We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the service but good food”
Review of Makaranga

Makaranga
Ranked #8 of 19 Restaurants in Kloof
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pity about the service but good food”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Went for a weeknight dinner. The setting is wonderful as you look out over their wonderful gardens. Had pizzas which were fantastic. However the service was terrible. Took ages to get 3 cocktails and 2 beers at the bar. Beers were hardly cold even when we switched from draughts. You need cold beers in a Durban summer. Once we were seated we had to call the manager to get service. Who then seemed to have issues with taking a order. I don't know if she thinks its beneath her. We once again had to call for service to order our pizzas.

Makaranga would be one of my favorite places to enjoy a pizza and drink in Durban if they were able to improve the service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank za_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    60
    38
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hillcrest, South Africa
2 reviews
“Great seafood pizza”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A home away from home. Pizza and wine with a lovely view and a cool breeze.

Seafood pizza was great. Makaranga truly a hidden treasure.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liesel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting...pity about the service.”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A beautiful setting and good food was marred by extremely slow service when I had my birthday dinner at Makaranga. It looked like the kitchen was under-staffed and/or under-managed.(Kitchen open to dining area). A previous breakfast service was slightly better on another occasion but a mid-week lunch was also relatively slow. If service can be improved, (perhaps it has- I haven't been back since November 2013) it would be one of the best places to go in Kloof. Pizzas are great!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food if you don't mind the wait”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

we had breakfast daily here and also a few dinners. We thoroughly enjoyed the food although their kitchen is not very fast and we ended up waiting between an hour and 2 hours for breakfast in the mornings.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank irmaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas was epic”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

What a wonderful way to spend Christmas! I went for lunch at Makaranga and the food was awesome and delicious, the service was top notch and the decoration was perfect. There garden area also helps you feel relaxed. Like I said before, what a wonderful way to spend Christmas :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ydnam-ZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makaranga also viewed

Kloof, KwaZulu-Natal
Kloof, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Hillcrest, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Makaranga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing