We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Gulworthy
Post
Inbox
Search

“Officious & overbearing”

Horn of Plenty Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $91
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for over 50 years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This multi-award winning, independently owned Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury; most have balconies overlooking the valley.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked to have dinner at this hotel & were really looking forward to the evening.

We were greeted by a lady who took our jackets & then showed us into an adjoining dining room. She seemed to be in charge of the small reception desk as well as the dining room.

It's not an inspiring place to sit, quite bare, with around a dozen tables. It must be lovely in the daytime with the views over the gardens but not very inspiring at night. Ambience is rather cold & stark - certainly not for the romantic & definitely reminiscent of a hotel dining room in the 80s.

We chose the set menu, opting for scallops & the duo of pork. Amuse bouches were rushed to our table before the wine arrived.

There were 3 people serving, an older lady with grey hair who scuttled past to other tables as well as the head waitress & another, younger girl... they were all wearing rather dated, black & white uniforms (acorn antiques anyone?)

So far, so good. The food was beautifully presented & we enjoyed our courses. One of us opted for dessert, the other, the cheese plate.

The younger waitress was really delightful, taking time to explain the dishes & especially each of the cheeses. We thought her engagement with us was spot on.

Unfortunately, the head waitress seemed to take umbrage at this... she swept in while my husband was talking & cut him off mid sentence, ordering the young lady back to the kitchen. I felt embarrassed for her, we never saw her again. It was also disrespectful to us.

She then proceeded with great flourish to change all the tablecloths on adjacent tables, waving & smoothing with an exaggerated sense of purpose, presumably ready for the breakfast service. Never have we been made to feel so unwelcome.

We were the last remaining table, but it wasn't late at all. I was seething - obviously it was time to go. We asked the head waitress to kindly call a taxi, to which she replied that it was usually impossible to find taxis at that time of night. We gave her a business card of a local firm.

We were ushered into a sitting room with an unlit fireplace next to the hallway to wait, which was all of 5 minutes. I didn't want to sit down, I just wanted to get out of there.

The attitude here completely spoilt what was meant to be a special occasion - front of house is vitally important to the whole experience.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank capdellatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
host_10, Owner at Horn of Plenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear capdellatraveller

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to the Horn of Plenty.
The team here at our hotel have always been one of our greatest assets and normally receive fantastic feedback from our guests commending their warmth, friendliness and willingness to “go the extra mile”. We are extremely sorry that you were disappointed by your experience, and are struggling to explain the reasons.

Please could I ask that you kindly contact me on 01822 832 528 with the date of your visit, so that we can investigate further?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Candace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the time of year when Horn of Plenty offer their charity lunches which for years we have supported. Just returned having experienced menu B. Really good. In the past portions tended to be on the small side. Right for me but not really for a man,but this year just right size. We will all return for menu A and will say to one and all, do not miss out.Book now. Thank you to all front of house staff and of course those behind in the kitchen.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 898hazelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
host_10, Owner at Horn of Plenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 898hazelw

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our restaurant, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience.
We are very proud to have raised over £62,000 for Macmillan Cancer at Derriford Hospital through our charity lunches, and we very much hope to continue with this success in the future.
Thank you so much for your support and for your generous donation.
We look forward to your next visit!
Kind Regards
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

What a superb way to see in the new year. From the moment my husband and I arrived we were made to feel most welcome at this delightful country hotel.
The New Year’s Eve 7 course meal was delicious, especially the lobster raviolo, and the table service was spot-on. All in a relaxed yet entertaining environment to see in the New Year with a bang.
The room was just perfect, clean and spacious with the most magnificent view.
Breakfast consisted of locally sourced food with plenty of choice, again delicious.
To top it off, a falconry display before we left - how wonderful.
Thank you to Sara and her hard working team for starting our decade off in the best way ever.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank My_Profile_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkie045, Front Office Manager at Horn of Plenty Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear My_Profile_1966,

It was such a pleasure welcoming in the New Year with you both, we are so glad that you enjoyed the celebratory few days.
I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the rest of the team, Sara and the chefs will be especially happy to receive such lovely feedback as they do try their utmost to make such special occasions memorable!
Thank you again for your comments and for your generous recommendation.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Horn of Plenty again in 2020!

Best wishes

Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2019 via mobile

Location beautiful. Looking out onto the autumn clothes trees in the wooded valley.Staff were friendly but professional. Food excellent. And very good value.This was my birthday, and extra little touches, made it special.highly recommended

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Rowenna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2019

This is the second visit to the restaurant in three months and once again 3 stars. Whish to be honest is a little unfair because there is much to like: the situation is very pleasing, overlooking the Tamar deep below. The staff and service were top notch and the food represented excellent value for money. But still not convinced about the food, all of it is beautifully presented and you get canapes, amuse bouche etc to make the experience a cut above. But taste not always great- tuna that tasted mainly of sesame, beautifully tender pork cheeks that ate very well but didn't hint at pork and a creamy ravioli that hinted at cauliflower rather than tasted of it..and a beef main that though tender was again slightly off in terms of taste. Still I would go again and you cant say fairer than that.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horn of Plenty Restaurant also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Calstock, Cornwall
Chagford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Horn of Plenty Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing