We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Very Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balnabrechan Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Inverkeilor B&B and Inns
wigton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“One of the Very Best”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Liza and I have just finished a 700 miles bike ride from Cumbria to Skye via the east coast of Scotland. We stayed at many places on the trip (and have stayed at many others on earlier bike trips). However, we both agreed that Balnabrechan Lodge was the best, by some margin. The welcome, the easy atmosphere, the quality of the house, grounds, room, bed, bathroom, lounge and virtually everything else were outstanding. We were blessed with fine weather but nevertheless, could put our washing on after a long week's cycling and walk to Lunan Bay beach and then relax in Jules's wonderful lounge cum ship's engine room! Nothing appeared to be too much trouble for Jules, a great hostess. Good food for breakfast and finally, a characterfull dog, Prudence, to complete a most memorable stay. By the way, we reached the Isle of Skye on schedule!
Dogandliza

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annewigton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello thank you so much for your lovely review.

So glad the weather was kind to you for your cycling trip .
So far this summer weather has been excellent in this corner of
Scotland.
Hope you can plan us into your next cycling trip , you can race pru along the beach :-)
Kind regards
Jules
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here whilst away on business and found the accommodation to be outstanding, joules was very helpfull with local eateries and places to visit. The entire lodge was immaculately presented and the room comfortable. Their is free wi-fi available, comfortable living area and if the weather prevails plenty of outside seething to enjoy the views. The choice of breakfast was also second to none, along with the usuall cereals, fresh fruit and traditional fry up, you can request a fresh Arbroath smokey!! Which I highly recommend. Had a great stay and will certainly book again on my next trip north.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abell678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello,

Thank you taking the time to write your lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
The beach has been fantastic these last few days.
Look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip north.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Truly a relaxing enviroment made all the better with Jules who made us feel (me the wife and dog) right at home. If your looking for somewhere to let your hair down away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life then this is the place to stay. 5 star recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ki Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello,

thank you for your lovely review, glad you all got the chance to relax and enjoy the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Spur of the moment booking took us north to Arbroath and into what can only be described as a home from home. Our host Jules welcomed us on a beautiful sunny evening with a perfectly chilled glass of vino and a plethora of ideas of what to do next! Having spent Saturday listening to some amazing bands @ www.mofest.co.uk we were looking for a little tranquillity - we got it in abundance - just 10 minutes walk to Lunan Bay. So we can say nothing negative - if you are looking for a place perfect for couples or families within easy driving of many many atttractions head for Balnabrechan ....we will be back :) Colette and Brian

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coletteandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for you lovely review . We are always so, pleased to hear guests comments about the area and attractions. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

It was only a quick stop-over but lovely, nonetheless! A fantastic lodge with everything you need and the breakfast was to die for. Superb cooking! Lunan Bay is a beautiful place and the beach is spotless. A recommended stay for anybody wanting rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJB6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello, thank you for your lovely review.
The secret to the breakfast is the eggs!!
Glad you enjoyed the peace and tranquility
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay,this is our second time staying at Balnabrechan it certainly will not be our last. As before our stay was very comfortable, Jules made us both feel extremely welcome.
On this visit we seen so much more than before visiting places such as, St Andrews, Montrose,
Forfar, Auchmithie, Steptoes Yard, House Of Dun, Scotlands Secret Bunker and so much more.
The Amazing Lunan Bay Beach, CAN HONESTLY SAY THIS IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BEACH I HAVE EVER SEEN, the fact that it is in SCOTLAND is such a bonus.
The fish & chips in the award winning Anstruther chippy are to die for, I can recommend the LEMON SOLE IN BATTER, so tasty and fresh.
This wonderful place is definitely worth a visit, my husband and I are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review so glad you enjoyed your stay, and you had time to sample some of the local attractions this time . Yes we are very fortunate to stay so close to one of Scotland's beautiful secret places "Lunan Bay Beach" Look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay, what a lovely place it is. I must say the pictures do not do it justice! The house is beautiful and Jules made us really welcome. The area is also lovely with a stunning beach, we can't believe we have never discovered this before!! Breakfast was also fantastic, Arbroath smokies must be tried!! Nothing too much trouble for Jules she is amazing and the icing on the cake was horseriding for our Daughter. We can't wait to return, hopefully in better weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello Caren,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you all had a lovely time. Please come back and see us again in the summer months, Lunan Bay will be even more amazing, we can easily get round the siblings sharing a room, (we can put a tent up in the garden ! )
you can leave tuluah with us anytime you like, in fact we might just kidnap her next time
kind regards
Jules
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverkeilor
0.0 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#14 of 22 in Arbroath
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Willowbank House B&B
Willowbank House B&B
#4 of 22 in Arbroath
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Inverkeilor
56 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Balnabrechan Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balnabrechan Lodge B&B

Property: Balnabrechan Lodge B&B
Address: Balnabrechan Lodge, Inverkeilor, Arbroath DD11 5SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath > Inverkeilor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Inverkeilor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing