We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of The Fat Gherkin

The Fat Gherkin
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Moira
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Co Down
Level Contributor
323 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Good food and good service. Usually just coffee and scone but had breakfast and was very good. Nice space.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NorthernerCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    34
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“average breakfast”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Had breakfast here after a lovely evening out in Moira. While the service and staff were great the food was just average considering the price. I have to stress that we did only eat from the breakfast menu.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deeevolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My Favourite little spot!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Fabulous to have such a great place on my doorstep. Great coffee in really lovely surroundings. Decor is simple, wodden floor and wooden tables with old style chairs. Menu is great and you can take home food if you're like me and too lazy to cook sometimes but can't be bothered eating out. Genuinely nice staff. I hired this venue out privately for my daughters Christening in April and everyone had a ball, definately recommend whether you want a coffee with friends or private venue for fab party!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Somecatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food but too noisey with children that were left to run about.”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The food was delicious but the coffee wasn't quite hot enough for our liking. I believe "ladies that lunch" eat here. The day we were here there were a table of young mothers who seemed more intent on chatting than looking after their children. It wasn't very relaxing!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Forfarcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My biggest problem when I visited the fat gherkin was making a choice - everything on the menu sounded good!
Great selection and any food I have had has been really tasty - although I have to say the coleslaw isn't to my taste!
Only problem is it is quite small, so you may not always get a table on arrival but if you don't mind waiting...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertandsimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Gherkin also viewed

 
Moira, County Down
Moira, County Down
 

Been to The Fat Gherkin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing