We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing. Lovely hosts and a delicious breakfast does not make up for horribly pervasive wet dog smell.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Certificate of Excellence
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing. Lovely hosts and a delicious breakfast does not make up for horribly pervasive wet dog smell.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We decided to visit Tintern this week to go and see the Abbey. We booked via late rooms and read the last few reviews of this place on Trip Advisor. Because of this we were really looking forward to our stay. The hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was lovely. Unfortunately, this does not make up for the horrible smell of wet dog that was pervasive throughout the B&B, but particularly in the entrance hall, dining room and sitting room, which were very neat and tidy and old fashioned, but were unfortunately not clean at all. The main problem was that the owners 2 or possibly 3 little dogs have the run of the place and created a horrible persistent smell of dog throughout the property, and thus it was just not clean. Our rooms were superficially clean, but the smell of dogs was even in the bedrooms. Extremely off-putting (even though I like dogs!) We would certainly not recommend staying here unless you have dogs and really don't mind the very strong smell of dogs everywhere. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JennyBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anika-Ian, Owner at Tintern Old Rectory B&B, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are surprised and somewhat taken aback about this review as the guests acted very happy, and said they were very much enjoying their stay. We care greatly about our guest's satisfaction, and if there is ever any problem, we always do our utmost to rectify it. In this case, had they indicated there was a problem, we would have been happy to give them a refund, and also do our best to find alternate accommodation for them if they preferred to stay elsewhere.
Certainly we don't feel there is any horrible pervasive wet dog odor throughout the B&B, but if they had found this offensive or unsuitable, we want to know, so we can help solve the problem.

Additionally, this was a couple with a young boy. Our dogs certainly do Not have free range of the house, and are never allowed in the guest areas unless guests request it. When this family arrived, I asked if the little boy liked dogs, and if he would like to see them. The mother enthusiastically said he loved dogs, so we brought one out for him to meet and play with. He was enjoying himself and the parents then left him to play with the dog (small white friendly) while they brought in their bags from their car. While we can only regret and wish we had the chance try to help amend problems with the experience of these guests, the statement that our dogs have the run of the house is simply incorrect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    92
    10
    7
    10
See reviews for
62
223
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can't praise our hosts highly enough. They were so professional and helpful. The rooms are really fresh and pretty and the breakfast was delicious - such an array of homemade, local produce is rare.
We're really looking forward to going back again. Thank you Anika and Ian.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely - you can't lose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albano Laziale, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have walked more than 1,000 Km through Britain and I can affirm that the Old Rectory is one of the best B&B I have stayed at.
Beautiful house.
Delicious food, mainly local and organic.
Last but not least, extremely charming hosts.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SergioBaldelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our stay at Tintern Old Rectory B & B exceded our expectations in every respect. Friendly hospitality, super comfortable bed, yummy breakfast, all in an ideal location. Our hosts were particularly helpful in describing the best walks and recommending the best places to eat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a great view and, although also facing the road, are not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalkyw187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This beautiful and elegant B and B was just what we needed. It was friendly welcoming and the room they had organised for us for our anniversary was sooo lovely and felt like our own apartment. Both Ian and Anika were friendly and welcoming. The food!! OMG the food! was amazing, such a wonderful array of fresh organic products and such an exquisite choice of flavours.
I would not change a thing about this little gem, its quirky, clean comfy and have never had such a lovely stay in such a lovelty area.
Dont change a thing, its a precious gem in Tintern!!

Room Tip: Ask for the big king suite its fdantatstic and the same price as a normal one too.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Enjoyed a 2 night stay in April 2013. Accommodation was warm and comfortable, breakfast was excellent and Annika and Ian were friendly and very helpful. They provided many "personal touches" and excellent, accurate advice of where to walk and places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 872rt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our little two night getaway coincided with my husband's birthday and a special meal was prearranged by email through Anika. She was super efficient at responding and nothing was to much trouble for her. On arrival, as it was available, we were offered the choice of a larger room which we accepted. It was extremely clean, comfortable and cosy. Anika's attention to detail is second to none and she supplies everything in the room that one may possibly need.Meals were a real treat cooked to perfection by Ian. Our birthday dinner was served in the candlelit dining room infront of the roaring fire and was devine. Ian and Anika provide a wonderful personal service and are the most charming informative hosts without been intrusive. We loved this B/B and and it comes Highly Recommended.ps forgot to say that there is lots to see and do in this very beautiful area.

Room Tip: Room at the back has a king size bed, ensuite and its own private entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 702JaneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintern
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal George Hotel
0.3 mi away
Parva Farmhouse Riverside Guesthouse
5.5 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Glen-yr-Afon House Hotel
6.2 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
9.3 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintern Old Rectory B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintern Old Rectory B&B

Property: Tintern Old Rectory B&B
Address: Main Road, Tintern NP16 6SG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Tintern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tintern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, gracious 4 star Bed & Breakfast overlooking the River Wye, on the main road in Tintern Village. Exquisite river views, old-world charm, warm hospitality, lovely en-suite rooms, sitting room, wood fires, croquet & garden areas. Set in the Wye Valley ‘Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty’, nearby magical Tintern Abbey, enjoy beautiful, tranquil scenery, legendary walking trails.Delicious, locally sourced breakfasts a specialty, freshly made bread, organic eggs, milk & produce, great bacon, sausage, lovely kippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tintern Old Rectory B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintern Old Rectory B&B Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing