We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - Great Vista - Great Service”
Review of Wye Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wye Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Tintern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

A wonderful family run hotel. Friendly staff, comfortable room, excellent food in the restaurant and good breakfast selection. The bar has a friendly atmosphere and the local beer is excellent.
The position allows easy access to the abbey and views of the river but above all the service and attentivness of the staff (owners) would not embarras a four star hotel.
Caters well for travelling groups and families and providing the weather is good, ideally situated for walking along the river. Will return when in the area!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinkerCaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 174 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I have just spent three days at this hotel and we cannot fault anything about the service, meals or accomodation. Sue and Barry could not do enough for us during our stay. They made us feel very welcome, gave advise on the area and places to visit. The food is excellent and plenty of it. We would certainly return to this hotel and this lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

After leaving Bangor after one of the snowiest March weekends for a while we were able to get out on a just reopened A5 at Llangollen and headed home through Border country.
We got here at 8.30 p.m. and found a lovely snug bar with a fire. Bliss. Super service with a free coffee refill for me (as the driver for the following stretch I needed a caffeine fix). Food was well presented and sizzingly hot. Sadly we didn't have time or room for pudding (the very reasonably priced main courses were generous portions) but it was a great place to stop

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SwordMaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We go every year at Cheltenham festival time as its a very quiet relaxing stay , but not too far from the hustle and bustle of cheltenham and the prices have not been hiked up , so very good value for money: The Food is excellent and the scenery is beautiful:

Sue and Barry are fantastic hosts and can't do enough for you in one of the most loveliest parts of the UK

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin59TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Wye Valley hotel is truly a lovely place to stay set in a beautiful location with warm, friendly and kind staff. Sue and Barry have made me feel welcome for many visits over the years and as a lone traveller the security and company in the hotel is first class.
The daily changing seasonal menu offers a fantastic variety of freshly prepared local produce and I can only assume 'Philip W' (below) went to another hotel or likes soggy veg. Which if he asked he could have had!!! Sue prides herself on her fine food and attention to detail, if you ask she will always provide.
The rooms are all spotless and clean the staff accommodating and friendly, with good advice on local attractions, walks and shopping. Having just spent my second Christmas at the Wye Valley I can recommend this hotel all year round for a great place to eat and stay.
Everyone must try this hotel at least once as it is a rare shining example of its kind and I'm so lucky to have found it. My two spoilt doggies love it too........

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We live locally and eat at the Wye Valley Hotel on a regular basis, the food is ALWAYS cooked fresh, and there is plenty of it, I'v yet to leave there hungry :) A lot of the meat is sourced locally and the veg is always cooked to perfection, unless your of OLD school and prefer your vegetables to come soft and mushy, and its the only place I know who serve PROPER hand cut chips !! not french fries !
Grace, one of the waitresses is always friendly and cheerful , and never fails to check that everything is right for you, nothing is too much trouble. My Mother and daughter are both coeliac and Sue has even cooked individual meals for them, or made accompaniment gluten free sauces at a moments notice. If you want better than the average pub food with a good choice of starters, mains and deserts ( with locally made ice creams) then I recommend you give the Wye Valley a try ! You won't regret it !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeWyevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We called in for an evening meal last week on the recommendation of the B & B owner to be offered some very poor food. It looked and tasted as though it had been reheated from earlier in the day. I had 2 slices of garlic bread which were very small and very hard. My wife had very dry chicken on a bed undercooked vegetables. Very disappointing really.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tintern hotels
0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
0 mi away
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wye Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wye Valley Hotel

Address: Tintern NP16 6SQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tintern
Price Range: $109 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wye Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Wye Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wye Valley Hotel Tintern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing