We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horn of Plenty "Gourmet Weekend"”
Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horn of Plenty
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Horn of Plenty "Gourmet Weekend"”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We visited for a "gourmet weekend". The ambience, service and welcome were all second to none. A beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting.
Breakfasts were excellent.
The two dinners we thought rather overcontrived and not entirely successful : too much like a "sample" or "taster" menu each time and on neither evening did we find anything exciting or memorable. For us, the food highlights were a demitasse of lobster bisque and a blackcurrant sorbet.
The wines accompanying the meals were carefully chosen and complemented the food well, though by the time we arrived at the cheese course a hefty red was more than I could manage - though my husband enjoyed it, preferring it to the first beaujolais of the meal.
The wine tasting and the sugarcraft classes were interesting and informative.
The staff were unfailingly helpful and very pleasant.
An enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    95
    35
    18
    2
See reviews for
86
411
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Returned after 18 months standards still high new chef brilliant ,staff most helpful
Good value especially when chef provided a special for us Tournedous Rossini instead of fish which I do not enjoy
We will return

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A very friendly welcome. We stayed for five days. The staff were without exception excellent. We booked our room from the impressive website and found ourselves with a superb room (Tamar) with a spectacular view over the Tamar Valley from the balcony and an absolutely huge bathroom. The room was immaculate on our return each evening. The enormous bed was extremely comfortable and the decor very pleasant. We have stayed in five star hotels all over the world but cannot travel at present. The Horn of Plenty made an excellent substitute and it would be very difficult to better it. Thoroughly recommended.

B. J. Freeman BA., FRSA.
A. M. Freeman DMS
Northampton

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 are the best rooms in the hotel. Room 3 has the best view of the Tamar Valley from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Friendly welcome, lovely room with very well-equipped shower room with White Company products. Food to die for - very well planned menu and beautifully presented. Fantastic breakfast as well. Staff were without exception pleasant, cheerful and helpful. Underfloor heating surprised us in a building of this age, and was controllable only by turning on the air conditioning! However this did maintain a comfortable temperature but must have been expensive for the hotel. We will certainly return when finances permit!

Room Tip: Ask for a 'room with a view' - although the room without a view was very comfortable and spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We took advantage of the Sunday offer, dinner, bed and breakfast for £150. We live only 10 minutes away so we were able to spend maximum time at the Horn of Plenty. We have eaten many times there but never stayed - it was well worth it. We love the little touches like following a knock on our bedroom door soon after arrival two delicious, little cupcakes were offered. We had been upgraded into a beautiful room with huge en-suite and equally huge balcony looking out onto a perfect view. There was not one thing I would change about the whole experience. The food is wonderful, the staff are informal, professional and friendly and the venue suits us down to the ground. We like small, well run country houses. Well done and thank you to all who work there.

Room Tip: We had room no 4. I think it must be the best in the house! Our daughter and husband stayed in one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding at the Horn of Plenty on the 2nd Sept 2012 and could not have asked for a better venue, surroundings and food.  We chose this as our venue because of the beautiful setting and it's wonderful food. We were equally impressed with the quality of service shown to us and our guests by Julie and her team over the whole weekend. Planning a wedding can be stressful, but thankfully Julie and her team releived a lot of the stress by answering all our questions and providing us with a wealth of information and guidance on planning our wedding. Our family and guests who stayed at the Horn of Plenty all commented on how good their rooms were and all enjoyed their breakfasts. An example of how good the service was on the day, was when the evening food was brought out (mini Cornish pasties & Fish and chips cones). We had forgotten to mention to Julie that one of our guests was gluten intolerant, when our guest was offered a fish and chips cone he mentioned he couldn't because of this reason. The Staff and kitchen took it upon themselves to present our guest with a perfectly cooked white fish on a potato salad, just so he was not left out. This is just one example of how The Horn of Plenty and it's team went out of their way to make us, our family and guests feel welcome and have a wonderful weekend. 

If you are looking for a wedding venue or just looking to have a decent meal with beautiful views over the Tamar Valley, then check out the Horn of Plenty Country House Hotel you won't regret it. 

Michael & Julie Vine 

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MV_83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We really loved this hotel. All the staff are friendly, courteous and efficient. We were in a room at the side so we had no view from there; also the room got very warm but there was an air con unit there which quickly brought the temperature down. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept really well - one slight niggle might be that the duvet was a tad warmer than required in view of the warmth of the room itself, but this was a minor issue.

In the room we were provided with bottled water, tea, coffee & hot chocolate making facilities and a mini-bar. One good thing is that you're given a jug of milk which is kept in the mini-bar fridge - none of your UHT here! You do need a car as it is in the middle of the countryside. However, we drove to Gullislake just a couple of miles away on one of your days away, and got the train from there to Plymouth.

The food at this hotel is superb - as others have mentioned the portions at dinner are not huge, but this is fine dining, so it's what one expects. However, there is plenty of food at breakfast - they even give you 2 eggs as standard if you choose to have a cooked meal! The views from the dining room and gardens are wonderful. It must be nice to be able to sit out on the terrace on warm, summer evenings.

It isn't cheap to stay/eat here but for a special treat and special occasion it was a lovely place to go. All in all, I can thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
295 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
17.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,237 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
194 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Property: Horn of Plenty
Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Gulworthy, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing