We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveler rating
631
123
50
24
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
631
123
50
24
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tamar valley the main house tasting menu fine dining amuse bouche birthday celebration large balcony michelin star coach house country house special occasion lobster fabulous views garden room hotel restaurant petit fours superb food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 832 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2016

I rang Natasha at 8.30 am to see if four of us could have lunch on Sunday. She was very helpful and managed to find us a table. Four of us arrived half an hour early. We were made welcome & quickly served drinks outside.We had an excellent meal served by three friendly members of staff .Liam although very busy managed to fix one of our friends phone! She also asked him for more potatoes, again no problem.
When paying I asked if it was possible to show our friends the room we stayed in last year. Again this was quickly arranged. Well done everyone at the Horn of Plenty.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southwesttourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Dear Southwesttourers,
Thank you for sharing such a lovely review of your lunch with us.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal and that you found the staff to be very helpful with your enquiries. I will certainly share your compliments with the team!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distance future.
Kind regards,
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016

We celibrated our 30th wedding anniversary with a stay at this excellent hotel . The setting is beautiful with wonderful views . The staff were excellent and couldnt do enough for you .The food was very good and locally sourced. If I had any criticism at all its that there is no hairdryer in the bedroom and that the television was too high up and you couldnt see it when lying in bed . But I would certainly stay again .

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Dear elaine g,
Thank you for taking the time to review you recent celebratory experience at the Horn of Plenty. It is a pleasure to read your kind words regarding the quality of service received, we are delighted that you found our staff to be so accommodating.
I am so sorry that you were unable to find the hairdryer in your room, I have advised our housekeeping team to double check the whereabouts of these appliances as they can sometimes be returned to the wrong drawer/wardrobe.
Thank you for bringing the position of the television to my attention, we will be looking into remedying this as soon as possible.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon,
Best wishes
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

We were recommended this hotel as a special place to celebrate at. It was wonderful, they wrote out an individual menu stating it was our 30th Wedding Anniversary. The food and staff were excellent and we will be back!
The staff made it extra special by presenting us with a plate of petit fours with 'Happy Anniversary' written in chocolate.
Definitely worth a return visit!!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 844morganpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Dear 844morganpj,
Thank you for your glowing review of your recent meal at the Horn of Plenty. I am so happy to hear that you appreciated the attention to detail provided by the team to help make your 30th Wedding Anniversary so special and memorable. Thank you for choosing to celebrate it here with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2016

A last minute break with friends could not have been better . The hotel set in a great
spot ,with beautiful views and gardens . Our friends stayed in one of the new annex rooms which they found excellent , Our room was in the hotel was smaller but was fine . The food was really to a high standard ,and the staff most friendly and attentive . I'm sure we will visit again

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cm638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Dear cm638,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at the Horn of Plenty.
I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We strive to deliver perfection to each and every guest and it is a pleasure to hear that our efforts have not gone unnoticed.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel again very soon.
Kind regards,
Candace and the Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

We would love to give this hotel 5*, as it's in a beautiful situation, the staff friendly, helpful and welcoming, and our room in the annex spacious with a comfortable bed, well lit bathroom with lots of space for toiletries, and a small private balcony overlooking the garden, perfect for a glass of wine before supper. However, although the menu looked fantastic, we found the food slightly pretentious and bland. We didn't need, or ask for, the three or four 'between course' canapés, of which only the sea food bisque tasted of anything identifiable. It's a pity they don't concentrate on presenting three superb courses perfectly cooked, because this really is a lovely place. If you want a daily paper, and are staying more than one night, ensure some one has written it down. We went to collect our Times on our second morning, to be met with a 'oh we didn't realise you wanted it every day, you are the third person who's asked today'!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank janiedevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
host_10, Front Office Manager at The Horn Of Plenty, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Dear janiedevon
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations following your recent stay at the Horn of Plenty, we greatly value and appreciate your feedback.
We are delighted to read that you found the staff to be helpful and welcoming and that you enjoyed your beautiful room. We were disappointed to read however that we failed to meet your expectations regarding your evening meal. The ‘between courses’ are designed to enhance your fine dining experience so I’m sorry you did not enjoy them.
We apologise for the confusion with your morning paper, this issue has been raised and rectified with the reception team.
We hope to welcome you back to the Horn of Plenty in the future.
Kind Regards
Candace and The Horn of Plenty Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews