We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely accommodating and very friendly with warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Swineshead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely accommodating and very friendly with warm welcome”
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Due to an error on our behalf we were not actually booked into the hotel but were able to be accommodated at extremely short notice and made to feel very welcome. Loverly room and setting. In the morning a very comprehensive selection of breakfasts were on offer and the full cooked breakfast was a true feast (loved all the locally produced fruit juices). Many thanks - wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starkers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    94
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
62
231
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Had a fantastic weekend Anika & Ian were great hosts gave us lots of hints on walks to do and recommended place to eat have to say this is one of the best places we have stayed in will deffo be back

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank excellent_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lokeren
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We enjoyed our stay very much. The guesthouse is decorated beautiful, monks on the chimney, and lunches are certainly the best of Tintern. And what a love for the puppies !

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersmet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed at The Old Rectory for 3 nights and loved everything about the B&B and its hosts, Anika and Ian. The hosts were very warm and welcoming, and always eager to help in any way. They were extremely knowledgeable about the area and made wonderful recommendations for what to see and do. Our en-suite room was very comfortable and clean, beautifully decorated and with a stunning view. The gourmet breakfasts were fabulous.....freshly made using local, organic ingredients, huge and delicious; and were served in a beautiful dining room complete with gorgeous view and lovely relaxing music. In addition to being situated in a gloriously beautiful setting, The Old Rectory is very centrally located. It's within easy walking distance to the abbey, pubs, restaurants, and walking paths. Our stay at The Old Rectory was one of the very nicest we've had anywhere, and we can't wait to return. Thank you so very much for such a wonderful and memorable stay, Anika and Ian!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderBug75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We visited the old rectory in February 2009 on a weekend visit to Wales. We booked our accommodation over the internet, our choice largely influenced by the style of the place, and its' location. Ian and Anicka had only recently acquired the place, and were in the first steps of putting their mark upon it. Our accommodation was nevertheless very clean and comfortable, and the service we recieved from both of them was both very friendly and very warm. Breakfast was "spot on"!
There's lots to do and see around the area, and the Old Rectory at Tintern is a good base to do it from. You'll receive a warm welcome there, and by the way, it's a dog friendly place!
Thanks to Ian & Anicka for a very pleasant stay.

Bill & Margaret Woods

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We had a wonderful experience staying in Tintern, The Old Rectory ticked all our boxes. Anika and Ian made us feel most welcome and really looked after us during our stay(The breakfasts were particularly lovely!) The house itself is beautiful with lovely views of Tintern and the river. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a bright and airy en-suite bathroom. Thankyou for a great B&B experience!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scroggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We will thank you for the most wonderful stay in our holiday in England and Wales this summer.
We came from Denmark, and stayed at 10 different places in our 14 days holiday. The old Rectory was one of the best.
Wonderful hosts, nice place (we love old houses, we have an old house ourselves), lovely family-room, perfect meals (both morning and evening), beautiful dogs and so on…
It was so nice to stay, and being told about all the exiting places we should visit, while we were at your place. Ian knows a lot of stories about Tintern, and he is good telling them! 
Our teenage son enjoyed very much trying to learn Ian, how to speak Danish. You are both very open and familiar. We like that.
Congratulations with the puppies. They are very sweet 
We will highly recommend your place, and we wish you good luck with the further improvements. We look forward to come and visit you an other time.
Love from Denmark

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randlevgamleskole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.6 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.1 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
6.4 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
639 reviews
9.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
4.2 mi away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintern Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintern Old Rectory B&B

Property: Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Address: Main Road, Tintern NP16 6SG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, gracious 4 star Bed & Breakfast overlooking the River Wye, on the main road in Tintern Village. Exquisite river views, old-world charm, warm hospitality, lovely en-suite rooms, sitting room, wood fires, croquet & garden areas. Set in the Wye Valley ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’, nearby magical Tintern Abbey, enjoy beautiful, tranquil scenery, legendary walking trails.Delicious, locally sourced breakfasts a specialty, freshly made bread, organic eggs, milk & produce, great bacon, sausage, lovely kippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Tintern Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintern Old Rectory B&B Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing