We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant break”
Review of Makaranga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Makaranga
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kloof
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“A pleasant break”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our room for our two-night stay at Makaranga was lovely. The spacious bathroom had double basins and a large shower and bath with plenty of hot water. The room had a king size bed and loads and loads of storage space. There were reading chairs and desk chairs (two desks) and the veranda chairs were just as comfortable as the reading chairs. Being set in the large beautiful gardens, it was a very peaceful place and we both slept very well. There were plenty of plug points for all our tech. needs. The restaurant was very pretty with simple wood tables and wood panelling and glass doors onto a sunny deck with moveable shades. The food was very good, a nice range of choices to suit every palate. I'd recommend the "Mak Breakfast". If we'd only been visiting during the day, the sandwich rolls in the Deli looked awesome.

Room Tip: We had an Executive Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    53
    12
    11
    5
See reviews for
23
36
3
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I last stayed at Makaranga when it was still African Pride. After several visits, I stopped going due to poor service and indifference from staff. I decided to return on the weekend of 08 / 09 Feb since they've renovated and to hold our Executive meeting there.

What a bad taste! From the moment I walked in, I was met by an unprofessional security guard at reception who practically refused to show me to my room when the receptionist (Thando) asked him to escort me, stating that he "doesn't know where room 27 is; please ask someone else." I had requested one of the executive suites with a full lounge since I was expecting guests in my room, but instead I was booked into a standard suite with no lounge. They managed to relocate me to Suite 30 which is a self-contained apartment.

However, the apartment smelled like it hadn't been used for a while - there was a stack of furniture (conference tables) packed on the hallway right in front of my door. I complained and asked for the furniture to be removed since it was unsightly. After a few back and forth calls, the furniture was eventually removed the next morning when I promised to check-out. I would not expect that kind of tardiness even at a B&B, let alone a lodge of a standard of Makaranga.

The conference facility is beautiful and tranquil, with doors opening to lovely gardens. However, the service is appalling. There was no stationery in the conference rooms i.e. writing pads and pens, and the projector cable had to be changed three times because it wasn't working - causing much disruption to our meeting. The worst experience was at the dining area during dinner, where waitresses kept loudly shouting our guests' names (all the time incorrectly) when bringing food to the table - reminiscing of Spur. I have never before experienced such impersonal and loud service at a formal dining place and I was embarrassed to have my delegates names being butchered.

To my disappointment, when I gave feedback both to the front desk / housekeeping ladies on room conditions and to the restaurant waitresses, I was met with a sulking attitude - and not once did any of the staff (except Thando, to some extent) make us feel welcome. I literally felt unwelcome. Needless to say, I would never recommend Makaranga , or visit the place again. Really a pity since I truly believe it is a beautiful property with amazing gardens.

Archbishop Nzuza
Johannesburg

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archbishop7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We have been staying at this hotel for a number of years and have observed continually improving levels of service. Staff are more customer focused than ever but that said there is still some way to go. The service in the dining room is slow with the kitchen backing up with orders when the restaurant is full. The food is really good an style wine list is more than adequate.

It is a really great place to stay and if you are looking for a tranquil and relaxed venue for a few days which has easy access to Durban and the upper highway areas - this is it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LondonSunseeker22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was my 4th stay at Makaranga and I was there with other family members over christmas. This hotel continues to improve all the time and the facilities, space and customer service are all excellent. The room was really big with a huge bathroom with both shower and bath, and a lovely balcony to sit on and enjoy the views over the garden. There are also other spaces like the library bar to go and read a book and relax. The gardens are stunning and the customer service has improved significantly over the past couple of years. This is one of my favourite places to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Makaranga and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room and bathroom was really big and our view from the balcony was stunning.
Everybody raves about the gardens there but you have to go walk through it to actually believe just how stunning it is.
The food was great but if you are on a schedule it might be a problem.... restaurant service is slow and we waited 2 hours for our breakfast one morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irmaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Our experience at Makaranga was pleasant besides for 2 small issues:
- we were served blue, off smelling bacon 2 days in a row at breakfast. Now when you have small kids that is very upsetting because they would have eaten it without knowing, but luckily it stank so bad we noticed,
- secondly the beds are too old, soft and flat and need a refurb.

On a positive note, I have never seen such beautiful gardens.

Also if you appreciate art, they have some masterpieces on display.

It was also nice to find a guest house with inter-leading rooms.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Costa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at Makaranga lodge, and was quite impressed by the lush surroundings and beautiful garden upon arrival. Staff were friendly and helpful. Problems though:

1. Bathroom was old and dated
2. Mould from the steam all over the ceilings and was rather unsightly
3. Shower itself old and did not look rather clean
4. Room service menu in room, but we were told by the staff that they only served sandwiches, and meals on menu would only be available much later - why have a room service menu then?
5. Eventually placed an order from the available items, only to have the wrong item delivered.
6. Restaurant service poor, got there only to be left standing around while they figure out on getting us a clean table, although we made a reservation - seemed short staffed as well, as it seemed the manager ended up waiting on us

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kloof
3.3 mi away
Splendid Inn Pinetown
Splendid Inn Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
12.3 mi away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makaranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makaranga

Property: Makaranga
Address: P O Box 385, Kloof 3640, South Africa (Formerly African Pride)
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Makaranga 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makaranga is set in a tranquil 30 acre garden located in the subtropical village of Kloof within the Valley of a Thousand Hills, 25kilometres from Durban, KwaZulu Natal. Makaranga is a luxury accommodation and conference venue where guests can enjoy friendly service and superb cuisine. Day visitors are welcome to enjoy a walk in the garden followed by refreshments on the terrace. Our philosophy at Makaranga revolves around providing an opportunity for enjoyment as well as rejuvenation for all visitors. The lodge boasts an outstanding art collection and guests can wander numerous pathways through the garden to admire the Shona and Italian sculptures. Accommodation is en-suite, individually furnished and extremely spacious. Full facilities are available for those who are mobility impaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Makaranga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makaranga Hotel Kloof
Protea Hotel Makaranga Garden
Makaranga Kloof, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing