We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Tintern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Stayed for two nights 17-19 February. Excellent Guest House in a fabulous location made even better by the kind hospitality of the hosts Anika and Ian.

We stayed in a room overlooking the river Wye, what a cosy room, bed difficult to get out of in the morning because it was so comfortable with views excellent across the village and beyond.

Talking of the hosts, what an excellent breakfast they serve which sets you up for the day which surely must be taken because of the many walks in fabulous countryside. Anika and Ian will fill you in with these, you really do need longer than two days do them justice.

During the day if you are back in the village and fancy tea and scones or cake I must recommend the Antique Shop which also serves teas etc. very good with a wide choice of fresh scones and cake.

In an evening if you fancy the local pub for a meal you must go to the Rose and Crown which specialises in steaks and even for me they are usually rare, excuse then pun, they are brilliant. I would also recommend the Wye Valley Hotel, 5 mins from the Old Rectory, we had an excellent meal there.

It really is a charming village, we had snow whilst there which made the walks difficult but very picturess which must be the same in the summer or the autumn.

If you want the best of both, stay at the Old Rectory you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 388 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2010

We spent New Year's Eve at Tintern old rectory and it was a very friendly and lovely time ! We had the champagne at midnight with Ian and Anika which was very nice from them. We traveled with our 18 month daughter and it was also fine for her. Ian and Anika are charming people and the breakfast in the morning was very good !
There are a lot of nice walks to do around the BB and Ian and Anika know a lot about it (as well as nice pubs !!)
We therefore highly recommend this peaceful and friendly place !

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didounettev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights over New Year 2009/10. Anaka and Ian show charming genuine hospitality with good knowledge of local walks and pubs for meals. Beautiful old house, very warm whilst weather outside was freezing. Excellent breakfast catering for special diets. Lovely en-suite room with beautiful views over river. Fabulous wind down and a wonderful way to start the new year. We left feeling very relaxed and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

The Old Rectory is comfortable & welcoming, with lovely views over the river Wye. Anika & Ian are genuinely pleased to have guests & make every effort to make you feel 'at home' in the nicest sense. (we have stayed at some B&B's where it is obvious that ONLY your money is welcome) At the Old Rectory the breakfasts are delicious & served with ready humour. We love Ruby, Pookie & their pups too!. The Wye Valley is worth a visit at anytime of the year; & we hope to visit again & again.
Rosemarie & Frances.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubypookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Due to an error on our behalf we were not actually booked into the hotel but were able to be accommodated at extremely short notice and made to feel very welcome. Loverly room and setting. In the morning a very comprehensive selection of breakfasts were on offer and the full cooked breakfast was a true feast (loved all the locally produced fruit juices). Many thanks - wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starkers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Had a fantastic weekend Anika & Ian were great hosts gave us lots of hints on walks to do and recommended place to eat have to say this is one of the best places we have stayed in will deffo be back

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank excellent_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. The guesthouse is decorated beautiful, monks on the chimney, and lunches are certainly the best of Tintern. And what a love for the puppies !

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petersmet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.1 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
9.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.4 mi away
The Beaufort Coaching Inn & Brasserie
15.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintern Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintern Old Rectory B&B

Address: Main Road, Tintern NP16 6SG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range: $112 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, gracious 4 star Bed & Breakfast overlooking the River Wye, on the main road in Tintern Village. Exquisite river views, old-world charm, warm hospitality, lovely en-suite rooms, sitting room, wood fires, croquet & garden areas. Set in the Wye Valley ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’, nearby magical Tintern Abbey, enjoy beautiful, tranquil scenery, legendary walking trails.Delicious, locally sourced breakfasts a specialty, freshly made bread, organic eggs, milk & produce, great bacon, sausage, lovely kippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tintern Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintern Old Rectory B&B Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing