We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wye Valley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$78
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DeanGate Motel(Lydney)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Hotel(Monmouth)
$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
103
61
11
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
61
11
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswye valleylovely hotelcomfortable roomfreshly baked biscuitslocal beercosy barhuge portionssteak piefamily run hotelthe pubrefreshing changesunday carveryseasonal menuplenty of storagegeneral decorprices are very reasonablehis wife
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 184 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I have been staying here during business trips for a long time, the staff are always welcoming, helpful and cheerful. The food is great and the Chef will also cater for individual needs when possible. The rooms are clean and the bedding of a superior standard. I love staying here and keep coming back.All the best to Barry, Sue,Grace and Holly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank figjam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We arrived at the hotel and were immediately impressed by the location and homely look of the building.
On checking in, the owners seemed to have a rather cold personality and did not seem interested in general chat.
The rooms were clean and tidy but in need of refurbishment as was the bathroom. Looking forward to a refreshing shower, it was very dissapointing to stand under what turned out to be a light trickle of water, however, it was warm.
The breakfast though was excellent, with fresh local produce used and plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We have just returned home from our sixth visit to the Wye Valley Hotel - and we are looking to return again later this year. We had a clean comfortable room, the food is first class and there is a well-stocked bar. Barry and Sue, together with their staff, are extremely obliging and welcoming and go out of their way to ensure the satisfaction of their guests. We highly recommend the Wye Valley Hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in a lovely area with plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ejr-staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We are regular visitors to the Wye Valley Hotel as we love it so much. We have even booked our wedding reception here when we marry in Tintern in July as Sue and Barry are so welcoming and accommodating and do a wonderful job, as do the rest of the staff. We would definitely recommend staying here as nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are always clean and comfortable and breakfast is fantastic! There is a wonderful selection of fruit, cereal, kippers and full English or all 3 if you wish! This is enough to keep you going till tea time where the wonderful selection of locally sourced
products are available for your evening meal which can be taken in the bar or restaurant. Tintern is a beautiful little village with lots of things to do and an easy base for exploring the Wye Valley and surrounding areas. I would thoroughly recommend exploring it from the Wye Valley Hotel as your base.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaandDaveEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Only wish we had stayed here we were on a weekend break looking to get away from the business syndrome. Found this hotel on our last night and wow what a treasure for anyone wanting somewhere to stay to soak up the sights in Tintern. Our hosts Sue and Barry provided us with a real taste of home cooking at its best together with being a font of knowledge about this atmospheric hotel and surrounding area. This place really has the "pull" lovely walks along the river Wye yet central to Tintern and the Abbey. Food very reasonably priced keep room for the local farm ice cream for dessert!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews