We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moira Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moira Guest House
Ranked #1 of 3 Moira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I waited too long to book a hotel in Belfast and the last minute availability was very pricey! This was a very nice surprise! I'd travelled through Moira before and it is a quaint village with a cute variety of shops, cafe's and restaurants. I'd never thought of staying there as opposed to Belfast. The guesthouse is very easy to spot on the only main road in Moira, it is a convenient location just off the main motorway.

The best parts: the room was huge, clean and modern looking without being overly modern. It was clean and comfy. The staff were wonderfully helpful and welcoming. It was fully booked that night however it was hard to too as it was very quiet. Wifi was readily available in our room as well as in a lounge at the front of the house.

Not expecting: The car park disaster. I like having a car park available, it makes life easier when traveling with a car! The description did state there was a free car park available, and there was. However I didn't count on it being a Georgian property with the typical Georgian 'coach house' bridged drive way. It was a stressful few minutes of trying to navigate the very narrow tunnel to get to a slight bend and through a slightly larger tunnel to the back parking area! The car fit, however it was VERY tight getting through mostly due to the awkward angle you're forced to use from pulling off the street. That said, the car park is very secure and locked at night...a bonus in any area! Later we left for a drive and opted not to park back there again instead of using one of the available public parking spots in front of the house.

Breakfast was great and the options were plentiful. The coffee was amazing and the breakfast room had nice modern touches including fresh flowers at each table. Another nice touch was a few sweets on our coffee/tea tray in our room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsmeJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
27
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

From the outset the welcome is courteous and attentive. Tim, who met me at the door, even brought up a menu for the pub (Pretty Mary's) across the road when I indicated that I might like to eat there.
I love these old Georgian town houses. The Moira Guesthouse is suitably modernised and much more pleasing to stay in than the plasterboard and plastic modern alternatives. No horrible stuffy double glazing or air conditioning.
'Guesthouse' is the correct description, not quite a hotel, nevertheless a step up from a B&B, with 10 rooms, it's own reception, dining room and guest lounge.
My en-suite room (no.5) was clean and comfortable. The dining room would benefit from a little 'freshen up', but the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieJMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

the girl on reception made exception to our request for early breakfast got up to make breakfast at 06.30 as we started at 07.00 breakfast was excellent location was top class just off the m1 I will stay there again hope with my wife on holiday

Room Tip: room 5 view of main road and big twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris3661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

A very nice place. Moira is interesting in itself, but it's also ideally placed for day trips to the surrounding areas. The Guest House is a nice "home base". It is unpretentious and comfortable, stylish, and obvious care has been taken to marry the old with the new.
Tim, the weekend manager, was helpful and friendly.
The breakfasts were delicious and the breakfast room airy and charming.
Our room (room 3) was nice enough. Smells a bit of grease from the chippy next door but not awfully so. The bed is comfortable, the bathroom modernized (though the tp roll will not stay on the holder FYI), and you can hear someone's rooster crow in the morning.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jlevack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here over the weekend and I am absolutely gobsmacked at how wonderful this place is!

Set in the beautiful idyllically quiet town of Moria, the guest house certainly fits in. I've stayed in a few hundred hotels through business, pleasure and otherwise and this has to be in my absolute top 3.

The staff were so helpful, they really couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were modern and contemporary set in a listed building. We stayed in a lovely room with 4 beds, it may have been a family room and it was so spacious. I got a sneaky look at another room where a guest had left a door open and even the double rooms are very large.

Its clear that the owners/ management have paid great attention to detail here and it is stunningly beautiful.

For me though, an overnight stay is really complete with breakfast, well the guest house certainly didn't disapoint and the bangers were absolutely cracking! Cooked breakfast, fruits, cerial, crossiants, 4 or 5 hot options, wow!

I most certainly will be staying here again and it was well worth the extremely reasonable money!

This little gem is a must book for business or pleasure and meets the needs of a varied travellor!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripreview84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just arrived back in Manchester after a weekend stay with my partner in Moira Guest House from the second we arrived late on Friday night we were greeted my Tim who was so helpful, friendly and polite but this was just the beginning of our stay here where the service was excellent the room we were given was outstanding so tastefully decorated in line with the age of the building. We were also able to use the free wifi throughout our stay which is I know you are charged for in other places. We opted both mornings for the cooked breakfast which was cooked to perfection (thanks Tim). So to sum up can't recommend Moira Guest House enough for excellent service in a friendly village setting

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmark16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

A beautifully restored Georgian house with superb bedrooms ideally set in the heart of Moira village...but what really sets this guesthouse apart are its fantastic staff...attentive, friendly and willing to go the extra mile for any of their guests...nothing is too much trouble, oh and not forgetting a fabulous breakfast served with a smile!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenBlair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moira
1.8 mi away
Newforge House
Newforge House
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.7 mi away
Down Royal House
Down Royal House
#2 of 2 in Lisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Lisburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Aldergrove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clenaghans
Clenaghans
#1 of 2 in Moira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lismaine Cottage
Lismaine Cottage
#1 of 1 in Magheralin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moira Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moira Guest House

Property: Moira Guest House
Address: 65 Main Street, Moira BT67 0LQ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Moira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moira Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully refurbished Georgian Property is in the heart of the historic village of Moira, Lisburn and is within walking distance of restaurants, boutique shops and award winning bars. 10 excellent En suite rooms with Powerful showers, Free Wi-Fi and a breakfast to remember..Moira Village is an excellent base to explore Northern Ireland and is just 15 minutes from Belfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Moira Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing