
Aruba Sunset Beach Studios
#1 of 6 in Malmok Beach
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Dolce Vita Apartments
La Dolce Vita Apartments
#3 of 6 in Malmok Beach
54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Aruba Marriott Resort & Stellari...
#9 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
5,818 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananas Apartments

Property: Bananas Apartments
Address: Malmokweg 19, Malmok Beach, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Malmok Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Malmok Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bananas is located in a friendly and quiet aria, with a pool surrounded by a tropical garden in the area of malmok beach, close to Boca Catalina and Arashi beach, perfect places to snorkel and relax on the beach..We hope to see you soon at BANANAS apartments, ARUBA (one happy island).Your host's ; Ton and Angelique, Peter and Tineke ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bananas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bananas Apartments Hotel Palm/Eagle Beach
Bananas Apartments Aruba/Malmok Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing