We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable wine-tasting and farm visit.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parva Farm Vineyard

Parva Farm Vineyard
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Tintern
Attraction details
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyable wine-tasting and farm visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

A sunny spring day, birds singing, lambs to watch and wines to taste. We walked over the hill to the vineyard from Tintern and then sat in the sun as we sampled their sparkling wine. We enjoyed a guided visit to see the lambs, too, and then went on to taste their wines in the shop. It was all very friendly and enjoyable, and the wines are light-bodied and delicious.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pererin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
197 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Interesting producer with a nice range of good wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We visited at harvest time, so couldn't do a tour, but were very happy to chat with the winemaker in the shop. They have a really good range of different grapes, and have made some very good choices of blending to produce some interesting wines. We tasted a small selection of them, and all our group ended up buying a few bottles, ranging from the Bacchus (delicious white) to the plum and berry liqueur, as well as some sparkling rose, which we thought was the best of their range. Glad to see local producers making an impact. Recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikePatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Nothing to Wine About Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Excellent Establishment, Nice Walk around the 5000 odd vines with over 15 different varieties of grape, some I even knew the name of. 1 of the owners Judith was very knowledgeable when it comes to wine and explained the wine making process to me. The shop is well stocked with plenty of wines to taste and also stocked some local produce including honey. Views from the top of the vineyard are impressive you could easily think you were in the south of France not South Wales.

Well worth stopping in if you are in the area


The most important question is:

What is the wine like?

I can happily say it is very good and you don't have to break the bank to purchase them

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A charming gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Saw the sign while driving down the beautiful Wye Valley from Tintern Abbey to our holiday cottage and decided on the spur of the moment to drop in. Parva Farm vineyard is run with such obvious enthusiasm that everything was a delight from the £1.50 admission fee for a self-guided tour, following home-made signs to the wine tasting session with the owner himself at the end. It all felt very personal and friendly and the (award-winning) wines were well worth the trip. The lovely scenery is free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent hidden idyl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

we took a group of guests from germany and we ourselves had not been before either . we were all pleasantly surprised.
excellent information and fantastic views and very good wine. thankyou geraldine and howard tobi and gigi steven and sabina

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mistygeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parva Farm Vineyard also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Parva Farm Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing