We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Gordon's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arbroath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having recently moved closer to Inverkeillor myself and my partner decided it was time to go as have meant to for a while now. We went on a Sunday evening and found the restaurant still to be busy, staff were lovely and attentive without being over the top, the interior is beautiful and the food to die for, loved all the little extras from the chef, had the pink champagne which was also lovely, yes its pricey compared to a lot of closer paces but you so get your moneys worth. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HazelArbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    15
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Should have at least one Michelin star”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed and dined at this restaurant with rooms as part of a 'foodie' week in Scotland. The father and son team in the kitchen created an outstanding dining experience with the best of Scottish produce. Creative, beautifully presented food with sublime flavour. Worthy of a Michelin star and worthy competition for Gleneagles, the Peat Inn and The Kitchen.
Very comfortable accommodation and excellent breakfast. The grapefruit marmalade is fabulous!
Could not recommend more highly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 737Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“'Boutique restaurant with rooms'”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Only a 40 minute drive from Aberdeen is Scotland's multi award winning Restaurant with rooms. Gordon's had a recent refurbishment and believe me not a penny has been spared! We stayed in the luxurious Courtyard suite and dined in the stunning interior designed restaurant. The difference is Gordon's has the food, service and hospitality to match. It's as good if not better than Andrew Fairlie @ Gleneagles.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back...”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I visited Gordon's Restaurant for a special occasion. It's somewhere we have wanted to go for a long time and it was definitely worth the wait.

From the minute you walk in to the time you roll out of the door, stuffed full, the whole evening is fab.

It was £50 per person (excluding drinks) and worth every penny... from start to finish we had savoury biscuits, homemade bread & bread rolls, starter, veloute, main, pre-dessert, dessert, coffee and petite fours!! Every single bite was fantastic!

The service was friendly and we had a nice chat with the owner. If there was one thing I would say, would be that it could do with a tiny bit of background music as it was very quiet and I felt like I could hear everyone's conversations and vice-versa.

Would definitely return for another special occasion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lcs8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

At £50 a head, excluding drinks, this is not a cheap night out. However, it was my wife's birthday, so I ordered a £45 bottle of Chablis, too! The whole meal took three hours, but the nibbles and courses just kept coming. And the food was wonderful. Nothing was run-of-the-mill and the service was excellent. I suggest a walk on the stunning Lunan Beach beforehand, to work up an appetite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gordon's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing