We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for business”
Review of Makaranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Makaranga
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kloof
Certificate of Excellence
zürich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not for business”
Reviewed February 8, 2010

There were no facilities for business travellers: swimming pool outside is some 40 sq m large of of an uncomfortable design. Taking into account that darkness falls here at 18.00, there is no chance to use it in the evening, for there are no lights. The fitness room is tiny with two machines only and against deposit, the spa is open only till 18.00 when you are just back from the office, close on sundays. The room service is only till 21.00. The garden is not for walking after 18.00 for its dark and lonely. Wi-fi connection is not properly working. Extremely tiny bath, I am a women of 170 cm and coud not get a room in it. The British type of washing bassin is out of date, not comfortable. The furniture and carpets are shabby and not tidy. TV has neither Asian nor European channels. Breakfast is poor, no South African specialities, standard tomato beans and mushrooms and starts later than at 06.30. The location has no conenction to the city so you are totaly abendoned and cut from the world.
By no means recommended for the business travelers, for the facilites are not in place. I would qualify this hote for 3+ not higher.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank business9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    53
    12
    11
    5
See reviews for
23
36
3
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Stayed here as part of the British & Irish Lions supporters tour. As we were in a group of 4 adults we had been allocated a 2 bedroom apartment rather than 2 suites as requested - unfortunately this was not suitable as the apartment had 1 shared bathroom between the 4 of us. Luckily some people had failed to check in so we were give a second room -but this was just good fortune as the hotel was fully booked. Given that we had not asked to share a room with our travelling companions we thought that this was rather cheeky on behalf of the hotel to try to save a room!
The second room we were allocated was very nice but the original apartment (which we were obliged to use anyway) was large but obviously an over-flow area as the cupboards were full of stored conference material and the room had a musty and dis-used smell - rectified by opening all the patio doors. This is more a conference centre than luxury hotel. All the rooms are in various blocks requiring you to walk between them to get to reception, restaurant etc. The formal restaurant is tiny and (at least while we stayed) had a very limited menu. There is a much larger breakfast room which is used for buffet dining associated with the conferences. This is how we were fed during our stay as we were a tour party of around 40 people. The setting is lovely & the rooms are large but this is not a luxury destination as it has neither the restaurant nor the service of a top class hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

Stood there for a week back in July 2008.
My room was a large suite with 2 balconies overlooking the tropical gardens.
Site is gorgeous and very relaxing; service is of very good quality.
Only problem is that the Internet connection was unavailable in rooms, annoying when travelling on business.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lebde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2008

My fiance and I attended a wedding at Makaranga so we only stayed one night, but wow, what an experience! The room was luxurious and huge. The bed was enormous... my fiance is 6'4" and it made him look small! The room was immaculately clean and the mini bar was well stocked (though not for long!).

The wedding was fantastic and all the guests had an amazing time. It is the perfect setting for a wedding, and the food and service was exceptional. The grounds are perfect for photos.

During the evening reception, my fiance popped back to the room only to find the bed had been turned down and little chocolates left on the pillows... a small gesture but a lovely touch.

The only downside - and I'm being really picky here - is that even though they say they accept American Express, they couldn't accept ours. They did struggle with some of the non-South African bank cards at check-out time, but this is just South Africa in general!

Would I recommend this hotel? DEFINITELY!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JellybeanUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Just simply breathtaking. This has to be one off the most gorgeous hotels in the world. From the carpark to the bedroom the sculpture and art work in tasteful and well thought out. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food stunning.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2EdinburghTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2006

This hotel is located in a truely breathtaking large botanic garden and is on the site of a former wealthy family's home who had a great interest in nature. I have never have seen such man made beauty, with the artifical lakes along with the Japanese gardens, making this a perfect location for a rest or a romantic getaway.It is about 30 minutes outside Durban and would strongly recommend it to escape this dangerous city for a piece of heaven. The rooms are spacious and have all the necessary creature comforts and the food cannot be faulted. I must commend the sitting room, with its great display of tastefully acquired pieces of art and lovely views of the property's gardens, includes a small library with interesting books and magazines. (The bar is next door). Unfortunately they do not take children as they are afraid that they might damage either the plants or the brillant sculptures. For a European, the prices they charge for what you get, are extremely cheap.

  • Liked — The stunning private gardens
  • Disliked — About 30-40 minutes outside Durban
  • Tips/Secrets — You are renting time in a great botanic garden with a hotel attached
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JFMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kloof
3.3 mi away
Splendid Inn Pinetown
Splendid Inn Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
12.3 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makaranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makaranga

Property: Makaranga
Address: P O Box 385, Kloof 3640, South Africa (Formerly African Pride)
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Makaranga 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makaranga is set in a tranquil 30 acre garden located in the subtropical village of Kloof within the Valley of a Thousand Hills, 25kilometres from Durban, KwaZulu Natal. Makaranga is a luxury accommodation and conference venue where guests can enjoy friendly service and superb cuisine. Day visitors are welcome to enjoy a walk in the garden followed by refreshments on the terrace. Our philosophy at Makaranga revolves around providing an opportunity for enjoyment as well as rejuvenation for all visitors. The lodge boasts an outstanding art collection and guests can wander numerous pathways through the garden to admire the Shona and Italian sculptures. Accommodation is en-suite, individually furnished and extremely spacious. Full facilities are available for those who are mobility impaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Makaranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makaranga Hotel Kloof
Protea Hotel Makaranga Garden
Makaranga Kloof, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing