We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in a lovely location”
Review of Wye Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wye Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Tintern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“lovely hotel in a lovely location”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Only stayed the one night as my wife and i were touring on our motorbike.the welcome we recieved was lovely from the landlady who was there to help us anytime.Barry the manager was a character who made me chuckle several times with his sense of humour and who also made our stay very enjoyable.The location of the hotel was great
set in the wye valley,a place me and my wife had never visited before but would return to at the drop of a hat.Plus to round of a lovely stay we also saw our very first sighting of a wild otter.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    53
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
100
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night during the week while we were walking in the area. The location is good and is about 10 minutes walk from the Abbey. It was quiet the night we were there with only a few people in the bar. We decided to eat in the restaurant and found ourselves dining alone. The food was excellent and good value. The room and en suite bathroom were clean but the furniture and fittings had a slightly tired look about them. Both my wife and myself commented to each other about the slightly odd stale cabbage smell in the bar area and corridors. Our room and I think most of the others overlook the main road which though not trunk road busy had enough traffic going past in the morning to be slightly irritating. On the plus side the bed was comfortable and we both slept well. The full cooked breakfast was excellent. In all I think the place represented reasonable value for money

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunworkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is a really lovely hotel with the addition of a traditional pub and a separate dining area which serves fantastic food. We were booked into the suite, which had one bedroom, bathroom and a living area which doubled up as an additional sleeping area. all of which were very nicely decorated. Owners Sue and Barry were really friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. We made some wonderful friends and will definately be returning again and again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elaine077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Used the Wye Valley Hotel as a base while running in a local Hill Race. Hotel was clean, room spacious and also very clean. Barry, Sue and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar area and the menu was varied and all the food we had was very tasty, well cooked and excellent value. The full cooked breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. otel is situated in a beautiful village and there are many lovely walks and sights very close by. Definitely will stay here again next year.

Room Tip: Eat in the bar with the locals, very nice atmosphe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night at the start of our 3 day walking in The Wye valley.
We had booked 3 double rooms, our room was large , end of the building with 5 windows, so lovely and light!
The bed was comfortable, with a good sized en suite bathroom.
We ate in the bar area of the pub, having an excellent meal, served by a lovely helpful and knowledgeable bar girl.
Breakfast was a good choice.
Barry and Sue (owners) were welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wantage
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Sue and Barry were the delightful couple who welcomed us 5 walkers into their hotel, unfazed by the filthy boots we left in their hall, and showed us to our excellent freshly refurbished rooms. We decided to eat in and all chose something different from the menu. Sue is the cook, and an excellent one at that, as we all chose something different from the menu and each dish was delicious, hot and plentiful. Breakfast in the morning was also just as good.

We all recommend this lovely hotel either to stay in or just to dine.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolebwantage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I have been staying here during business trips for a long time, the staff are always welcoming, helpful and cheerful. The food is great and the Chef will also cater for individual needs when possible. The rooms are clean and the bedding of a superior standard. I love staying here and keep coming back.All the best to Barry, Sue,Grace and Holly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figjam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.0 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.0 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
0.0 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wye Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wye Valley Hotel

Property: Wye Valley Hotel
Address: Tintern NP16 6SQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wye Valley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wye Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wye Valley Hotel Tintern, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing