We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful rest and good coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
301 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A peaceful rest and good coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stopped off on Sunday morning on our way up to Monmouth through the Wye Valley. The Royal George is welcoming and ideally situated, opposite the Abbey Mill (shops and cafe and mill) and close to The Abbey. The coffee was well priced, hot and good.

Room Tip: Didn't stay, only passing through. The garden rooms looked nice and all of the public rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolPete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    116
    29
    11
    10
See reviews for
54
188
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Goodwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We had a family room for 1 night! The staff were really helpful and friendly! The food was excellent and the breakfast was really good, setting us up for what was to be a busy day! The room was clean and the bed was very soft but comfortable. The TV set was adequate, although small with the usual Freeview channels. We would recommend this hotel and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Mr John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Yes, it is a little bit 1970's in décor, but this is more than made up for by the excellent staff and food.
We stayed one night, and had a dinner for four in the restaurant, which was busy, but service fast and efficient, and the food very tasty.
Breakfast was excellent, unhurried and friendly. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was indeed a serendipitous find. An immediate warm welcome at check in. I had a comfortable, warm, spacious and well furnished room with a large very comfortable bed. The quiet surroundings guaranteed a good sleep. Breakfast is fantastic with excellent choice and so much of it! The dinner menus are extensive and will take some reading - time for a relaxed pre dinner drink or two before deciding. The food is excellent and beautifully presented. I worked my way through most of the menus during my long stay and can honestly say that I did not regret one choice. I never found room for deserts and I have a large appetite. The owners, James and Sammy, are most friendly and welcoming and anxious to ensure that your stay is comfortable and memorable. The staff are polite, attentive and second to none in my widely travelled experience. The Royal George is ideally located for walkers. The ruins of Tintern Abbey are a few minutes walk away. Go on, spoil yourselves; you won't regret it and I guarantee that you will want to return. I am definitely lined up for another visit. My only negative experience was seeing the hotel diminishing in my rear-view mirror as I slowly drove home after a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DavidCutbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egonwho, Owner at BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
If there was a secret website where we could give guests a rating for how much we enjoyed having them stay with us and for them motivating us all to keep up the enthusiasm that good people in hotels thrive on---You would score five circles with an extra reccommendation for making every member of staff who came in contact with you feel good about their day in hospitality.
You came to stay for one night on your way through and you returned the following day to stay for two weeks. Thank you for taking your time back home to post your delightful review so that other people might share your experience. We look forward to your next visit later in the year and we wish you well.

James McMorrough MHCIMA & Samantha Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Paid a little over £70 on booking.com B&B basis, the hotel room was fine and modern, the bathroom ok, but a bit tired. Some body lotion in addition to shampoo and shower soap wouldn't go amiss, likewise better soap would also be a nice touch. Good bed, and nicely set out room.

Food was pretty average, I had a rather watery steak for evening meal, with veg that was marginally overcooked, and my boiled eggs for breakfast weren't soft. My friend had a full Welsh breakfast and reported it to be excellent however.

Bar are was nice, especially with real log fire and comfy seats.

Location is superb for both Abbey and also Chepstow races.

Service was 10/10, really friendly.

Overall would rate 3.5/5

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The staff were very pleasant and friendly and the room we stayed in was newly refurbished to a high standard. Do not be put off by having to go into the garden for chalet type rooms as they are fab. We will return again and recommend this to anyone.

Pros: excellent room, staff and breakfast.
Very relaxing and full of character
Bed was huge

Cons: we got back at 10:45 and the bar and hotel part was closed which was a bit disappointing as we fancied a drink before bed.

Otherwise a great place to stay.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.8 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
0.5 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
7.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
10.1 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
Address: 466 On a, Tintern NP16 6SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chepstow
Chepstow Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel Tintern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing