We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cant wait to return"”
Review of Wheelers Cottage

Wheelers Cottage
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wheelers Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Alderholt B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The best b&b ive ever stayed at, dont think you could beat it. When we arrived we were greeted with coffee and homemade scones and jam, what a welcome! Lovely room spotlessly clean, even provided with homemade ginger biscuits. In the morning we had the most fantastic breakfast with eggs fresh from the hens in the garden, along with smoothie fresh poppy seed bread and welsh cakes. Great location not far from Fordingbridge which has a variety of shops and a great pub with reasonably priced good food. Will definitely be returning to this great b&b and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lp71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 44 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Wheelers Cottage and wished we could have stayed for longer. Can completely understand how Roy and Sarah have won awards for their breakfasts - they can provide you with anything and everything. The room was immaculate, the bathroom spotless and the hospitality faultless. Located in a picture perfect village with a field of cows as neighbours, Wheelers Cottage provided us with a perfect base for a relaxing week in the New Forest. Thoroughly recommend Wheelers Cottage and hope to return again if we're in the area. One word of warning...be prepared to gain a few pounds whilst you're staying here - the breads, cakes and breakfasts are out of this world!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at this wonderful B&B. We first stayed at Wheeler's Cottage in June 2011, two months after Sarah and Roy had opened. We were so impressed that first visit, that as soon as I had the dates for a family wedding in this area, I knew exactly where we would stay. And we were not disappointed.
From the moment we arrived and were welcomed with a cream tea, the homemade biscuits which appeared in the room every day, breakfasts with homemade bread, conserves, cakes. And this morning rhubarb fool made with rhubarb fresh from the garden. This is truly an exceptional B&B, where everything is done to make your stay special.
As our wedding anniversary was the day after the wedding which we were attending, we decided to stay an extra night, and having told Sarah this on the phone, we were amazed and delighted to find that Sarah had made us an anniversary cake. What a lovely personal touch.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are comfortable, with good en-suites and lovely soft towels.
Being on the edge of Alderholt, the breakfast room has a lovely view overlooking a field with donkeys, but it is also very close to Fordingbridge where there are several places to eat. There is so much to see and do in the area, with the New Forest, the cathedral city of Salisbury, and the lovely beaches of Dorset to mention just a few.
Having family in the area means we have a good excuse to return again before too long.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

cant beat this place for a friendly welcome , fantastic home cooked food and cleanliness.
from the moment we arrived and were treated to a hot drink and fresh home made scones this B and B was up there with the best.
The breakfast with eggs laid by their own hens, home made olive bread and a wide and varied menu was the best I have eaten for a long long time.

I would recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at Wheelers Cottage for two nights whilst visiting relations in Fordingbridge. Our room was lovely with en-suite bathroom , tea and coffee tray and a very comfortable bed.The breakfast room was cozy, warm and nicely decorated. Sarah brought us tea and home-made cakes when we arrived and both she and Roy are just so friendly , relaxed and welcoming. The breakfasts are gorgous ! Full English or Pancakes freshly cooked, Tea/Coffee, Orange Juice, home-made bread and blackberry preserve, even Chocolate cakes one morning and Welsh Cakes the next. There were more healthy options to choose from but Sarah's cooking is too hard to resist. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Small but perfectly formed rooms with a decent sized bathroom all in top working order (NB very comfortable bed).

Best of all was the extraordinarily delicious breakfast and home cooking: Dorset apple cake on arrival; delicious drop scones for breakfast, smoothies, home made bread, a very fine full English and a lot of other choices including yogurt, granola and pancakes (vegetarians would not be short changed here - the veggie option sounded yummy too). You will need to do quite a lot of walking in the New Forrest to burn all this off.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delilah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely nights stay here with my husband whilst we attended a party. There are several rooms, ours had a double bed with a shower ensuite. The room was cosy but big enough to move around easily and was in keeping with the style of the cottage. Beautifully decorated and renovated for purpose. The owner was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious, particularly the freshly made olive bread and welsh cakes! Will definitely come back again. My only personal constructive criticism would be that a bedside lamp and a bin by the tea tray would be good - but that's only me being picky! Had a good time, many thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thejetsetters2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wheelers Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelers Cottage

Address: Wheelers Cottage Sandleheath Road, Alderholt SP6 3EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Alderholt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alderholt
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheelers Cottage is a fully refurbished cottage (4 star silver award Apr 2011) situated just outside the village of Alderholt. Perfect for exploring the New Forest and Dorset countryside. The cottage is also ideal for those wanting the big cities of Bournemouth, Salisbury and Southampton which are all close. Breakfast is the start of your day so why not enjoy our award winning menu all freshly prepared for you by the chef using produce from our garden including eggs from the girls, all other ingredients are sourced locally and are organic where possible. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing