We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
51
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunan bay made us feel large bedroom second to none little gem jules hostess lounge scotland house accommodation hosting smokie comfort
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 57 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2014

During our two-weeks trip through Scotland, the Balnabrechan was our first B&B to stay at and during the complete trip it was not beaten by any other.
Jules made us feel like we actually were at home. The beautiful living room, which we could use, the garden, which was perfectly done and the really big guest room are just a few things to mention here.
The Balanabrechan is a perfect place to be and to start day-trips from. The breakfast has been fresh and the Abroath Smokie is a must!
If it wasn't that far from Germany, we would come back right away!

Room Tip: There's only one room available at this B&B, so be quick! ;-)
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Conrad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review.

Great news that you enjoyed your first trip to scotland , hope you get a chance to come back and discover more of scotland some day.

Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Once again, we had a lovely, comfortable stay with Jules, who made my husband and I, our daughter and little dog very welcome. The lodge is still as stunning and unique with the added bonus of the magnificent log burner on the chilly evenings. We had an excellent cooked breakfast and our Daughter loved the fresh fruit berries each morning, which do not taste the same at home! Lunan Bay is absolutely gorgeous, Jules is very good at directing you to all the lovely places including very nice restaurants and always makes sure we have a lovely time. I would recommend this to anyone. Thank you Jules once again and hope to see you soon...

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Caren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your kind comments it was lovely to see you all again hope you can mange to come up and visit us again next year too !

kr
Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We recently stayed two nights at this very welcoming B&B.

The inside of the building is quite remarkable - spacious, high ceilings, very well appointed, comfortable bed and an excellent breakfast. I enjoyed the Arbroath Smokies on both mornings and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the local fresh berries.

Jules was an excellent host and was very helpful in pointing us towards local restaurants and places of interest including directions and the loan of maps.

There is no en-suite in the room but there are private facilities next door and Jules told us that she does not let both rooms to unrelated guests, so if you are a couple it is in fact an adjacent en-suite and there are no privacy issues.

It was great to sit in the very large lounge of an evening and the atmosphere was very relaxing. Outside there was plenty going on with horses and two lovely donkeys, not forgetting Pru the dog.

Overall, a great stay and we would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LindsayDavid1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review.

Glad you had a good time and were able to discover new parts of the east coast.

Look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in this part of the country.

Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

It's very difficult to add any more to what other reviewers have said. Jules is very accommodating and welcoming. My husband, 2 little dogs and myself were made to feel very much at home. The house and grounds are beautiful and very comfortable and it is so peaceful there. The room and bathroom are both luxurious and spacious. We both really enjoyed our breakfasts as well. Lovely cooked breakfast made with care and served with home made jams and marmalades; Arbroath Smokies were also a great option available. The beach is beautiful and peaceful and there are lots of lovely villages to visit up and down the coast. We will definitely be back! Thanks Jules.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EmH640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review. Really happy that you made trip up and discovered what this beautiful part of Scotland has to offer.

Hope to see you and your doggies again.

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this beautiful lodge accomodation. Jules look after us marvellously. My wife and sister in law loved the fresh strawberries each morning whilst the cooked Scottish breakfast did me.
Lovely and quiet, and very close to Arbroath and the beautiful east coast of Scotland. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting this area.

Ian and Jeannie Alexander

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your your lovely review glad you had a lovely time.

Hope you can mange to come back and visit us again.

kind regards
Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews