We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 for 2: 5 Star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“2 for 2: 5 Star!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is our second review of the Old Rectory (first visited in 2009) and our second stay was even better than our first one. When planning our UK trip, we decided that even with an early morning landing at Heathrow and a 120 mile drive to Tintern, the Wye Valley and Ian and Anika's B&B had to be our first destination. Their warm welcome and hospitality made it all worthwhile.

Ian and Anika are tremendous hosts...they are very eager to help with recommendations and ensuring that your stay there is very memorable. We had a comfortable ensuite room overlooking the valley and the breakfasts were indeed awesome! We truly can't wait to return there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderBug75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    92
    10
    7
    10
See reviews for
62
223
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Henfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Anika and Ian make you feel welcome as soon as you walk through the front door. We stayed in May this year and the view of The Wye Valley was magnificent from our bedroom and the breakfast room. Our family room was very spacious and comfortable with a kingsize bed and a double bed in an adjoining room. We would highly recommend The Old Rectory and there were definitely no doggy smells!. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, we even ate Kate Humble's eggs from her nearby farm. Thank you Anika and Ian.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferjuniper1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay! Anica and Ian are interesting people with whom we had several pleasant conversations. Anika was very hospitable and congenial. Our dinner consisted of Hake and beef both superbly prepared. Breakfast which was cold smoked fish was especially yummy. I recommend the Old Rectory highly.

John R.
Mendocino California

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnInMendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed in The Old Rectory in May this year and were made to feel most welcome by our wonderful hosts. The house is delightful. Our room beautifully decorated, bright and airy with views of the Wye river which curiously reverses direction with the tide. Breakfast was wholesome and generous. Incidentally, contrary to the comments of a previous reviewer, we did not encounter any smell of dog. I am not a dog lover and I am particularly sensitive to doggy smells. During our stay there was none. Would I recommend The Old Rectory ? - certainly I would. Will we stay there again?. If ever we are touring in that region we will make a point of organising our trip to include a stopover at The Old Rectory. Regards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denism123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We loved our stay at The Old Rectory. The hosts Ian and Anika went out of their way to make our stay pleasant; we requested halal food and they catered superbly for us.

The B&B is wonderfully decorated, very much in the spirit of the time it was originally built. We felt as if we were living in a house from the 19th century but with modern facilties!

This kind of experience only comes from people who really care for their guests much beyond their duty,
Thankyou Ian and Anika,

Mehvish & Jawad

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mehvish a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked this B&B because it had good feedback; accepted our two dogs and has a very good food pub a few doors down.
I can recommend Tintern Old Rectory on all counts in particular the local pub has very good food, lets our dogs sleep while we eat and has great beer! Kind Regards.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We decided to visit Tintern this week to go and see the Abbey. We booked via late rooms and read the last few reviews of this place on Trip Advisor. Because of this we were really looking forward to our stay. The hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. Unfortunately, this does not make up for the horrible smell of wet dog that was pervasive throughout the B&B, but particularly in the entrance hall, dining room and sitting room, which were very neat and tidy and old fashioned, but were unfortunately not clean at all. The main problem was that the owners 2 or possibly 3 little dogs have the run of the place and created a horrible persistent smell of dog throughout the property, and thus it was just not clean. Our rooms were superficially clean, but the smell of dogs was even in the bedrooms. Extremely off-putting (even though I like dogs!) We would certainly not recommend staying here unless you have dogs and really don't mind the very strong smell of dogs everywhere. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JennyBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anika-Ian, Owner at Tintern Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are surprised and somewhat taken aback about this review as the guests acted very happy, and said they were very much enjoying their stay. We care greatly about our guest's satisfaction, and if there is ever any problem, we always do our utmost to rectify it. In this case, had they indicated there was a problem, we would have been happy to give them a refund, and also do our best to find alternate accommodation for them if they preferred to stay elsewhere.
Certainly we don't feel there is any horrible pervasive wet dog odor throughout the B&B, but if they had found this offensive or unsuitable, we want to know, so we can help solve the problem.

Additionally, this was a couple with a young boy. Our dogs certainly do Not have free range of the house, and are never allowed in the guest areas unless guests request it. When this family arrived, I asked if the little boy liked dogs, and if he would like to see them. The mother enthusiastically said he loved dogs, so we brought one out for him to meet and play with. He was enjoying himself and the parents then left him to play with the dog (small white friendly) while they brought in their bags from their car. While we can only regret and wish we had the chance try to help amend problems with the experience of these guests, the statement that our dogs have the run of the house is simply incorrect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
0.3 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintern Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintern Old Rectory B&B

Property: Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Address: Main Road, Tintern NP16 6SG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, gracious 4 star Bed & Breakfast overlooking the River Wye, on the main road in Tintern Village. Exquisite river views, old-world charm, warm hospitality, lovely en-suite rooms, sitting room, wood fires, croquet & garden areas. Set in the Wye Valley ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’, nearby magical Tintern Abbey, enjoy beautiful, tranquil scenery, legendary walking trails.Delicious, locally sourced breakfasts a specialty, freshly made bread, organic eggs, milk & produce, great bacon, sausage, lovely kippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Tintern Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintern Old Rectory B&B Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing