We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best eating place in the area !”
Review of Wye Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wye Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Tintern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wye valley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best eating place in the area !”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We live locally and eat at the Wye Valley Hotel on a regular basis, the food is ALWAYS cooked fresh, and there is plenty of it, I'v yet to leave there hungry :) A lot of the meat is sourced locally and the veg is always cooked to perfection, unless your of OLD school and prefer your vegetables to come soft and mushy, and its the only place I know who serve PROPER hand cut chips !! not french fries !
Grace, one of the waitresses is always friendly and cheerful , and never fails to check that everything is right for you, nothing is too much trouble. My Mother and daughter are both coeliac and Sue has even cooked individual meals for them, or made accompaniment gluten free sauces at a moments notice. If you want better than the average pub food with a good choice of starters, mains and deserts ( with locally made ice creams) then I recommend you give the Wye Valley a try ! You won't regret it !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeWyevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    52
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
99
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We called in for an evening meal last week on the recommendation of the B & B owner to be offered some very poor food. It looked and tasted as though it had been reheated from earlier in the day. I had 2 slices of garlic bread which were very small and very hard. My wife had very dry chicken on a bed undercooked vegetables. Very disappointing really.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Wye Valley Hotel truly is a home from home, nestled in the beautiful surroundings of the Wye Valley it is everything you would expect from a traditional country hotel. The rooms are all well proportioned and exceptionally clean, they all have en suite facilities and everything you need to make your stay perfect. The little touches like the home made biscuits which I have to say I have never tasted better finish off making the perfect experience. The Hotel owners Sue & Barry make you feel like part of an extended family, they are there on hand not only to make your stay perfect but to give information and tips on the best the Wye Valley has to offer. We have stayed at the Wye Valley both as a couple and with the Children to which they love it as much as us, there are plenty of activities close by and the walks are just amazing.

Now onto the food, WOW is the best way to describe it, everything is freshly prepared and cooked and there is always an extensive menu both in the bar and seperate restaurant. We have eaten at hotels across the world but I can honestly say the food at the Wye Valley is not only the best you will find it is truly value for money. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, singles, couples or families this is the place to stay if you are visiting the area.

The Wye Valley is full of history from the Abbey to the River Wye and how it has moulded the surroundings and life around it. Tintern itself has several interesting shops and the Mill Complex is always worth a visit. We travelled into Monmouth which is a lovely market town with a host of lovely shops, cafes and bistros etc, you will find shops and activities to suit all.

This Hotel should be number one on any ones list of places to stay, the atmosphere is everything you would expect and is situated perfectly to get the best out of any stay and being just 15 minutes from the M4 and M5 is easy to get to. Well done Sue & Barry in making the Wye Valley the most inviting Hotel full of charm and character, we love it!!!!

Rachel & Justin Oxfordshire

Room Tip: You wont be dissapointed with any of the rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a lovely place to stay! Unfortunately we chose quite possibly the wettest weekend since Noah and his Ark!!!! So the walking we had planned was not an option!
Thank you Barry and Sue for your hospitality we hope the flooding didn't get worse!!! We would totally recommend your hotel and hope to return!!
Clare and John

Room Tip: Ask for room 8.......obviously no swimming pool or fitness centre but there is no N/A option
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clareph57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed several locations in and around Chepstow and Tintern, along the Wye Valley. We have been pleased with all of them, in general. But, none were really calling us back. However, the Wye Valley Inn has changed that for us. The breakfast was excellent. The dinners were excellent as well. We ate there every night of our trip, except one. And, we were not disappointed that we did. The menu changes daily, although things appear over several days. We tried something different every day. The room was clean, and the bathroom was excellent. We will visit Barry and his family again. He was an excellent host (along with his wife whose name I have sadly forgotten).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for a week at the end of September. Hotel in excellent position for touring.
We had a really enjoyable holiday break. Hotel accommodation was very comfortable and food excellent. I have a gluten intolerance and owners of the hotel went to great lengths to make sure my choice of food was not limited. I had a full selection of Dinner choices in the evening and had gluten free cereal and bread with the usual breakfast options. Food cooked with lovely fresh produce. We also enjoyed our Real Ale in the evenings and also good company in the bar. Very Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Clears, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We didn't stay at the Wye Valley Hotel, but were recommended it as a place to eat. There was a good selection of dishes on the menu including at least three vegetarian options, and as we are both veggies gave us at least a few options to choose from (and none of them were vegetarian lasagne!). The portions were generous and all seemed like good home-cooked food. There was also a good range of deserts, including a very tasty pecan tart. The bar was well stocked with some local beers and ciders, and for a hotel the prices were very reasonable. Usually we stay clear of hotel bars and restaurants for eating and drinking, but this has made us think again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.0 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
0.0 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wye Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wye Valley Hotel

Property: Wye Valley Hotel
Address: Tintern NP16 6SQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wye Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wye Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wye Valley Hotel Tintern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing