We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely top notch”

Royal George Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed some of the nicest food we have ever eaten here. Absolutely top quality food and a great selection. The service was really good too, very helpful and welcoming.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MCJSOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love the Royal George, seems posh but they don't mind feeding us scruffy walkers and our dogs. Always good , always friendly.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So myself and two friends decided to visit the Royal George Hotel with our lovely dogs yesterday 15th September. It was a beautiful sunny day and the pub and surroundings were absolutely gorgeous! We all felt very excited to be there and even thought we’d love to spend Christmas there - we were really happy with our choice to have our Sunday lunch.
The Sunday lunch arrived very promptly but that is where the positivity ended.
On the plate was one slither of carrot, one slither of broccoli, a teaspoon of purée butterscotch, 2 small halves of roast potato, 1 giant Yorkshire pudding admittedly and an acceptable portion of meat.
But never mind we thought there will be more vegetables turning up as what was served you could fit on a saucer!
To our utter amazement a tiny soufflé of cauliflower cheese turned up only, ok we thought there will b another 2 tiny soufflé of cauliflower cheese will b arriving for each of us.
No, no , no that was it!
This is where the real problems started, the waitresses were very polite to us but if not a tad inexperienced. They asked about more cauliflower cheese for us but was told a firm No by the chef!
The meal was not warm, we asked for horseradish and water none of which arrived.
We eventually asked to see the manager, after I ordered more cauliflower cheese and red cabbage as extra just to fill my plate , £3.50 each . All of which arrived well after my meal.
The restaurant manageress then arrives namely Harriet.
We explained to Harriet that it was unacceptable the portion size and we’ve had to order extra just to fill our plate .
Harriet then proceeded to tell us while putting two hands on the table ‘we have served 70 people today and you are the only 3 people to complain , your plate was full and u had a giant Yorkshire pudding !
The cauliflower cheese is a gift from the chef and u r the only 3 people to complain about the size. The cauliflower cheese has only recently been put on the menu.
No apology at all was given , nothing at all was offered as a way of appeasing us we were made to feel like naughty overweight school children. Harriet then proceeded to tell us she’s been in this business a long time-how that was relevant I don’t know.
I have never been treated so badly by a restaurant manager ever, surely a manager should do everything in her power to make sure the customer is happy and wants to return ! All we wanted was a decent portion of cauliflower cheese per person , but instead Harriet smiled and told me as she said the cheese is an ample size portion and was quite happy to let us leave extremely unhappy, not letting us recommend the pub to others and me to write my first ever trip advisor review! I suggest Harriet works on her customer service skills to ensure 73 customers are happy not 70 in future ! Absolutely disgusted by her attitude and won’t be returning . Thank you

Date of visit: September 2019
3  Thank Lynsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Lucky enough to be staying nearby in Brockweir when The Royal George had their first Annual Food and Beer Festival 25 Aug, in their lovely and spacious garden area (free car park). Great beer (local KIngstone brewery) or from their Wild Hare bar, or outdoor bars Pimms,Cocktails etc.), lovely festival food (pizzas, burgers and some great tacos), very hardworking and friendly staff, good bands, and nice friendly locals.
We really enjoyed the day.
We went back the next day for lunch, high standard pub food, staff again very good.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank evadycart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2019

the food is good, but is fairly standard pub fare. moreover, it feels like eating in a pub, with very little atmosphere. quite why an ill-dressed member of staff, with bizarre hair, kept going outside and leaving the door open, was beyond us. on being challenged, his offhand response suggested it was beyond him, too. he didn't desist, nor could his colleagues be prevailed on to stop him.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sjmgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal George Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Tintern, Monmouthshire
Tintern, Monmouthshire
 
Tintern, Monmouthshire
Berkeley, Cotswolds
 

Been to Royal George Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing