We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at the Tintern Old Rectory B&B. Wonderful stay, comfortable room, lovely food. Evening meal on Saturday was lush, too much to eat. Breakfasts were enough to keep you going when walking in the hills and to Tintern Abby. A big thank you to Anika and Ian for making it a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark6309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 387 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great location, very welcoming (to people and dogs), wonderful food - what more could you ask?
Local pubs are also dog-friendly and if you order ahead, you can even eat well in the evening at The Old rectory.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Had a lovely evening here.. very pretty area.. a great place to stay. Very homely feel. Big choice of breakfast. Parking off road, opposite.
We walked along to Tintern Abbey and then to the following village along the river. The local pubs are very friendly and good atmosphere.
We will def stay here again when we are this way

Room Tip: Overlooking the river is very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ,,,,
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had a delightful couple of nights in this charming dog friendly B & B run by a very knowledgeable husband and wife team Anika and Ian. The accommodation and outstanding breakfast stood out during our short stay. Set overlooking the river Wye, Tintern Old Rectory surely stands proud amongst the beautiful backdrop of the Valley. Our dog has enjoyed his stay just as much as us with the most stunning walks around and all close by. Will definitely return and looking forward to it already.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Singe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Had a lovely stay here we stayed in the suite with our own private entrance perfect because we had our dog with defently recommend to others. Parking in operate to property but not a problem for us. Hostess was very helpful.

Room Tip: If your taking dog only suite is available for pets very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

My daughter, sister and I had the pleasure of spending just 1 night in this lovely b & b. We called from the road on the way through to fishguard to catch our ferry the next day and we were lucky enough that they could fit us in. Our room was perfect, very quaint, comfortable and spacious Tintern itself and the Wye Valley is stunning. Ian was managing on his own as his wife was away on a course and he did splendidly. Breakfast was amazing and to top it off he managed to provide for my daughter who is vegan with no fuss. I would highly recommend the Old Rectory and hope that if Im lucky enough to be in this part of the world again I would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sharron1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Yes this place is a charming house in a beautiful location with very hospitable hosts Anika and Ian, who are fun and very helpful and there is a really nice cosy sitting room for guests. What it really does well though is the obvious- a first rate bed and a first rate breakfast. I had a kipper both days - sometimes a risky choice as not infrequently microwaved or worst still kipper fillets - but this was the proper stuff, cooked to perfection, with a rather nice poached egg, homemade bread and preserves and a continuous coffee supply. The full Welsh also looked (and according to Mrs S was) excellent. Veg options available. Anika gave us a couple of dinner suggestions on the first night - the one we chose was excellent - and Tintern itself it a lovely place. We had an extremely comfortable weekend and would go back to The Old Rectory without reservation.

In passing, I noticed a small number of negative comments on Tripadvisor, mostly about the dogs, which I guess any reader will look at. I suppose this depends whether or not you like them - I do, and have 3 of them, and yes, it is indeed impossible to banish all evidence of them. However, I saw no significant signs of dog hairs and wasn't hit by any doggie smells and the dogs themselves were rather charming when they were allowed out. Perhaps if you prefer steam cleaned rooms with minimal evidence of human or canine habitation a modern purpose-built hotel would fit the bill better than a B&B. Personally I prefer the latter, and individual quirks both go with the territory and are part of the unspoken contract of invading someone else's home.

Thanks Anika and Ian for a lovely weekend and for your kind hospitality.

Stuart S

Room Tip: Really doesn't matter. Front room over river gave rather nice views of the river and buzzards ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal George Hotel
0.1 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
9.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 3 in Abergavenny
546 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
790 reviews
6.4 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintern Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintern Old Rectory B&B

Address: Main Road, Tintern NP16 6SG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range: $96 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, gracious 4 star Bed & Breakfast overlooking the River Wye, on the main road in Tintern Village. Exquisite river views, old-world charm, warm hospitality, lovely en-suite rooms, sitting room, wood fires, croquet & garden areas. Set in the Wye Valley ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’, nearby magical Tintern Abbey, enjoy beautiful, tranquil scenery, legendary walking trails.Delicious, locally sourced breakfasts a specialty, freshly made bread, organic eggs, milk & produce, great bacon, sausage, lovely kippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tintern Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintern Old Rectory B&B Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing