We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, Superb Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balnabrechan Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Inverkeilor B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Balnabrechan for 2 nights at the beginning of September. The house is definitely different being a log cabin and is very homely. It has a lovely quiet countryside setting and is within easy walking distance of beautiful Lunan beach. We had a wing to ourselves with large bedroom and private bathroom and were able to use the comfortable lounge where there is a TV. Jules was very welcoming and provided us with wine and nibbles upon arrival. She also very kindly left out scones for us the following day when we came back to the house after sight seeing and enjoyed a relaxing afternoon sitting outside enjoying the sunshine and peace and quiet. Breakfast both days was very nice and I tried an Arbroath smokie which was delicious. We both really enjoyed our short stay at Balnabrechan, would stay there again and would definitely recommend to anyone. We ate at Hornblowers in Gourdon and the But n' Ben at Auchmithie and both were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.
Always happy to hear guests comments. Glad you managed to get some down time to enjoy the peace and quiet.
Look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to scotland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

The large wooden cabin is situated between Abroath and Montrose in the middle of an agricultural shaped landscape. The beautiful Lunar Beach is accessible by feet.
Our room (king-size large room) was indeed large and very comfortable. We also made good use of the many possibilities to sit outdoor (we most enjoyed the swing-seat with a nice view on the surrounding fields).
Our host Jules was welcoming, helpful and offered advise freely. Her dog Prudence watched over us calmly.
The breakfast was prepared with love and skill and we particularly appreciated the opportunity to test the local specialty, the 'Arbroath Smoky', a smoked haddock.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pamige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hello,

Glad you enjoyed your trip to Scotland.

Thank you for your review, hope you can come back again next year to enjoy Lunan Bay beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day stay at the excellent Balnabrechan Lodge.
The rooms were very comfortable and the locally sourced food on offer was
good and plentiful.
Jules made us very welcome and was always ready to help plan our days
out with her local knowledge of where best to eat and visit.
Fresh milk in the bedroom each day for our coffee was much appreciated, along
with the home made cookies.
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wombats13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Hello thank you for your kind review.

Always happy to hear guests comments. Glad you had a relaxing stay and time to see other parts of scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Liza and I have just finished a 700 miles bike ride from Cumbria to Skye via the east coast of Scotland. We stayed at many places on the trip (and have stayed at many others on earlier bike trips). However, we both agreed that Balnabrechan Lodge was the best, by some margin. The welcome, the easy atmosphere, the quality of the house, grounds, room, bed, bathroom, lounge and virtually everything else were outstanding. We were blessed with fine weather but nevertheless, could put our washing on after a long week's cycling and walk to Lunan Bay beach and then relax in Jules's wonderful lounge cum ship's engine room! Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for Jules, a great hostess. Good food for breakfast and finally, a characterfull dog, Prudence, to complete a most memorable stay. By the way, we reached the Isle of Skye on schedule!
Dogandliza

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annewigton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Hello thank you so much for your lovely review.

So glad the weather was kind to you for your cycling trip .
So far this summer weather has been excellent in this corner of
Scotland.
Hope you can plan us into your next cycling trip , you can race pru along the beach :-)
Kind regards
Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here whilst away on business and found the accommodation to be outstanding, joules was very helpfull with local eateries and places to visit. The entire lodge was immaculately presented and the room comfortable. Their is free wi-fi available, comfortable living area and if the weather prevails plenty of outside seething to enjoy the views. The choice of breakfast was also second to none, along with the usuall cereals, fresh fruit and traditional fry up, you can request a fresh Arbroath smokey!! Which I highly recommend. Had a great stay and will certainly book again on my next trip north.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abell678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hello,

Thank you taking the time to write your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
The beach has been fantastic these last few days.
Look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip north.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Truly a relaxing enviroment made all the better with Jules who made us feel (me the wife and dog) right at home. If your looking for somewhere to let your hair down away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life then this is the place to stay. 5 star recommendation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ki Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hello,

thank you for your lovely review, glad you all got the chance to relax and enjoy the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spur of the moment booking took us north to Arbroath and into what can only be described as a home from home. Our host Jules welcomed us on a beautiful sunny evening with a perfectly chilled glass of vino and a plethora of ideas of what to do next! Having spent Saturday listening to some amazing bands @ www.mofest.co.uk we were looking for a little tranquillity - we got it in abundance - just 10 minutes walk to Lunan Bay. So we can say nothing negative - if you are looking for a place perfect for couples or families within easy driving of many many atttractions head for Balnabrechan ....we will be back :) Colette and Brian

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coletteandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for you lovely review . We are always so, pleased to hear guests comments about the area and attractions. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverkeilor
0.0 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
0.0 mi away
Brucefield Boutique B & B
Brucefield Boutique B & B
#1 of 22 in Arbroath
461 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lunan Bay Stays
Lunan Bay Stays
#2 of 3 in Arbroath
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Willowbank House B&B
Willowbank House B&B
#5 of 22 in Arbroath
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Inverkeilor
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balnabrechan Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balnabrechan Lodge B&B

Address: Inverkeilor, Arbroath DD11 5SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath > Inverkeilor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkeilor
Price Range: $119 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balnabrechan Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Balnabrechan Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing