We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem on the road to Fort Augustus”
Review of Thistle Stop

Thistle Stop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little gem on the road to Fort Augustus”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were looking for a cup of tea and perhaps a scone on our way to Loch Ness. The Thistle Stop is a very appealing cafe/tea shop. Patrick and Julie are lovely and the shop looks light and fresh and clean. We particularly liked the thistle themed crockery. I had a choice of different types of tea and scones and was offered apricot jam when I chose an apricot and date scone. Patrick also suggested sunshine grey tea which was a lovely variation of earl grey. We went back another day for lunch and the quiche Lorraine made by Patrick was absolutely delicious. My husband had an excellent full Scottish breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    40
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
195 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“unexpected but appreciated!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wow, we were just in for a short stop after driving for some time and we stopped at Thistle stop. No expectations whatsoever......place was very busy, but we were attended to quickly, great smells out of the kitchen. We ordered four differnt dishes, all fresh and home prepared and we were absolutely stunned by the great quality! Very good tastes and friendly prices!
Staff was excellent.
Ideal (the best?) place for a stop in that beautiful area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food, Good location, GREAT people”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

In the middle of nowhere we came across this appealing stop. In need of coffee and food we stopped. Our hosts were tremendous. All food is homemade. The service was excellent. A small gift shop exists. We purchased three CD's (still playing them back here in Australia). Departed feeling totally refreshed and happy to have met such a beaut warm friendly couple.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Best Cafe between Fort William and Inverness”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was dark, dreary and raining and we had been half eaten by midges near our cottage we called Mordor and was out looking for inspiration when we fell upon The Thistle Stop.

It was like finding sanctuary our greeting was very welcoming despite the place being very busy.

We soon found out why it was busy we had Haggis, Potatoes and Neeps what a treat.

We have ended up going back almost everyday for our lunch and even did breakfast on the morning we left our cottage.

All the meals were excellent and we tried most. My wife is very particular regarding her meringue and has given Patrick 5 stars for his and that's a first !!!

Patrick and Julie are an excellent team if you drive past without stopping you will have made a big mistake.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good eats and plenty of parking space!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were going from Fort William to Inverness and were in need of some Tea when we spotted the Thistle Stop on the right side of the road. We first noticed how clean the entire place was and it had something very rare, parking, so we pulled in. There we met Patrick and Julie, two very nice people. We had Scones and Tea along with some good conversation. The restrooms were spotless as was the entire Restaurant. If you go by there be sure and pull in for Tea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thistle Stop also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 
Invermoriston, Loch Ness
 

Been to Thistle Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing