We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
51
6
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslunan baymade us feellarge bedroomsecond to nonelittle gemjuleshostessloungescotlandhouseaccommodationhostingsmokiecomfort
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 57 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've visited Balnabrechan once before and on this occasion decided to stay for two nights. Nothing was too much for Jules to do - she was the perfect host. The lounge is enormous and the whole pace is very welcoming. Our bedroom was extremely comfortable, the bathroom very well equipped. The Lodge is in the middle of beautiful countryside - away from the hustle and bustle of the town but near enough to visit Arbroath, Auchmithie and just down the road from the magnificent Lunan Bay. Balnabrechan Lodge is just a wonderful surprise....

Room Tip: Any room would be good in this marvellous place.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluebird44954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balnabrechan, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your kind review.

It was lovely to welcome you back to the lodge again. I'm happy that we made your long trip worthwhile and that the weather was kind to you. Please come back and visit us next time your over the border.

Jules

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband surprised me with a romantic weekend away for my birthday and he couldn't have chosen a better place. I was impressed by the surroundings and delighted with the lodge itself. We were welcomed by Jules who made us warm scones and tea on our arrival before giving us directions to the beautiful Lunan Bay. In the evening she lit the log burning stove and in the morning she made us a cooked breakfast which we ate on one of the patios. There was a huge selection to choose from and she was keen to get feedback on the food she had cooked - all of which was great!
Our room was spacious and homely as was the rest of our accommodation. Jules was extremely helpful when we needed directions or advice on places to eat.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 612Steve_G_12612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for your review, glad you had a lovely time. Look forward t welcoming you both back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed at Balnabrechan Lodge two nights in June/12. This is a great house, Julies is a great Host made us feel very welcome. Left feeling like we had made a great friend. Would have been nice to have had more time to visit and see horses. Beach is very nice, Could have spent a day right there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balnabrechan, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Hello Thank you for your review, it was lovely to meet you both, I'm so happy that you managed to cover so much of Scotland in your trip. Come back again, and catch a ride on one of our clydesdales next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

just got back after having 3 nights in this amazing log cabin house. Hostess jules is so welcoming and friendly, made us feel right at home. we stayed in a big double bedroom with all creature comforts such as electric blankets,.The bathroom is big and has a big victorian style cast iron bath in there with a lovely hot shower above.The bedroom and bathroom is located in a seperate wing to the house and you have your own double doors out to the garden where you can sit and watch amazing sunsets . The guest lounge is huge with a big log burner to warm the toes by ( even though its July, jules happily lit the fire for me as i really feel the cold.) the breakfast was great. Balnabrechan is set in acres of it's own grounds inbetween lunan bay and inverkeilor village and is an ideal touring base. can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balnabrechan, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hello Debbie,

thank you for your very helpful review. Glad you both had a great time look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Firstly, an apology that it has taken so long to post this review.We stayed with Jules in July 2011. We had never considered this part of Scotland but found ourselves here whilst our son was on a summer camp nearby. The log cabin house is unique and in a lovely position, close enough to walk to a beach and in a vale away from road or rail noise.

Jules was an ideal B&B host, providing excellent breakfast as well as tips on where to go and booking restaurants ahead of our arrival. We had the best tea/coffee tray I have ever seen, with a new bag of cafetiere coffee ready to brew and local biscuits. Sitting in the lounge in the evening, with a tray of drinks in the corner, it really felt like being part of the home, even if only for two nights.

We loved our short stay here, and seeing the lovely coastline and nearby towns of Arbroath and Montrose. If we are ever back this way again, we will certainly like to return to Balnabrachan Lodge

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingatestonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lodge911, Owner at Balnabrechan Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Hello, thank you for your lovely review. Sorry it's taken me so long to reply I have only just found out that we are on tripadvisor...eek! techno and me don't go very well. Hosting guests and making sure they have are lovely stay is. Maybe it's time I got a PA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews