We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
51
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslunan baymade us feellarge bedroomsecond to nonelittle gemjuleshostessloungescotlandhouseaccommodationhostingsmokiecomfort
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 57 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay,wish we had booked in for more.
It was fantastic,amazing,comfortable,cosy and unique.
The lodge is filled with a varied selection of items that fit very well in the beautiful space.
Hostess Jules is very welcoming and makes you feel very relaxed,Jules has a very warm personality.
Lodge was spotless and smelled delightful due the the unique log burning double sided fire.
Breakfast was fantastic,the first time I have tasted Arbroath smokies (amazing).
I am booking for 4 nights in Easter 2013,cant wait to return.
There is so much to see and do in the area,the beaches are outstanding.Its a true gem that I am glad I found in my country. This beats going abroad without a doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hello

thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed exploring the area.
Look forward to seeing you both again at Easter .

kindest regards

Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Only able to stay 1 night - loved it, A fantastic house, especially the lounge. Bed very comfortable. Pity we couldnt open patio doors from bedroom, too wet! Would have been lovely to sit outstide and enjoy the magnificent countryside. Made very welcome by Jules. Had a lovely walk on beach following breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gandtsicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Hello thank you for your review. Yep good old uk weather at it's best again. Glad the day was kind for your walk on the beach.. Looking forward to trying out your delicious ice cream's sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've visited Balnabrechan once before and on this occasion decided to stay for two nights. Nothing was too much for Jules to do - she was the perfect host. The lounge is enormous and the whole pace is very welcoming. Our bedroom was extremely comfortable, the bathroom very well equipped. The Lodge is in the middle of beautiful countryside - away from the hustle and bustle of the town but near enough to visit Arbroath, Auchmithie and just down the road from the magnificent Lunan Bay. Balnabrechan Lodge is just a wonderful surprise....

Room Tip: Any room would be good in this marvellous place.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluebird44954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balnabrechan, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your kind review.

It was lovely to welcome you back to the lodge again. I'm happy that we made your long trip worthwhile and that the weather was kind to you. Please come back and visit us next time your over the border.

Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband surprised me with a romantic weekend away for my birthday and he couldn't have chosen a better place. I was impressed by the surroundings and delighted with the lodge itself. We were welcomed by Jules who made us warm scones and tea on our arrival before giving us directions to the beautiful Lunan Bay. In the evening she lit the log burning stove and in the morning she made us a cooked breakfast which we ate on one of the patios. There was a huge selection to choose from and she was keen to get feedback on the food she had cooked - all of which was great!
Our room was spacious and homely as was the rest of our accommodation. Jules was extremely helpful when we needed directions or advice on places to eat.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 612Steve_G_12612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for your review, glad you had a lovely time. Look forward t welcoming you both back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at Balnabrechan Lodge two nights in June/12. This is a great house, Julies is a great Host made us feel very welcome. Left feeling like we had made a great friend. Would have been nice to have had more time to visit and see horses. Beach is very nice, Could have spent a day right there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balnabrechan, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Hello Thank you for your review, it was lovely to meet you both, I'm so happy that you managed to cover so much of Scotland in your trip. Come back again, and catch a ride on one of our clydesdales next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews