We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Horn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horn of Plenty
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Heavenly Horn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had lunch at The Horn with a friend today. We had booked a table inside but as the weather was perfect decided to eat outside under the shaded pergola with stunning views across the Cornish countryside. I have eaten here several times over the years, I even celebrated my 25th wedding anniversary here, but today the experience was truly magical. The setting and tranquility of the place is what makes it so very special, perfect if you fancy a romantic meal for two, celebrating your 80th birthday (as was the lady at the table next to us), or just meeting up with a friend.

Service was excellent, swift, professional but not bothersome - I hate being plagued with constant "is everything alright madam?' Food, as always beautifully presented and tasty although my pork belly lacked a crisp top and the meat was a bit on the dry side (hence the loss of a rating 'blob'), shame. Doesn't put me off from returning though. I have to add, if you haven't visited before, The Horn serves 'pretty' food, not the wholesome and abundant kind - this isn't the place for you if that's what you're after.

Three courses with non alcoholic drinks, tea/coffee and petit fours came to £61, pretty good I think.
Definitely one of the best restaurants in the Tavistock area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    94
    34
    18
    2
See reviews for
86
405
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Horn of Plenty
The hotel was good. Sad about the poor dinner. After this first experience from then on, we ate in Tavistock for half the price.
The staff were helpful and the hotel was comfortable and clean.
A true Country Hotel in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GLENN T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I have just returned to this delightful hotel for one night to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary. The room was very well appointed with the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in. The food was Michelin standard and it deserves more than the two rosettes that have been awarded. Our stay was much too short but we will be returning to this peaceful tranquil haven as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are elegant and two have a large balcony with amazing country and garden vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maudefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Absolutely loved this place. We stayed for a 3 night midweek break and thoroughly enjoyed it.The location is beautiful with stunning views over the Tamar Valley. We chose a garden view room (no 9) which was very comfortable & clean. We particularly liked the balcony, with breathtaking views and great for watching the sunset. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the whole place has a laid back,friendly feeling without losing a high standard of service. We will be definitely be keeping this as a favourite and recommending to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixsy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Coming to the Horn Of Plenty, is such a treat. We go out to different places as a treat for our slimmers world group. We visited the Horn on a miserable day, but to be welcome at the door by friendly staff and a cosy fire was just fantastic. We were taken into the drawing room for a seat, whilst my party all arrived when we were all here, we were asked what teas we wanted. Whilst we waited for these to come we had the whole drawing room to ourselfs... as there was 10 of us. We then got taken through to the restaurant and had the center table. Even on this miserable day it looked fab. The view was slightly tainted by the mist but never the less, we could imagine what its like on a sunny day. So we ordered a mixture of luxury cream teas and Devon cream teas, it was just perfect. Even our friend with a gluten intolerant was catered for in every way. Thank you to all, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Room 2 in the main house this time - very nice indeed (a few photos attached) and a very good sleep had by both.

All staff superlative and consumate professionals. Good luck also to Jack (1st day !) - you have some great help alongside you. Our evening meal, after the canapes taken in the lounge, was sublime. Breakfast next morning is the true mark of a quality stay - not a baked bean in sight ! Fresh juice, choice of cereals, toast & quoissants, then a cooked affair.......... didn't eat again until 7pm !

Our only niggle was finding no milk to accompany the tea, coffee, chocolate and kettle. Normally it would be in the fridge alongside but clearly forgotten this time. It didn't bother us as we were on alcohol all eve and up and went down to breakfast early.

Will we be going again ? You bet, but only when the low season prices kick back in.

Room Tip: Well, room 2 is a shorter walk to the dining room than the garden rooms are !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornishJanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adderbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Coming off the dreary rain-sodden moor to this haven of tranquility and style was a great tonic!
And when the weather cleared for breakfast next morning we were amazed at the setting overlooking miles of beautiful countryside
Our room was stunningly good, with every luxury you would expect of this place, all in the best possible taste
Our hosts Julie and Damian (she the ultimate professional, he the dry, quirky one - we loved him too) suggested we go for the tasting menu. Seven courses of culinary delight and interest later, we were extremely impressed, if a little full!
Our visit was rounded off with a perfect breakfast overlooking Cornwall - highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WICKETKEEPER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
17.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
19.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Property: Horn of Plenty
Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Gulworthy, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing