We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ammazulu African Palace
Ranked #2 of 17 Kloof B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ternat, Belgium
1 review
“refreshing”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

wonderfull stay, good internet connection allowing efficient home office and nice nature in immediate neighbourhood. Very surprising and original decoration without any compromise on comfort.
Be prepared No restaurant, but home delivery possible from local restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alain3042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    17
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
59
2
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 1yr anniversary therefore, our accommodation was upgraded to a Presidential Suite without any extra cost. We were AMAZED at the suites, I wish I could live there forever. Thank you so much for your hospitality, we felt blessed and we hope to visit next year. Thank you DADDYSDEAL for the opportunity.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nombuso K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Ammazulu African Palace is far superior to any of the B & B's in the area. I wish I knew about it sooner. ...............................................................................................

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Huge rooms with huge bathrooms set atop a steep slope hidden deep in the jungle - this is the place to come for an unusual hotel experience where every comfort is provided but you are left in peace. Contrary to some reviews, our 5 night stay provided us with enormous breakfasts of fresh fruit, cereals, bakery selection as well as a full cooked breakfast cooked to order. You choose your breakfast time so if you are one of those who hate sitting at the same table as fellow guests, ask to have it in your room! You can ask for a selection of drinks to be placed in your own fridge and you have tea and coffee also in the room. There is no restaurant as such but there is a good selection of places nearby catering for every taste and wallet. You will need a car, but if you want to be in Durban, choose a hotel in Durban! Alta and her team make every effort to provide an excellent service - if your room is missing something, just ask rather than write a bad review afterwards. This is a boutique hotel, not a chain with corporate staff.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are huge so the Presidential and Executives are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annakatrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was an unforgettable holiday experience for us.Six couples (ie 12 of us ) responded to the Groupon special and booked a weekend there. We stayed there from 03 Jan2014 to 05 Jan 2014.We were totally captivated by the design and architecture of the buildings and the rooms.
The interior of the building represented a work of art, a masterpiece of sorts.We spent literally hours admiring the numerous columns, sculptures,and carvings everywhere.,The African theme was liberally represented almost everywhwere , Ornate and intricate woodcarvings were reflected in the solid wood furniture on the doors,walls, staircases etc.
The cherry on the top for us was the exceptionally huge and modern and tastefully decorated rooms and bathrooms.The rooms were really top-deck class and would put many popular hotels to shame.The service was really good,especially from the chef cum receptionist ,Alta.
This venue was not very well marketed previously and I am sure it will become very popular in the near future.I would definitely like to go back there as soon as I can.My group of 12 were really impressed by this venue and can recommend it without hesitation to tourists,and travellers alike.

Room Tip: The Penthouse suite, or the rooms facing the gorge are the ones to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kogan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

There truly are not words to describe this amazing hotel! If you are looking for the weird, the wonderful, the exotic and/or the esoteric...This is the place for you..... The art is awe inspiring, you could stay here for a month and still notice things that you hadn't seen before! The rooms are fabulous with every home comfort you could wish for...from the amenities in the bathrooms, the fluffy dressing gowns and slippers....to the amazing peace and tranquility! This is 5 Star luxury at its opulent best! We got upgraded to the Presidential suite...truly an experience to remember. If youre looking to treat that special someone...this is the hotel to do it!

Room Tip: The presidential suite is worth every cent spent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

unforgetable place. beauteful home for boutique hotels visitors.excellent rooms.close to good restaurants. every room with different character. it is a real museum of african culture.must be seen not only like place to spend a night but also like a tourist attraction.hope to be a least once again in this charming museum.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kloof
2.2 mi away
Makaranga
Makaranga
#1 of 2 in Kloof
123 reviews
3.4 mi away
Splendid Inn Pinetown
Splendid Inn Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
250 reviews
3.0 mi away
Infinity View Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Southey House
Southey House
#8 of 17 in Kloof
9 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lemon Tree B&B
Lemon Tree B&B
#7 of 17 in Kloof
19 reviews
6.3 mi away
Westville Bed & Breakfast
Westville Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Westville
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammazulu African Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammazulu African Palace

Property: Ammazulu African Palace
Address: 20 Windsor Road, Kloof 3610, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Kloof
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Kloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ammazulu African Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AMMAZULU PALACE IS A UNIQUE LUXURY LODGE just outside Durban on the edge of Kloof Gorge and Krantzkloof Nature Reserve. A truly spectacular five star venue for you to unwind and experience a special stay inside the elaborately crafted beaded and mosaic columns and decorated walkways, halls and bedrooms full of African craft. Truly a destination where you can also pamper yourself in our sauna or steam room or merely lounge on one of the many decks overlooking the beautiful natural surroundings with zebra grazing a few meters away and eagles soaring overhead in the reserve. It is also possible to take a leisurely nature walk along the top of the gorge or play golf at the nearby country club. All this and more a mere 20 minutes’ drive from Durban city center awaits you. Our chefs will welcome you to Ammazulu Palace Boutique Hotel: A visionary lodge celebrating the cultural heritage of KwaZulu Natal with culinary delights by them. The Palace reflecting on parts of KwaZulu Natal’s cultural history is the vision of two architects, Kevin MacGary and Peter Amm, who has used his entire collection of Zulu arts and crafts and incorporated into the building and architecture. Ammazulu Palace has 10 luxury suites and a large function hall to seat up to 60 persons with a private lounge and dining area overlooking the gorge for the guests to relax and enjoy themselves as well as even more private lounges in the suites. Wireless and internet facilities are also available in all our rooms and lounges with king size beds and DSTV. You are invited to come and experience the sensory delight of AMMAZULU AFRICAN PALACE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ammazulu African Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammazulu African Palace Kloof, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing