We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all good”
Review of Thistle Stop

Thistle Stop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“all good”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Nice location to stop off.
Friendly staff, obviously a good regular following too, judging by the crowd and the chat when we arrived.
Lovely selection of home baking, nice menu and good prices.
We'll be back :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigavonCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    40
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely refresh stop”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Beautifully located, the thistle stop cafe was a lovely break on our journey. Deliciously, simple meals were enjoyed while we took in the view of the surrounding hills. Patrick and Julie have lots of local knowledge and suggestions on the sights to visit during our trip!

Helpful?
1 Thank katiemac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We (my family & I ) ate in here in August 2013, the staff were friendly and the meals were fabulous, we especially enjoyed the scrumptious Lemon treacle tart, whenever we are in Scotland again we would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brockbank56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great people”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Called in here for a coffee, ended up ordering lunch.

Food was lovely, home made soup was divine! Really good prices, they do full meals for around £8 as well as a nice assortment of home made cakes.

Ordered Lemon Treacle tart to takeaway as I could not manage it after lunch, it was superb.

Relaxed atmosphere, great view. Owners were really nice to talk to, very friendly and welcoming.

Definitely be back next year when we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shifu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemarkie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A sugar hit much needed halfway up the Great Glen”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have passed this restaurant many times but stopped on my way down to work at Glenfinnan recently. The welcome was warm and the conversation enjoyable, just like the thick, unctuous lemon treacle tart I consumed! I popped back for more on the way back and cracked for apple pie this time and picked up some lovely home made cards, created by the proprietor.

I will be back, folks, thanks again for the welcome relief on a foul day for driving the Glen. I will look out for your new sign but hope you're still open next weekend as will be passing again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thistle Stop also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Spean Bridge, Lochaber
 
Invergarry, Scottish Highlands
Invergarry, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Thistle Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing